We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing safari experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Amazing safari experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My two teenaged kids, my mom, her husband and I went to the Porini Mara Camp and the Porini Lion camp in July, 2013 and had the most fantastic experience. Everything was more than we ever had expected. The guides and drivers were very knowledgeable and showed us with great pride both nature and the animals living there. We liked the fact the camps are small and eco-friendly. The tents are big and comfortable and all the meals wonderful. The staffs in both camps were thoughtful, welcoming and also interesting to talk to. They all made sure we had a great safari experience. We were lucky enough to get to the Mara right as the migration started, which was an amazing experience in itself, but we also got to see many, many more animals than we could have ever imagined. We are now looking at all the great pictures we took and dreaming about the next time we get to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
166
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

in the trees over our tent! This camp was a great experience with wonderful food, excellent guides and well appointed accommodations. This was the second of the Porini camps for us and both were outstanding. We booked through Julie Roggow from Gamewatchers and were very satisfied. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable and were able to take us to see things in the Masai Mara that some people wait days or months to see. Highly recommend this camp and this company.

Room Tip: Tents are well spaced apart and each tent door opens to the back which faces woods, fields, stream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikornnes, More og Romsdal, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

So in july 2013 we came back.Porini wilderness experience,same as 4 years ago.Started at porini amboseli,rhini,and mara porini.Everything and everybody was perfect.Words can not tell how wonderful it is to just be there,to see,feel....and the persons that work in camps,the guides,and to meet once more Simon and Wilson in mara porini:)))) Thank you everybody!!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aase G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family of 10(adults,kids & grand kids) spent 2 nights here and the experience was truly outstanding. Julie Roggow,Gamewatchers US based Safari Specialist,made all the arrangements and did a super job. The Mara camp was our 3rd stop and would be rated near the top. Camp manager/expert guide Jimmie went out of his way to make sure everyone in our group had a great
time. The staff even threw the frisbee with the grand kids. The game drives were great,especially the early morning breakfast drive. The food was super;especially since we had 2 or 3 picky eaters in the group. Throw in a gluten free meal and a vegetarian;now that is a challenge. The chef even
fixed a special birthday cake for one of our group. We also went to see a special private school;what a neat experience. The entire staff came out to tell us good-by when we departed.
Would for sure return to the Mara camp if given the chance.
Hal McKay
Richardson,TX

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalRichardson_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent Knoll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having been on safari with Porini 5 years ago, when we had a fantastic time, we chose to go to a different camp this time and to visit just the Mara.
They had a lot to live up to, and really nailed it!

We were looked after by our guides Bill and Ben, and were made to feel really at home by Jimmy the head guide.

I took a motion triggered wildlife camera with me and they were more than happy to help me set it up and record the Hyena cubs at the den close to the camp.
One of our group had not been with us before but had the best camera - is over 2000 wildlife photos in 4 days a record?

We had some great game drives in the local conservancy, which was much less crowded and hectic than the main park. Having said that we saw the big 5 in one day in the main park.

We had a 4am start to get into the park for a hot air balloon flight, which was really great to do. You don't see as many animals as on a game drive, which was OK as we had done that before and indeed had done it on this trip too. It really gives you a different view on the Mara.

As before with Porini the food was excellent, and the hosts became quickly like good friends.
We enjoyed meeting the other visitors over meals, but were lucky enough to have our own guides on the drives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

If there was a word to capture the essence of Porini it would be 'Welcoming' ... the team make your stay an easy going adventure. The idea of having a much more personal and private game drive experience outside the Mara reserve was reinforced as we purposely avoided the mini bus migration on our one day in the reserve. The rest of the time was relaxing, peaceful and exciting.The Porini model is the way forward for the future of providing the ideal tourism experience in Africa.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing honeymoon which Gamewatchers put together for us, Porini Mara Camp being the third of three camps we stayed at. For us, Porini Mara was the best, offering amazing wildlife (lion cubs less than a month old, wildebeest crossing a river in the Mara and a cheetah staying cool in the shadow of our land rover being just some of the many highlights), in a Porini conservancy (which is a fantastic concept for both the traveller and the community) with incredibly varied topography which allowed sundowners on rocky outcrops overlooking hundreds of animals, daily surprises, walking safaris, night drives and copious wildlife.
The camp was beautiful with birds, monkeys and hartebeest all right by our tent! Everything in the camp was great (we were looked after so well with brilliant guides by day and great campfires, food and wine by night - and the Maasai dancing was great fun!).
We felt utterly spoilt by the whole experience and cannot think of any way in which it could have been improved - we will have to return as the leopard proved elusive which we consider to be sufficient justification for making this a more-than-once-in-a-lifetime experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
21.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
33.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Property: Porini Mara Camp
Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Porini Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing