We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great safari experience”
Review of Kilima Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilima Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The sleeping tents....don't worry about sleeping in a tent. This is not camping by any means. The tents are large and very comfortable, with everything you need and great views looking out over the masai. Each tent is separated from the others by space and bushy fences for privacy. At night when it was cold the tents were closed up and hot water bottles were put in our beds by staff while we were eating dinner. Great touch!

I was dubious about the 'on demand' hot water, but it was never a problem. The water was hot hot, the showers were fantastic rain showers and the water seemed to last forever.

At night the fire pit was a great place to relax and talk, have a few drinks and some 'biteys' before dinner. All meals were 3 course, and if you have any specific food requirements just let the chef and staff know and they will do their best to help you out. It was all fresh and tasty and you wont be going hungry!

A very easy place to relax and hangout, and the smaller size camp definitely gives you a more private and personalised feeling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thistravelingdesignr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 315 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We (2 couples) stayed 5 nights at Kilima Camp and enjoyed the very friendly staff, the location of the camp up the hill with a great view over the Masai Mara plaine, the professional massages and pedicure treatments and lust but not least the excellent cuisine.
The tents are usefully furnished and beautifully decorated. Nothing was missing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked about a month before travelling having done the usual research online. We booked direct with kilima camp and they arranged the transfer from the airport, overnight stays in Nairobi both ends and the internal flights. I suspect by doing it this way we saved alot of the hidden premia that a tour operator would have loaded on. The whole trip end to end was flawlessly smooth.

Kilima Camp is situated on top of the escarpment overlooking the Masai Mara and the Mara River itself and due to its height THERE ARE NO MOSQUITOS. This was a huge bonus for us as one member of the family is a bit of a mosquito magnet and we went the whole trip without a single bite. We travelled with 2 children (8 and 6yrs old) and the DELUX room was excellent with a large kingsize for us and 2 singles for the children. The bathroom/shower area was tastefully curtained off and we thoroughly enjoyed having the shared space with the children as this allowed a far greater degree of interaction. Hot water on tap also what a differentiator.

We opted for the early morning and afternoon game drives and the whole day drive which alowed us to go farther afield. Our guide's name was Martin and he did an outstanding job of finding the hard to see animals (including the elusive Black Rhino) and multiple packs of Lions. Martin was extremely well versed not only in the different types of species and habits etc, but was borderline clairvoyant in his ability to put us in the path of animals and we were quite often first on the scene (important if you are a keen photographer). Thanks Martin! The children were thoroughly entertained on each trip, just remember to take some snacks a camera for them and/or a pair of binoculars to keep them involved.

The food was excellent and plentiful, well done to the chef and Philip the 'front of house' manager. We went all inclusive, and the beers were ice cold and the (South African) wine very drinkable.

The Camp, like most, is unfenced so at night there was always someone on hand to escort you back to your tent (thanks Fistus, Brika and Daniel). We went to sleep with Bats flying outside the window catching moths and awoke to find Zebras right infront of the property. Amazing.

We went on the nature walk with Brika and the Masai village trip with Brika and Daniel. Would recommend both. Don't forget to ask what the Masai eat (incredible answer - I won't spoil it for you!).

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Thoroughly recommend an upgrade to the delux room. We had number 15 which was right at the edge of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Absolutely brill family holiday. I was unsure what to expect on our first trip to Africa but Imagine Africa and Hilary were brilliant - answering all my queries.

The organisation and detailed itinerary was first class. The support network in Africa was outstanding so if we had any queries or had to be taken from A to B, it was all done superbly and without us having to worry an iota.

The Kilima camp was just breath taking in its location and faultless in staff, food and safaris.
Nixon was a first class guide and could not do enough for us. Nancy the beautician was lovely and the massage I had was pummelling - as requested - and in a stunning back drop.

The staff ere fab with the children, the visit to the Masai village absolutely fascination. They are such gracious and lovely people.

I would love to return one day. A mesmering holiday. We went in August and you shd take fleeces, caps, warm socks and even gloves as it does drop cold in the evening.

The lights in the tents are a bit dim so take a good torch too.

Imagine Africa a superb company who suggested Kilima - they delivered all the goods and I have reccommended them already to people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSB184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We overnighted at Kilima Camp after a few days safari in the Mara and it was the perfect way to top off a brilliant experience. We stayed in a de luxe tent at a very reasonable price and enjoyed a magnificent view over the Mara - especially the sunrise. I'd especially mention the excellent food, the archery lessons and guided walk by a Masai warrior, and the magical experience of a very professional massage from the redoubtable Nancy followed by an outdoor bubble bath overlooking the Mara; but everyone at Kilima was friendly and the overall standard of service is fine. Loved the hot water bottles - a nice touch as it can get cool in the evenings. And sundowners around the fire pit. We were a party of six and every one of us agreed that this was an experience we'll always remember with deep pleasure. We'd do it again - probably will.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a lovely time at Kilima, the service and the Mara game viewing was fantastic. the views from the camp are amazing, there are some quirky details like there is very little light and the shower is a water filled canvas bag that is filled once a day, but can be filled more on request is part of the camping experience. The staff singing was something to behold, and gave a great feel to the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from Kilima Camp after a fantastic 4 night stay.

We stayed in a Deluxe tent which is extremely spacious and has hot water on demand, I would recommend this tent if you are willing to pay the extra. The tents are beautifully decorated and the views are spectacular, being unfenced you are escorted to and from your room in the evening.

The food was definitely one of the best I've had in the Mara and this includes packed breakfasts and lunches. Staff as always made the stay extra special, a special mention to Nixon, Tira, Phillip, Brica and Daniel for their outstanding service and hospitality.

Note that the drive up to the camp from the airstrip and to and from the Mara entrance is quite bumpy but after the first day it seems to get better. This is an everyday occurence to gain access into the park.

Full day game drives are highly advised during the migration season as it increases your chances of witnessing a river crossing by the wildebeests and zebras and also doesn't restrict you to a 2 - 3 hour game drive. However, out of migration season, I think that 2 - 3 hour drives are sufficient.

I would definitely recommend Kilima Camp for its views, accommodation, food, staff and service. Whilst travel to the Mara is by no means cheap, I felt that Kilima was one of the more reasonably priced camps and would advise having a look at their website for special offers should you be planning a trip.

Lastly, a special thanks to Louisa in the Nairobi office for arranging our stay and for her help and efficient service..

I am officially a Mara junkie and can't wait to plan our next trip to this wildlife paradise:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRWSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
23.0 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
516 reviews
4.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
954 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#71 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#50 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#66 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#33 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $448 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilima Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Camp is a small and intimate eco-friendly tented camp with a stunning view over the Mara rive and the Masai Mara Reserve.Like all our standard tents, our two new Deluxe tents benefit from fantastic and unspoiled views!We offer excellent game viewing in the Mara Triangle with our 4x4 vehicle and our qualified and experienced guides. Being this close to nature , with panoramic views of the Masai Mara, we guarantee you that you will see amazing wildlife ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kilima Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kilima Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing