We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best lodge in Mara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilima Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilima Camp
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best lodge in Mara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It was the second time for me in Kilima. Actually even this time (low season) the hospitality was great and the service wonderful. One day we just were the four of us but the service was still great. All the people at Kilima doing their best to give the best service and always with a smill on their face. A pity, the spa was not open but I can understand this in low season, actually we didnt really missed it. :-)
Then we had several game drives with Martin. I did several parks in kenya with different guides but Martin is the best, no one can spot the animals better then him.

So if you looking for a very good place to stay in Mara with an incredible service: only one place = Kilima.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    35
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
114
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I recently stayed at Kilima with my 2 year old, husband and my parents visiting from the US. The lodge and tents have great views and are very nicely appointed (we stayed in the deluxe tents). The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful with my very active 2 year old. As it was the low season we had three course plated meals prepared for us and the staff entertained my son while we ate which was amazing. The food was excellent. Our safari driver was super knowledgable and absolutely determined to find us the best of the best animals. He clearly knew the park like the back of his hand. The reservations staff based in Nairobi and abroad worked with me throughout the process from our changing reservation dates to almost missing our flight and calling the airline to hold the flight for us due to some of the worst traffic I have experienced in Nairobi. Overall if you want a personalized Mara experience that is "rustic" but still incredibly comfortable stay at Kilima. Also if you have kids but don't want to stay in a place that feels like a cheesy disneyland stay here! Thanks Kilima!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Kilima is a gorgeous camp with cozy and beautiful tents. Each tent has its own deck with a stunning view to the Mara, perfect for sundowners! Don’t stay in huge hotels, behind concrete walls were you can experience a camping trip in the middle of the Mara with all the comfort Kilima offers. It has great food, relaxing spa, and great guides (Martin specially). The entire staff is friendly, helpful and will make sure your stay is lovely! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My friend and i recently stayed at kilima and it was fantastic. Our guide (Martin) was definitely one of the highlights. His eye for spotting animas was incredible. We saw packs of lions being chased by buffalo, a leopard in a tree, the rare black rhinos, a cheetah and much more. He was great fun to spend time with and his passion for the area and the wildlife was contagious. The staff back at the lodge were really hospitable, the chef was great and very accommodating and the tents were great (flushing toilet, hot shower etc). Monica and Axel (one of the owners and his partner) were there during our stay and came out on one of the drives with us which was great because they are passionate about photography and wildlife and helped my friend experiment with different lenses. All in all a completely unforgettable experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We started off our honeymoon at Kilima Camp in September 2013. Everything was perfect! Our room/tent was very big, with a flushing toilet and hot shower. We woke up the first morning to be told that we had a leopard outside our room and the next day there were Zebras outside our tent, cant get much better. Our guide, Martin, was so knowledgable and he always seemed to know where the animals were hiding and made sure we saw the big 5 before we left. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Although it was chilly at night, the communal area where we ate and had drinks always felt very cosy. View was amazing! Can't wait to save up to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBlack88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at KIlima Safari Camp in Amboseli because we wanted a Camp with a good view of Kilimanjaro. We had stayed at its sister camp Fig Tree Camp in 2009.
Our Tent was in a good spot so once the clouds had cleared the view was amazing. We stayed here before flying on to Royal Mara.

Our Tent was large and very clean. I loved the walk in Shower it was so big. The Tent had a Double Bed and a Single Bed in it both of which had Mosquito Nets around them.

There was a desent sized swimming pool but sadly it had alot of twigs and leaves in it so we decided not to get in it, but i must add they were cleaning it.

The food was good, always something to eat, and always hot. The waiter service was good, plates cleared away and always a friendly smile.

Our Safaris were excellent but sadly we didnt see the big 5 here.

Theres a Watch Tower in the Camp and well worth getting to the top for the views.

Wifi wasnt very good, but i was told the router was being used in the conference room. When the router came back i think it was a case of it was ok when it was switched on.

We did experience a problem here which i wont go into but Peter the manager was excellent and looked after us very well indeed. So once again Peter Mugi thank you for getting to the bottom of the problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good views of Kilimanjaro
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelQueen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at Kilima in mid December and experienced some rather wild windy, rainy weather so not quite what we expected! However, the team went out of their way to make our stay very special and Martin, our safari guide was so talented at getting us to the best viewing spots ahead of the crowds (but maintaining respect for the animals at the same time). The Masai team were great for a chat about their differing approach to life and a lesson in natural remedies.

The tents are comfortable, have a luxurious look and superb views. You might even get a hot water bottle if there is a chill when you visit - not very many places you get that! Paul was the perfect host: friendly, attentive and efficient. The food was tasty even if there was far too much of it to choose from.

Great value and service. Thanks Kilima, we will be back.

Room Tip: The new classic rooms have hot water and are perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
9.1 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#11 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
14.2 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#6 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#45 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#19 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#24 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Camp

Property: Kilima Camp
Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilima Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Camp is a small and intimate eco-friendly tented camp with a stunning view over the Mara rive and the Masai Mara Reserve.Like all our standard tents, our two new Deluxe tents benefit from fantastic and unspoiled views!We offer excellent game viewing in the Mara Triangle with our 4x4 vehicle and our qualified and experienced guides. Being this close to nature , with panoramic views of the Masai Mara, we guarantee you that you will see amazing wildlife ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kilima Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kilima Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing