We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping in luxury with animals on your doorstep.”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We had an amazing time at Governors. Saw all the big 5 (leopard at Crater Lake) and many more. Watched a crossing and literally saw 100's and 1000's of wildebeasts. The tents are amazing and the staff fantastic. We were treated to a Masai Blessing for our 25th anniversary - felt so privileged. Thank you to all at Governors - if we return it will be to Governors.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGKirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Owner at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 981 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

Pros - sensational food (the best that I had in 2 weeks of safari), in general very professionally and smoothly run, great location within Masai Mara, hippos/elephants right outside our tent at night, very good service from general/waiter/housekeeping staff, comfortable accommodation, management was mostly good, I think it was good value as they had a special on (25% off).
Cons - guide was very experienced but lazy (declined taking us on a routine game drive after we unexpectedly returned early from the morning hot air balloon trip - even though many other groups were leaving for a game drive at that time) and disinterested; admittedly the guide did improve after we discussed the above incident with management. Quite a few Governor's camp vehicles around in that part of Masai Mara (but probably not too bad when compared to vehicle congestion in other parts of Masai Mara).

It was a real pity our guide was so unenthusiastic until we complained because we loved absolutely everything else about this camp. Maybe we got our guide during a rough patch; hopefully others will get a guide in a better frame of mind and if so, I'm sure you will enjoy this camp and the surrounding wildlife.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

A friend who is working in Nairobi recommended the Governors Camp as he said 'when the BBC are filming in the area, that's where they stay'. It was a great choice. The food was ok, but not great and the tent (en-suite with proper beds) was a little past its best, but we were there to see the wildlife. We saw loads - and lots of it within sight of the camp - and around the camp. Armed guards patrolled the camp at night and escorted us to and from our tent for dinner each evening. This was not for show as there are no fences round the camp and as were walking to dinner one evening half a dozen hippos were munching on grass just yards from us. But at no time did we feel ill at ease. The guides, and our vehicles were excellent and they made sure we saw all that we could. This included three cheetahs stalking, and then killing a wildebeeste, loads of lions, elephants, giraffes, and the famous wildebeeste migration accross the Mara river. This included a lion hiding behind our vehicle ready to ambush the wildebeeste who made it accross the river despite about a dozen huge crocs. Great safari !!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harvblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We were 3x couples who stayed in Governors for 4 nights...what an experience! From our arrival up to leaving we had a fantastic time.
The tents are basic but very clean and well maintained considering it's in the heart of Africa! Don't expect the Hilton, it's a tented camp and nature will make up for the lost detail.. The satff are very friendly and nothing is too much asked for. Asca and Phillip were always ready to attend to us with big smiles.The food was excellent and we couldn't ask for better.
The flies are definetely a problem during lunch but other than that, there was no bugs or mosquito's .
The wake-up calls with hot tea/coffee and a very friendly Wellington, started our days off good.
Our guide, Joseph, took us wherever we asked to go, even trying to get us on a later flight as the migration was on its way and we didn't want to miss is!
We would love to return as we had a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Li4SouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at the Governors Camp for my brothers wedding, the attention to detail was amazing, they couldn't have done any more for us. The staff are fabulous and friendly, guides are very knowledgable and the game drives were superb. Elephants strolling through the tents at nights, crocs in the river, hippos keeping us awake at night, the warthog living it up in the bar. We were so sad to leave, the camp is outstanding and we saw every animal out there, and the wildebeest crossing, amazing.

The accomodation itself was great, wokem up with hot chocolate, cooked breakfasts, lovely dinners, everything we wanted.

The wedding itself was fantastic, they decorated our 4 x 4, had masai warriors at the service, over looking the river with the hippos, and then a game drive on our way back. So much more than what we expected, the whole family are so greatfull to all the staff.

I would recommend it a million times over!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katmag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Was here for one night before transferring to Il Moran.

It's hard to fault the camp: the tents are clean, the location within the park is excellent, the staff is helpful, the food is ok.

However, it is rather large (37 tents) and so it can be a bit of a zoo: service is not particularly customised, there's very limited privacy and you don't feel like you have much control.

Also - while on average pretty good - jeep and ranger quality can vary quite a bit.

So in summary: if you want comfort and great animal viewings, but don't feel like splashing out, then I can recommend this camp. If you are looking for a romantic and special place, try Il Moran or other higher end camps instead.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I can not say enough about this place. It was amazing from start to finish. Elephants in the camp through the first night, hippos the next. The balloon safari over the Mara-breathtaking. The picnic breakfast by the hippos in the river-awesome. It is a little pricey but so worth it. Can't wait to return as 3 nights is not enough.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolsGalore01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#20 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
459 reviews
25.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#14 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
889 reviews
18 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
29.3 mi away
Enkewa Camp
Enkewa Camp
#1 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $521 - $1,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing