We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baboons and birds spent the night...”
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Baboons and birds spent the night...”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

in the trees over our tent! This camp was a great experience with wonderful food, excellent guides and well appointed accommodations. This was the second of the Porini camps for us and both were outstanding. We booked through Julie Roggow from Gamewatchers and were very satisfied. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable and were able to take us to see things in the Masai Mara that some people wait days or months to see. Highly recommend this camp and this company.

Room Tip: Tents are well spaced apart and each tent door opens to the back which faces woods, fields, stream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
168
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ikornnes, More og Romsdal, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

So in july 2013 we came back.Porini wilderness experience,same as 4 years ago.Started at porini amboseli,rhini,and mara porini.Everything and everybody was perfect.Words can not tell how wonderful it is to just be there,to see,feel....and the persons that work in camps,the guides,and to meet once more Simon and Wilson in mara porini:)))) Thank you everybody!!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aase G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family of 10(adults,kids & grand kids) spent 2 nights here and the experience was truly outstanding. Julie Roggow,Gamewatchers US based Safari Specialist,made all the arrangements and did a super job. The Mara camp was our 3rd stop and would be rated near the top. Camp manager/expert guide Jimmie went out of his way to make sure everyone in our group had a great
time. The staff even threw the frisbee with the grand kids. The game drives were great,especially the early morning breakfast drive. The food was super;especially since we had 2 or 3 picky eaters in the group. Throw in a gluten free meal and a vegetarian;now that is a challenge. The chef even
fixed a special birthday cake for one of our group. We also went to see a special private school;what a neat experience. The entire staff came out to tell us good-by when we departed.
Would for sure return to the Mara camp if given the chance.
Hal McKay
Richardson,TX

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalRichardson_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent Knoll, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having been on safari with Porini 5 years ago, when we had a fantastic time, we chose to go to a different camp this time and to visit just the Mara.
They had a lot to live up to, and really nailed it!

We were looked after by our guides Bill and Ben, and were made to feel really at home by Jimmy the head guide.

I took a motion triggered wildlife camera with me and they were more than happy to help me set it up and record the Hyena cubs at the den close to the camp.
One of our group had not been with us before but had the best camera - is over 2000 wildlife photos in 4 days a record?

We had some great game drives in the local conservancy, which was much less crowded and hectic than the main park. Having said that we saw the big 5 in one day in the main park.

We had a 4am start to get into the park for a hot air balloon flight, which was really great to do. You don't see as many animals as on a game drive, which was OK as we had done that before and indeed had done it on this trip too. It really gives you a different view on the Mara.

As before with Porini the food was excellent, and the hosts became quickly like good friends.
We enjoyed meeting the other visitors over meals, but were lucky enough to have our own guides on the drives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If there was a word to capture the essence of Porini it would be 'Welcoming' ... the team make your stay an easy going adventure. The idea of having a much more personal and private game drive experience outside the Mara reserve was reinforced as we purposely avoided the mini bus migration on our one day in the reserve. The rest of the time was relaxing, peaceful and exciting.The Porini model is the way forward for the future of providing the ideal tourism experience in Africa.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing honeymoon which Gamewatchers put together for us, Porini Mara Camp being the third of three camps we stayed at. For us, Porini Mara was the best, offering amazing wildlife (lion cubs less than a month old, wildebeest crossing a river in the Mara and a cheetah staying cool in the shadow of our land rover being just some of the many highlights), in a Porini conservancy (which is a fantastic concept for both the traveller and the community) with incredibly varied topography which allowed sundowners on rocky outcrops overlooking hundreds of animals, daily surprises, walking safaris, night drives and copious wildlife.
The camp was beautiful with birds, monkeys and hartebeest all right by our tent! Everything in the camp was great (we were looked after so well with brilliant guides by day and great campfires, food and wine by night - and the Maasai dancing was great fun!).
We felt utterly spoilt by the whole experience and cannot think of any way in which it could have been improved - we will have to return as the leopard proved elusive which we consider to be sufficient justification for making this a more-than-once-in-a-lifetime experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Africa at its best.You will be charmed by the caring people, awed by the amazing animals of the mara , and captivated by the splendor of the surroundings. Porini camps are comfortable, the guides are very knowledgeable and entertaining, and the service is impeccable. An overall excellent experience for our entire family from the youngest at 7 years to the oldest at 70! Must use Gamewatchers on your safari and stay at all the porini camps.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
14.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,028 reviews
34.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
187 reviews
14.1 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
34.0 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
522 reviews
22.3 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#5 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Property: Porini Mara Camp
Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing