We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The esssential safari”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We loved goveners from the moment we saw it on the plain flying in, anyone who is thinking of taking a real safari this is it, we spent a wonderful 3 days at goveners main camp, we were made to feel like lords we did not want to leave. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank underdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
There are newer reviews for Governor's Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 939 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

Phenomenal location in luxury tents on the Mara river.
Had personalised valets and drivers throughout the stay ..
Attention to details and excellent dinners! caters to all cuisines..

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaminiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We arrived at Governor's in a small group of couples for a one-night treat during a trip to Kenya. And what a treat! Our tent faced the river and we were able to sit on our small terrace watching the hippos and listening to the birds. Only one other tent was visible, and while you may hear people walking by, you really do feel secluded and in the middle of nature. All this obviously aided by the knowledge that the camp is not fenced off, and it is common for hippos and elephants to walk through it.
We slept very well and appreciated the surprisingly well-appointed bathroom. The wake-up call in the morning - tea and biscuits before your first game drive - are a nice touch. Food in general is perfectly good - both the bbq buffet for lunch and the more formalised dinner - and there's plenty of time to enjoy it and a rest in between game drives.
Our driver/guide was friendly and courteous and went out of his way (literally) to give us wonderful animal viewing. Other camp staff were equally friendly and helpful. It really is the most relaxing and uplifting experience, I cannot recommend it enough. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatsmystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Took a safari from the coast to Governors Camp last October (and are finally getting around the review!)

Having looked at LOADS of options and emailed lots of people before leaving the UK, we finally settled on Governors and booked it through DM Tours after arriving at Diani Sea Lodge. From start to finish it was amazing - from the light aircraft from the Diani air strip to Governor's private air strip in the Mara.

We were initially allocated tent 37, which is the last one in the row of tents that face the plains of the Mara. It has a spectacular view over the plains. We trotted off on our first game drive, with excellent driver and guide. Saw elephants, zebra, widebeest, buffalo, lions, warthogs, hyenas, giraffes, and many eagles, herons etc, And that was only the first day.

Each time you return to the tent you are escorted (just in case there are any animals around). When you are ready for dinner, you come onto the terrace of the tent and wave your torch. One of the rangers will then escort you to dinner. First night the dinner was fabulous, in the mess tent. It really is gourmet food! Whilst we were at dinner 2 hippotamus crossed the lawn!

We then retired to the bar for a beer, and had a sit around the camp fire. However, when it was time to turn in, we asked the ranger to escort us. He said there were elephants in the camp and radio'd his colleague. Tents 34 - 37 were out of bounds - due to a herd of elephants passing through! I knew the camp was unfenced, but had not appreciated exactly what this meant! Anyway, a couple of beers later, and a lot of checking on the walkie talkie later, we were 'rushed' to tent 37 when it was deemed safe. It is very cosy in the tent. We left the gas light on in the bathroom all night, as our steward advised us to do. Needless to say it was an eventful night, as at least one large elephant was chomping away at the back of our tent all night!

The next morning we were woken with tea, coffee and biscuits at 0545 and off for the first spectacular drive of the day. It really is worth getting up early in the Mara. I will never forget the first time we stopped by some lions munching on their breakfast. It takes your breath away, as there is nothing between you and them, just a couple of metres of air!

Back for a scrummy breakfast on the lawn (with great English style tea) then we popped backd to the tent. This was when we met our escort again, who had to check if a lion was still behind the tent, or if it was safe to go in!

At this point, we decided to move to the heart of the camp, by the river for our next 2 nights. Reception organised a move to tent 18 whilst we were on our mid-morning drive.

This tent had a view of the river and was in the wooded part of the camp. Both tents were really lovely, very luxurious and cosy. And they put hot water bottles in the bed before you turn in!

We spent two more fabulous days at Governors. Every day, we were so glad we had chosen Governors. Our driver and guide were excellent and often we were the only landrover at each site. We liked the fact that the landrover was open sided, and were lucky to share ours with only one other traveller.

Tent 18 still had it's share of excitement (something strange sleeping behind the tent!) and buffalo and elephants in the camp overnight. However, there are 2 paths to it, so you are less likely to be unable to return to your tent!

Overall an excellent stay, it lived up to and exceeded all our expectations, with quite a lot of added excitement! It is certainly worth saving up for.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pier21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Animal viewing is top notch, but accommodations are fairly rustic by upmarket safari standards (tents are basic with no electricity.) Our particular tent and its furnishings were a bit ratty and needed to be updated. People with poor eyesight beware--the tents are extremely dark and the gas lanterns provided do not provide sufficient light to read or shave by. The food and location were excellent, however.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natasha96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We booked Governors Camp via Julius K. Nzumbi of J.T(JULIUS TACT SAFARIS) (www.julius-safariscom) who gave us an unbelieveable deal; me and the wife saved over £800 compared to other visitors we met there!

The camp itself was an experience to remember, being tented and unfenced it really felt as if you were in the wild - we had wild elephants through the camp every night, with one evening rubbing against our tent and feeding from the tree outside!

The food and service was first class here. You will not go hungry! The menus each day varied and were of a high restaurant standard. In the morning the staff will wake you up for your morning safari with hot chocolate in bed!

Our driver Gideon had supurb knowledge of the wildlife and was constantly amazing us with different stories and bits of information. The trucks themselves were very comfortable and being 4x4 could go anywhere.

I would recommend this camp to anyone, I honestly can't find a bad thing to say about it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Owner at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Where oh where do you start...Genuine 100% authentic safari experience in the best part of the Maasai Game reserve. No electricity in the tents ( just gas lamps - although a room is available at reception to charge cameras, video recorders etc). We were allocated the JUSTUS Suite (12A) and wow what a terriffic experience - right on the bend of the river.
We were given a waiter (Harrison) and a drinks waiter (Ascah) for our 3 night stay which was to celebrate my wife's birthday.
There are three game drives a day 6.30 till 9 10.30-12.00 and then 1530-18.00 ish, however, you can opt for a 'bush breakfast' and stay out all morning - this was great.. Our driver Samuel was absolutely first class from start to finish and we were very fortunate to see the 'BIG 5' on two successive drives! His eyesight was incredible - spotting both animals and birds from great distances - no wonder people call him 'Brilliant Eyes'

Drinks etc were certainly not over priced especially considering where you were and its select status ( In fact all water was provided free of charge as was the same day laundry service).
Having breakfast and lunch in the open air watching Elephants grazing about 100 yards away certainly blows your mind!
There was a good choice of food at all meals and everything was nicely presented.


It was my wife's birthday on our second night and I arranged a 'bush dinner' which was really in the bush some 3 miles away. We were driven there by Samuel and there in a clearing was a table set for two, our personal waiters, two chefs and two armed guards patrolling the perimeter of the cleaqring. She was suprised with a birthday cake made especially for her and delivered by eight Maasai Warriors in full dress who performed 3 songs / dances for us before singing Happy Birthday!

You get what you pay for in this world....it may be more expensive than most but it was worth every penny.

We are already planning to go back next September for the migration!
Book now and enjoy....you won't be dissapointed

On reflection one of the lasting impressions of Governors will be the first thing that you see when entering and leaving the camp - the security guard...his broad smile and salute whenever your vehicle goes in and out of the camp is a perfect reflection of the level of service you will receive at Governors.

Thanks to Simon King for the recemmendation!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,050 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#18 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
439 reviews
25.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
954 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
544 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $634 - $1,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing