We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing safari adventure of all times!”
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2010

This is the height of comfort and personal attention on a safari. Amazing guides. Personal service. Comfortable "tents" with indoor toilets and showers. Superb food. If you are looking for a safari experience that doesn't involve large hotels or camps and crowds of tourists this is the place. Ecologically friendly and the most hospitable staff imaginable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kagardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 396 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2010

What a great welcome we received from the manager David and his team. The camp is in a superb location - wildlife actually in the camp. The tents are spacious and well appointed - the safari showers are great fun! Excellent food, knowledgeable guides who went to great lengths to show us game both in the concervancy and the National Park - the drives were never cut short, we stayed out as long as we liked.

This was our sixteenth time on safari in Africa and by this time we know what is good and what is not - this is good! The concept of the Porini camps is what atracted us to them on this visit to Kenya - this idea should be copied in other areas!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africa_Freak_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I'm really not exaggerating with the title of this review. The partner I was with was my mother, and we both came out of this trip feeling extremely lucky and fulfilled. You really get a unique experience at this particular destination because while this valley is speckled with camps and safari reserves, this is the only camp on the Ol Kinyei Conservancy, so you and the others at the camp are the only people on the entire conservancy, and it is huge! In our time at the camp, there were only 2 other guests so we were the only car on the entire thing. The nearby national park is crowded with cars and the animals are used to the presence of humans, but on the conservancy you really feel that you are seeing the animals in their natural environment (and there are TONS of them, including a local lion pride, enormous giraffe herd and very elusive wild hippo). The staff at the this camp were genuinely friendly and 100% accommodating and hospitable. Not a single desire went unattended, and I was more comfortable in the middle of the Mara in our tent than in our room at the Stanley in Nairobi. The truly amazing thing about this camp is that it is operated entirely by local Maasai tribesman, with the exceptions of the camp Manager David and the extremely knowledgeable and very well educated guide Jon. Much of the profits from the camp go straight to the local Maasai villages, whose residents donated the land for the conservancy and relocated their families in order to establish this camp. To top it all off, the food that is included in the price was consistently fresh, local, and expertly prepared. I could go on and on and on about the Mara Porini and never really capture what an amazing experience it was. I fully intend on going back, and have even considered it as a possible wedding or honeymoon destination for the future. If you can I would HIGHLY suggest doing the balloon ride as well, it was the most breathtaking and awe inspiring hour and a half of my life.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klawhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

So many times when you travel you are just a bit antsy before you get to your final destination. Well I can tell you guys and gals thinking about such a trip, that Mara Porini Camp is the best around for many reasons.
All inclusive is the best reason. No hidden fees!
But the best is the Massi staff and the wonderful first class accommodations.
You cannot get closer to the animals for that first class photo!
Jake you are the best!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phaseonephotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

My visit to Mara Porini, the fourth of their properties I visited last week, had me almost run out of superlatives. Gameviewing was absolutely spectacular, and my guide homed in on a lion kill in progress, with all the added drama of a bunch of hyenas tyring to chase the two lionesses and three cubs away, including 'calling for help'. As more hyenas arrived so did the two males of the pride - no contest thereafter.
The family squabble over who gets the best pieces was also settled then, when the males, after dishing out some slaps to the cubs and females, took their fill.
When returning to the site during the night game drive, family unity however was restored and all 7 lions enjoyed a rest after filling their bellies.
My bird guides for the walking safari were on top of their game too, interpreted and explained whatever we came across, leaving me in awe. After decades in Eastern Africa, this was one of the best safaris ever, and I did not miss the fake Victorian furniture and unnecessary 'luxuries' of other places at all, the luxury here was in the oneness with nature, the absolute peace and quiet and a staff so dedicated that it was almost unreal in this day and age. Top marks, without hesitation.
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang H. Thome, Kampala, Uganda

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I can't recommend this camp enough - it captures exactly what any discerning visitor is looking for whether it's your first time to the Maasai Mara or your 100th.

On one night game drive we tracked 15 lions going for a kill over a four hour period...phenomenal. The next evening on another night drive we came across a leopard feeding in a tree who was soon joined by 11 hyenas and about 8 lions all within 20 meters from us. We stayed out until 2am watching the spectacle unfold as they fought over the scraps - truly the single most memorable experience!

The food at the camp was delicious and everyone sits together in the evening sharing stories of the past day and making friends with travelers from around the world...a real timeless experience that could have taken place a hundred years ago around the same camp fire. There are more ornate camps in the Mara but for the REAL adventure nothing beats Mara Porini and its superb team.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel2LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

The camp is small with personalised, attentive and friendly service, very comfortable beds in spacious tents in wonderful setting. Game driving in the conservancy was amazing - lots of game viewed from open land-rovers, with incredibly knowledgeable guides and no other vehicles made this the most special visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtitoandei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
21.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,082 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
242 reviews
15.4 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
200 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,068 reviews
16.8 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $787 - $1,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing