We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!”
Review of Kilima Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilima Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A very memorable experience made possible by the staff! Phillip, the story teller made our every day an exceptional stay. Kilima Camp was our very first stop on our Kenya and Tanzania safari and we really had nothing else to compare it to. The staff were all very personable and helpful, catering to our every need. The kitchen staff were also very accommodating, they will make any changes you required. The hotel is located close by to the Mara Triangle, so you are only a short bumpy ride away from the park entrance. Nixon, our guide from the hotel was a great spotter and very experienced. My only suggestion would be that the camp informed us upon arrival that hot showers were upon request. Remember to wait a bit before taking your hot showers (so that the water cools a bit) because it is either very cold or very hot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 333 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We truly had the best holiday of our lives at Kilima. EVERYTHING was more than perfect. The view was beautiful, the luxury tent was fantastic, way better than we imagined, ALL the staff were brilliant, the food was heavenly....roaring fires, hot water bottles at night, with chocolate....Nickson, the guide was so kind, helpful, patient and wonderful! The spa was lovely. Best of all, we saw so many animals, even the big 5 on our first drive, and the great migration! All day drives great idea, and the picnics provided were perfect too! Hot air balloon out of this world. As you can see, we had quite a good time! We were there for 6 nights, with our son, who was looked after fantastically. Thank you very much, we will return...

Room Tip: The luxury tents are the best, with hot running water and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sianlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Myself and my wife spent the first 4 days of our honeymoon at Kilima. The reception we received from Axel (one of the camps directors) and Monica straight from the plane set the friendly atmosphere which lasted through out our stay! Once at the camp the view from the tents simply takes your breath away seeing the Mara river winding its way into the distance.
The staff really do look after you at Kilima and nothing is ever too much trouble for them to arrange. Monica and Nancy were fantastic hosts, and Frederick was always was on hand to refill your glass. However, I have to make special mention of our drivers William and Nixon. Both were fantastic, their knowledge of the Mara meant that we found many of the animals without too much trouble. We only missed out on the leopard and a male lion, but the amount of other animals including a pride of 12 lions and herd of 19 elephants really made up for it and gave us some amazing photo's! On the final day we went for an early morning drive starting at 6am but were treated to a stunning sun set and a romantic private breakfast out in the Mara with our driver keeping watch for Lions!

I would recommend Kilima to anyone looking to visit the Mara and would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the staff at the camp for giving us a memorable start to out honeymoon!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Paddy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Camp staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. My son became horribly ill after having ice in a drink and missed a day of safari - the camp staff checked on him throughout the day and brought him water, soup, and supplies. They were so careful to cater to our two vegetarians, and one nut allergy. On-site gift booth supported the Masai community, and at night there was a wonderful campfire and Masai dance demonstration. Food was great, soups were fantastic! Full bar with good selection. Tents were roomy, and had flush toilets and (non-potable) running sink water. Showers required advanced notice for staff to heat water and pour into your shower reservoir - hot and ample though. At night your bed was turned down and equipped with hot water bottles. Whistles at your bedside in case of any bumps in the night would beckon the Masai security . . . camp sat just above the mosquito line, and had breathtaking views of the valley below. Credit cards not accepted - beware and plan bar/gift purchases accordingly! (Nearest ATM is about 6hrs drive)

Masai Mara was the final destination of our 6day, 5night safari booked through JT Safari, and was the cream of the crop of our trip. The road to Masai Mara is wicked - imagine driving over strewn bricks at 30 mph. For HOURS. The journey is punctuated with herds of cattle not willing to share the road, beautiful smiling waving children who shout "how are you??" "give me something!" AND “Sweets!!,” stern and suspicious adults bearing great burdens of water, food, babies on their backs and heads, skinny dogs, wild zebras, and herds of bouncing little goats.  The same warnings posted on the more thrilling amusement park rides should be heeded here - especially considering the distance to the nearest medical facilities. The blinding dust competes with the lack of A/C for your window . . . you decide which you want more - cool air, or breathable air.
Our driver deftly navigated the sometimes 3ft high rifts and canyons like a master whitewater rafter, reading every hole and rock and maneuvering accordingly. We saw the most amazing sights - lions and their babies, cheetahs and their babies (one leapt on top of a jeep!) lions mating, a lioness and cubs with a fresh kill, the gnu/wildebeest migration, a crocodile hunting and catching a migrating gnu in the river, the agonizing sight of the gnu who fell or were exhausted and could go no further . . . also hyena, hippos galore, so many different carrion birds, elephants, giraffes, warthogs, mongoose, secretary birds, ostrich . . . this was the trip of a lifetime, not to be missed.

Room Tip: Just know that "rooms" are tents! Flush toilets were problematic . . . but better than an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAMADEEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was privileged to visit Kilima Camp for a second time in July, the first time September 2011 was amazing and I'm pleased to say that this year was no different.
Camp Manager Tom does a great job and driver/ guides Martin (Cat Man) and Nickson are truly brilliant, they search out the animals away from the crowds.
The wildlife in the Mara Triangle is prolific and every game drive was an experience I will never forget, absolutely brilliant. I have travelled to the other side of the Mara but the Triangle is much more peaceful, fewer lodges, fewer vehicles and fewer tourists make it even more special.
The food is fantastic Camp Chef Ibrahim can dish up a five star meal meal even out here in the bush.
Clients are treated specially here and the staff are so genuinely friendly,its something I will remember with affection. I remember seeing the happiness on the faces of a family from Belgium (De Belder), what a party night we had when they left.... all the staff were singing and dancing and we had the local Maasai group come to dance in camp, it was fabulous.
Well done Kilima Camp, I am so pleased I came back thank you and best wishes to you all.

Room Tip: If you want space (family) then choose the Deluxe Tents but all are comfortable and have an equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leotony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilimacamp, Owner at Kilima Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear LeoTony, Thank you very much for taking the time to write again and for staying with us again this year . You will always be welcome and I am sure that all the staff will also remember you with a special affection too. All the best - Kilima Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we were met by the team from kilima at the airstrip and taken by beautiful large open air 4X4 to the camp. the journey is quite rocky but well worth when you get there. the view from the camp is breathtaking.

everything was perfect - the evening meals and early breakfasts (freshly made pancakes too good), the massage and soak in the open air baths in the spa and the evening fire with drinks to meet up with people and share epic stories of the day's adventures.

our delux tent was incredible with amazing views and beds warmed at night with hot water bottles. we also did fly camping where the team put up a tent on the banks of the river and cooked us a full meal and set up a great tent. waking up to hippos swimming next to us - unmissable. Also all day safaris with a picnic out in the park is incredible.

but the best thing was the people from traditional masai staff to wake you in the morning and escort you safely at night, to the whole team - all smiles and warmth from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. and then the drivers who took us on adventures every day, finding an incredible variety of wildlife (we were lucky enough to see the big 5 on the first afternoon!). the masia mara is amazing - beyond description. it is a magical place and so is Kilima Camp.

Room Tip: if you can, book a de-lux tent. and second GO it is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paullucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilimacamp, Owner at Kilima Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Paul, Jambo. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for choosing Kilima Camp for your stay in the Masai Mara. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyable time at Kilima Camp with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again at Kilima Camp! All the best - warmest regards from everyone at Kilima Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Kilima for 3 nights in July at the start of our honeymoon and we had the most amazing time! We booked through Imagine Africa who were really great in planning our trip from start to finish – even happily answering all my many many questions I had in the run up! ;0)

The staff at Kilima are super friendly and made us feel right at home. The camp itself is basic but it has that luxurious touch to all the tents (we stayed in the large honeymoon tents which were just fabulous!) The food each day was plentiful and yummy – 3 course lunch and dinner each day! And the spa tent offered fab massages and an amazing experience of a bubble bath overlooking the Mara River (not to be missed!)
The view is one of the best features of this camp. Yes it’s a bumpy 20min ride to the camp (and down each day to reach the park) but it is definitely worth it as the views you get are stunning!

Each night we sat around a camp fire sipping yummy wine discussing what we had seen that day. As the sun goes in we were called to dinner which was always yummy and varied and served with a flourish by the fantastic waiter! The night guard then walks you back to your tent where a hot water bottle was cozying up our bed :)

Our game driver Martin was very knowledgeable about the area and managed to go off road away from all the other vehicles meaning we were very much ‘on our own’ for the majority of the time. The viewing is great – so many animals that we actually got blasé about seeing another elephant or giraffe! ;0)
On the full day safari we stopped at a gorgeous spot for lunch supping an ice cold beer and gazing at the animals down the valley. A moment we will always remember!
We took a walking safari one day with one of the tribesman from the local Masai village and although we did not see many animals (there are not too many at the top of the hill where the camp is) it was interesting non the less as he educated us in Masai life and how they survive in the Mara.

There were many zebras in and around camp as well as warthogs and gazelle which was always exciting to see when you come out your tent in the morning! Although there were none on one particular morning as a male lion had decided to set up camp outside our tent!

Overall we had an absolutely fantastic time at Kilima made more so by the attentive wonderful staff. As my new husband said – it is the friendliest place on Earth!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilimacamp, Owner at Kilima Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Jambo from Kilima. I wanted to write you on behalf of all Kilima Camp team to thank you for choosing Kilima Camp for your stay and honeymoon is the Masai Mara. I am glad to hear that you had enjoyable time at Kilima Camp.
I am delighted to hear that your have enjoyed our views, the tents, the masai village, our guided nature walks, our Spa with its baths and of course the people, the staff and the game drive !!!
We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write. Thank for very much again and we hope to be able to welcome you another time at Kilima Camp . Warmest regards for Kilima Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.5 mi away
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
#55 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
424 reviews
33.6 mi away
Enkewa Camp
Enkewa Camp
#1 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
378 reviews
13.1 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#15 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#13 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
889 reviews
12.4 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#56 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
137 reviews
28.6 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#10 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $433 - $697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilima Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Camp is a small and intimate eco-friendly tented camp with a stunning view over the Mara rive and the Masai Mara Reserve.Like all our standard tents, our two new Deluxe tents benefit from fantastic and unspoiled views!We offer excellent game viewing in the Mara Triangle with our 4x4 vehicle and our qualified and experienced guides. Being this close to nature , with panoramic views of the Masai Mara, we guarantee you that you will see amazing wildlife ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Kilima Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kilima Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing