We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilima Camp
Nearby Hotels
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,370
$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$427
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Mara Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$508
$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$998
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Entumoto Safari Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$410
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
299
40
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
40
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdriver martinmara trianglegame drivesour honeymoonhot waterexcellent cuisinemasai warriorbubble bathamazing locationgame driversafari guideminute drivewonderful teamspecial thanksevery guestelusive leopardthe reserve
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 345 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Upon arrival with my girlfriend at the local private airstrip within the Mara, we were very warmly welcomed by Martin who turned out to be our gamedriver for the rest of our stay at Kilima Camp. The short drive up the hill, being welcomed by the elephants, giraffes and other animals on the way served as introduction for this Disney like experience. The Kilima team welcomed us with a nice drink (I thought they drugged us up when seeing the incredible view !!). We were escorted by a safety guard to tent number 1, called Simba to complete the story. The tent is incredibly beautiful and has an amazing view over the Mara Triangle (believe me, the view is more incredible than the pictures on the website). Anyone would love the experience of hearing lions and elephants throughout the night, its part of the experience at Kilima. Martin, our game driver is probably the most respected guide around in the park so if you can please ask for him. He has a lot of knowledge, will wake up at 5.30am for a drive if you want him to. He has great humour and last but not least, the man can probably spot a fly in a mosquitoes mouth from a mile away. He made the game drives so worthwhile! The rest of the team at the camp are amazing as well, from Vestus the safety guard (always there to explain things about animals and vegetation / even if that involves teasing my girlfriend with chameleons (well done Vestus, she deserved it)), the Masai guards (special thanks to Joshua for the amazing nature walk) to the amazing chef (with special meal preparations for my girlfriend). Oh yeah, food is very good as well, great chef.

In the end, leaving Kilima Camp was like the ending of the Lion King, sad but happy to see that it goes on.

All in all, the team, location and the game drives made this experience absolutely unforgettable, probably the best place you could choose for an amazing and more intimate visit to the Mara. We absolutely loved it!!!

Room Tip: Simba, room number 1. The best standard tent in the Camp, but really looks like a deluxe. The room is the last one in the row so sleeping next to wildlife pretty much guaranteed
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Landed on a airstrip made of red soil , late morning and had a range rover from Kilima waiting to receive us. The great thing about masai mara is that you get down from the aircraft and look around and you see exotic animals like the zebra, antelopes and the giraffe all around. Almost surreal!! Kilima camp is vey well located and you can see a large stretch of the masai mara from your room and the lounge. Amazing staff - professional yet friendly, watchful yet non intrusive . The tents were really nice too. We stayed in the classic tent , which pretty much had all the amenities one would look for but what a setting and what ambience !! But the best part were the game drives - really good driver cum guide - very knowledgable and made sure that we saw animals in amazing setting - a lion on a tree, 3 cheetahs together, lioness with cubs and I can go on.I am thinking of going back to watch the migration next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a great time at Kilima camp. The quality of food, the kindness and dedication of staff, the beauty of the view, the style of the place : our three nights trip was just perfect ! Bref, pour mon premier safari c'était juste incroyable. Drivers were also great to show us many beautiful things... We had the chance to experience e great bush walks with our babyson and saw girafas, zebras... Wonderful !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliebriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent five days at the end of October 2013 as part of a family group of 9, ages ranging from 7 to 79 years and we all enjoyed an experience of a lifetime. No two days were the same and saw some amazing wildlife every day. Everything about Kilima camp is good with an incredible setting overlooking the Masai Mara. All the staff were friendly and very helpful - they accommodated the needs of a large family group very comfortably and with a smile. Security is taken care of by Masai warriors and trained guards; not that this seemed to be a problem, but reassuring nonetheless.
The game drives were wonderful, some days as an all-day drive (including a picnic in the park), others as a dawn drive, followed by a leisurely late breakfast and an afternoon drive until dusk. The game drives were in fantastic spacious and comfortable specially adapted all-terrain vehicles with open sides - Probably the best game drive vehicles we saw anywhere in the park. Martin, our guide, was excellent - he had an amazing skill at spotting animals that were mere dots in the horizon that we only saw when we were very close. Martin, like the other drivers, was a very careful driver, attentive, patient and knowledgeable. He took care to position the vehicle for the best views and photos, without being intrusive to the animals.
We stayed in the deluxe tents, which were just like the photos on their website; very spacious and well serviced (with a very welcome hot water bottle in our beds, for those chilly evenings!) The restaurant and bar area are in a central open-plan lodge with incredible views over the Masai Mara - perfect for a sundowner after a great game drive. A great experience for all the family; thank you Kilima Camp for everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmartinxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Everything about Kilima was outstanding. The staff were all very welcoming, the service they provided was probably the best we have ever experienced. The 'tent' was very comfortable with an amazing view over the Mara. We started off in a new classic to which had hot water and electrical points. Much to our surprise, we were asked if we would like to upgrade after our first night. We were one of only two couples and I guess they thought why leave the luxury tents empty if no one is using them. Needless to say the luxury tent was even better than the new classic. The food was superb and varied. Our safari guide, Martin, was the cherry on the cake. I know that a lot of what you see is down to luck but I am sure that martins experience and knowledge helped enormously. He was also very friendly and listened to our requests. I think that Kilima should advertise the fact that they don't get Mosquitos due to being so high up. This was a real bonus for me since I usually get covered in bites. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: I think some of the standard rooms have solar heated showers so if you did want a shower in the morning it might be worth checking.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews