We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical place in Masai Mara”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilima Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilima Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical place in Masai Mara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

This place is really magical! the view, the tent and huuudge bed. Staff so friendly. These little touches you do not expect. The most incredible thing is SPA. When you get there ask them to show it. You will not understand what you miss if you don't see it yourself. Just as I saw it only last day. I will definately will come back to this camp next year for all these things and I will use SPA treatments just to enjoy every moment of it.

I do not understand these people who wrote bad reviews. People it is Safari camp! How can you expect good roads or no bugs?! Wake up, it is nature!

I there would be 10 stars - I would give it all to Kilima Camp.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet_Terese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    38
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
79
133
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

arrived here after a disappointing stay at Flamingo Beach Hotel with African Safari Club to be greeted with a location to die for, combined with the highest standards of service and accommodation. The food was amazing, the staff took so much trouble to make sure we had everything we could need or want. they were especially great with our 7 yr old son (only child in camp that week) and provided special early dinners after long safari drives. James the Maitre D - was so kind and helpful it made the stay a joy. Justice our Safari guide was equally wonderful - taking time and effort to make sure we all had the best experience - our 'party' included an older (well into their 80's) couple, young couple with limited english, and us including 7 yr old - and we ALL had a fantastic time. Can't recommend this camp highly enough - opening the tent to the wonderful panorama beneath us was the icing on the cake.....GO!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzaBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Great camp on an escarpment above the mara. Tents are lovely and the food is fantastic. The game drive guides were equally good, knowledgeable and patient. David the camp manager was great. Bear in mind this is a tented camp and not a "resort" so if you want a power shower and bath look elsewhere. We felt the tents added to the safari with beautiful views, comfortable bed and a hot water bottle put in for you every night!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

From the moment we stepped off the light aircraft, we were met by Justice (who was also collecting David, camp manager) and felt totally at ease and made very welcome. On entering the camp it was just "out of this world" I had always wanted a tented safari and having been to Kenya a few times this was just a dream come true.
The accommodation was magical, with many nice touches, hot water bottle and other accessories. The food and wine were truly amazing and nothing was too much trouble for anyone, so eager to please.
We were also fortunate to meet Axel and Veronique, partners of Kilima who were extremely
attentive and interesting to socialise with - a true pleasure to have spent time with them.

Everyone was so happy, willing and informative, game drives with Justice were first class and he was so willing to please everyone.

A truly memorable 3 days and saving hard to return for a longer stay.

Lis & John Northampton

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at Kilima Camp for 3 nights and it wa a truely amazing experience.
The staff could not be more friendly, the food quality is fantastic and Justice the game driver was outstanding in terms of his knowledge and making sure you enjoyed all your game drives come rain or shine.
We arrived on Honeymoon and the drive back to the camp from the airstrip is about 30 minutes, however we saw so many animals just on this ride. The tents are done so well, the beds are huge and so comfy, at night we got hot water bottles (quite cold at night and in the morning so wrap up if going same time of year).You have running water and toilet facilites and ordering your hot water for a shower adds to the experience!
At breakfast they will cook what ever you fancy plus there is a cold selection, lunch is buffet style and a three course meal every night (fillet of beef, lamb chops and chicken breast on our 3 nights).
The game drives - we did one full day which you must do and then three 1/2 day drives. We saw the migration of wildebeast, lions, buffalo,giraffe,crocs, hippo,a black rhino, cheetah with 3 young at a kill and the list goes on and on. Justice is the driver to have- he was brilliant.
The walk down to the local masai camp is also worth a visit, wonderful friendly people who take you into thier homes and share a bit of their culture.
At night in the camp you have to blow a whistle if you need to go anywhere as you are in open land - the Masai that guard you at night are lovely people and again will do anything to help. At night we had zebra eatting grass by our tent and people said they could hear lots of animals but we slept so well we missed all that. The lights in the tent are powered by solar and the generator in the main tent where you eat and drink is on twice a day to power up batteries etc.
Thank you to all the staff this was a magical few days xx

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanleyclarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We went on honeymoon a few weeks ago with Kilima Camp being our first point of call. Having been to the Masai Mara before, I was worried the camp wouldnt stack up but had no reason to be concerned. The view from the camp is stunning and whilst the tents are basic, they are stylish, clean and have absolutely everything you need. More than anything, what made our stay so special was the people. From David the manager, to Munge and James the day to day staff, to Birika and Robert, our Masai guides to Justice, our very knowldgeable guide - all made us feel so welcome and part of the family. An honourable mention should also go to the catering team, the food was faultless, very varied and plentiful.

Oh, and the sundowner drinks, savanna picnic and spa overlooking the african plains were sublime.

Cannot reccomend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bp1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Having grown up in South Africa, I have experienced many safaris but I can say without any doubt this was the best safari I have ever experienced. The stay at Kilima camp was a truly 'Out of Africa' experience. The accomodation was comfortable and clean with en-suite facilities. The dining was delicious and well presented, the bar area friendly and much needed after a long game drive in a jeep all day! We raided the 'Wine Cellar' each evening. The staff were friendly and attentive made you feel secure 'in the bush' when you needed to return to or from your tent after dark.
The game drives were fantastic, we were fortunate to experience the wildebesst migration which was a spectacular and traumatic experience in equal measures! Our guide Justice was able to answer every question we threw at him and could not have been more enthusiastic about ensuring our game drive satisfaction.
In short I have nothing but praise for the stay we had at Kilima Camp and thouroughly recommend it and I for one will be returning as soon as I am able!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
25.4 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#10 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
28.7 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#35 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
17.0 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#17 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Camp

Property: Kilima Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilima Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Camp is a small and intimate eco-friendly tented camp with a stunning view over the Mara rive and the Masai Mara Reserve.Like all our standard tents, our two new Deluxe tents benefit from fantastic and unspoiled views!We offer excellent game viewing in the Mara Triangle with our 4x4 vehicle and our qualified and experienced guides. Being this close to nature , with panoramic views of the Masai Mara, we guarantee you that you will see amazing wildlife ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilima Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kilima Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing