We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved staying on the conservancy.”
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved staying on the conservancy.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Staying at Porini was amazing because it's located on a conservancy. It meant that we were able to see so many animals without driving very far and without seeing any other people. The food, accommodation, and service were all excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
167
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Absolutely fantastic! My husband and I were not sure what to expect when we booked this safari but were pleasantly surprised. It is not exactly "roughing it" camping!

We were greeted on arrival by the very professional and friendly local Masai team, who some are part land owners of the conservatory, which we were pleased to learn as the majority of funds stay local and go back into preserving the area. They were all more than happy to be of service at any time. They would even make your bed bed and clean your tent & bathroom whilst you were out and about.

We were very happy with our tents (4-man that you could stand up in) as we thought from the website that they would be smaller. We also had a private clean stand-alone bathroom right by. They would also provide hot water in the morning and evenings which was extremely welcomed! The tents were all secured by modest fencing and there was always a watchman that stayed up all night.

The food and water was plentiful and tasted great, especially for a 'camp kitchen!' Every night we sat next to the log fire before dinner.

As for the safari we could not have asked for better. Our guide Emanuel and spotter David were exceptional. Emanuel's knowledge and respect for the area/animals is what made our experience. We went on evening and morning safari's in our conservatory where we managed to see a leopard which we were quite pleased about, along with some of the 'big 5.' The vehicle made a huge difference as we all had a great viewing spot. Because there were no sides you really felt there was nothing between you and the animals. We loved that they were very flexible with the itinery also, adapting it to how we wanted to structure our time. We went on a balloon safari also (which was incredible) for which Emanuel kindly woke at 3.30am to take us!

All in all we would definitely come back to this camp again. The price was much more reasonable than other deals, which is why we chose it to begin with. Knowing how well it is run, considering it has not been going for long, would see us return to this camp if we revisit the Masai Mara. Goodluck to the team, you were great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic-and-RobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Our experience at Porini was truly fantastic. From the moment we were picked up at the airstrip, our driver and guide showed an unbelievable interest is showing us around. They put in immense effort to make sure we were comfortable in the car, and got to see everything we wanted. They went as far as showing us the only remaining item on our wish list (a leopard) on our way back to the airstrip on our last day there!

The camp itself is also a wonderful experience. The tents are large and very comfortable. They have safari style showers, so you need to plan to get hot water delivered to your tent before you can shower. Slightly impractical, but really not a big deal. It actually makes the experience more fun.

The staff at the camp was extremely friendly and responded to all our requests with a great attitude. The dining is canteen style, so meals are a lot of fun since you can share experiences with other travelers.

I cannot give enough kudos to this camp. If we were to go back to Mara, we'd stay at Porini 100%.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stuash82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Mara Porini Camp and had the best stay there thanks to excellent service and an amazing staff!
The place really cares for the environment and are helping the local community benefit from tourism in the best possible way.

The tents are wery well kept and eventhough it has all the necessary facilities like a western toilette, running water and a king size bed, it really feels like it's "for real" in the middle of nowhere. The flexibility to do the game drives at different times of the day gives you the opportunity to see the wildlife when they are more active and experience life at the savannah fully.

Mara Porini Camp located in a Maasai conservancy and all the staff are Maasai, which give you an unique chance to know more about the Maasai tribe and their way of life. It also limits the amount of tourists and traffic in the area and it gives you the feeling of being almost alone in this part of the wilderness.

The campmanager David really knows how to take care of his guests, with entertainng stories about Simon the Hippo, who is supposed to live in the river next door...
Eventhough we didn't see him...
;)

Driver guides Jimmy and Marama were amazing guides and they knew exactly where to find all the animals and all about them. Thanks to them we got really up-close-and-personal with big male lions. Twice! They explained so much about the animals and local communities to us and they really made this trip a very educational one.

If visiting Masai Mara, this is the place to stay at if you want to have the experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xXISPARKYIXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The 3rd of our 4 Porini camps and the one in which I turned 50. A great camp all round. Staff are fabulous and all the things available as already mentiond in other reviews of Porini camps. A birthday cake and all the staff singing and dancing in the mess tent made it a memorable birthday as did the ballon ride and champagne breakfast. I will never forget this birthday as we sat drinking more champagne by the hippos in the river.
The game drives were phenominal and the driver and guide were brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobsterlover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We echo all the comments having just experienced this most wonderful safari camp, with our host David. We would love to make a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CandFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Mara is a very pretty camp. David, the Manager, is very hospitable and made us feel most welcome.
Simon the Hippo did not appear but I think I heard him! Jimmy our guide, was excellent. We saw lions resting up after a recent kill and a mother cheetah and her family.
When we arrived at the Porini Lion camp we completed our BIG Five sightings by watching a beautiful Leopard. This was thanks to the patience of our great guides, Simon and John Mark.
All the guides were very helpful with my photography - They would turn the land-rover for a better view or to get the best light.
We returned with great memories and would love to visit again. Julie Roggow did a wonderful job helping us with our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
21.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
33.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Property: Porini Mara Camp
Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing