We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saruni Mara
Nearby Hotels
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,370
$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$428
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $448/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$998
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$648
$465
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $551/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Entumoto Safari Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$410
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
237
17
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
17
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily villaitalian disheslove shackother guestsguide johnthe main houseour honeymoonimagine africagame drivesland roverthe managersfor pre dinner drinkssmall lodgeprivate verandamasai culturerhino sanctuarylocal community
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 257 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Saruni Lodge. Riccardo and Neal were the perfect hosts. The staff was very attentive, informative and helpful. The food was very good. A very big thank you to the guides and driver especially our friends, Jackson and Lemari. The location and views from our room and the central lodge were breathtaking. We can not wait to return!
Kit & Gary

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Mara, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Hello Kit, thank you very much for this. Your words encourage us and we look forward to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I went to Saruni in March, 3yrs ago with two of my clients and have to admit the stay exceed our expectations! Intimate, very well conducted lodge is of the best places to start your safari. Lots of animals come near your cottage, so you don't have to go anywhere to see some elephants, bufflos or zebras :) The cottages are spacious, with beautiful bathrooms with open shower with a great view. Beds are comfortable. I really liked the surroundings of the lodge. The service was just great and the stuff very helpful. The guides are amazing. William (Masai) was our guide and he was fantastic, showing hidden paths and explaining the secrets of nature. We've truely enjoyed every minute on safari, despite some rainy weather. The owner of the lodge, Italian writer - Riccardo Orizio lives in Saruni and it's a real pleasure to talk to him by the fireplace after the safari. I would recommend Saruni to everyone who wants to have an exceptional safari with very comfortable stay in deluxe lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KubaPuchajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Mara, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear Kuba,

Many thanks for your trust and friendship and for sending us your guests. William says hi!!!! Our guiding team now is really good and has come a long way in the last three years! Come back and be with us, I promise you a good running ground :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Visiting Masai Mara and the hotel Saruni, was an incredible experience. The hotel is located on a small hill, has 6 cottages and has all the amenities that you want when considering a relaxing vacation. The rooms have elegant furniture, are spacious and cozy, have great bathroom with a view on wilderness and a spectacular terrace where you can observe the animals and nature. The hotel had excellent guides (Porke and William were exceptional) who joined us for the 4 days of our visit where they traveled and taught us about the place’s history and animals. The organization of the hotel, cleanliness, customer service along with sharing our nights with other customers in delicious dinners combining the flavors of Italian and African food around a fireplace, made the hotel truly feel like a paradise. Saruni brings together the genuine African experience with style and warm atmosphere. The hotel owner Riccardo and his incredible team are always ready to serve or help out. Given another opportunity, we plan on returning for a longer period of time to enjoy the incredible experience of the Masai Mara yet feel in our own home at the same time. If you dream of visiting this country, let alone this continent, there is no better place for you. “I dreamed of Saruni”.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjchalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Mara, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Thank you so much for your wonderful review: we look forward to have you back soon! And yes, dreaming of Saruni was the dream I had when we built it in 2002-2003!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The three nights spent at Saruni in the Mara North Conservancy comprise the BEST safari I have ever been on. This says a lot since I have lived in Kenya for the past 25 years. Riccardo Orrizio, our host, is a charming and cosmopolitan person who knows the meaning of hospitality and attention to detail. The guides come from the surrounding area, know local culture and customs as well as the animals and nature. The animals were around us in abundance - cheetah, rhino, leopard and of course elephant and ALL the others. A complimentary massage with spa services available. Beautiful views. Outstanding food served in elegance at a table shared by all the guests and our hosts, giving a great chance to mingle with the interesting people who seek out the quality that Saruni offers. There are only six cottages, and they are elegant, comfortable, spacious and open to nature.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitisuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Mara, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words and for your encouragement. As you correctly notice, the hard work that all of us have put into Mara North Conservancy is finally paying off and we are proud of being at the heart one of the most sophisticated conservation experiments going on in Africa. We look forward to have you back to Saruni!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Saruni is a wonderful small Safari Camp. The staff is excellent and they do everything they can to give you the most wonderful experience of the wildlife and the scenery in Masai Mara. It is a small lodge so you have an idea that you are in the middle of nothing, so much better than the big lodges in Masai Mara. The location is also beautiful and when you drive around there you will not be surrounded by mini busses because it is too far out in the Masai Mara for them so you realy have the experience "that it is only you, nature and the animals. The guides know everyting about the animals and the plants and are very friendly. We can surely recommend Saruni Masai Mara. We have been there many times already and will go back there without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenReeuwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiccardoOrizio, Owner at Saruni Mara, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Dear Ellen, thank you for this wonderful review and for your kind words. We are delighted to have been able to make easier for you and your family to enjoy the wonders of the Masai Mara, and without the minibuses. I like your description of being "in the middle of nothing"!!!! We look forward to have you back time after time! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews