We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Governor's Camp
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$409
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$151
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$252
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveler rating
875
97
16
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
875
97
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrinks waitermara rivergame drivesour honeymoonpicnic breakfastballoon ridebig cat diarya hot water bottleelephants walkingwhole experiencetea and biscuitsland roverearly morningdriver guidesafari experiencetent attendantbush breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 996 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I had a specific goal of visiting Governor's to spend time with The Marsh Pride which I had followed during various seasons of Big Cat Diary and other online opportunities. Having done a number of safaris in East/Southern Africa I have a good idea of what to expect when staying in a camp. Governor's Camp offers the traveller the amazing opportunity of being inside the park. The lack of fences means that animals roam freely and the views from your tent is literally a live version of Nat Geo Wild.
All of the staff are very accommodating and remember you by name. The tents offer comfortable beds and great hot showers. The food was plentiful and never did I feel hungry.
I was lucky to spend my days with Jacob who updates the Governor's FB website about The Marsh Pride. His wonderful help in placing the car in the right place for videos/photos of the pride meant I left with some awesome memories. Jacob was also happy to spend hours with the lions to observe their behaviour and to see what would happen.
Low season in The Mara means that the animals can be a hit/miss affair. The upside is that there is generally no other cars at a sighting. This is an experience that money can't buy. The magnitude of the area is only enhanced with the chance to not see any other cars around you and the silence is only interrupted by the presence of the animals. Saying that I did concentrate my time with the lions but had a great mornings drive seeing lion, cheetah and leopard which was a real treat.
Governor's is a camp that caters well to all types of traveller. As a solo traveller I do prefer a little bit more quiet which can be a problem when families with children are present. The staff were very understanding and moved me to a tent that was away from a number of loud family groups. This was really appreciated.
I would definitely recommend Governor's. It was a great experience and the icing on the cake is the amazing Marsh Pride.

Room Tip: The tents overlooking The Mara have views to die for.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Saminmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent 3 days 2 nights at Governors Camp and had are really great time. The rooms/tents were clean and comfortable with all the mod-cons you would expect - hot water, shower and flushing toilet included. They even laundered are clothes free of charge! The food and service was good and the manager, Mr Peter, made us feel very welcome. 'Captain' David on gate duty made you feel good with his enthusiastic greetings even at 6:30am! The game drives were great with many animals seen and well worth the visit. The guides were very knowledgable and nothing was too much trouble. Hopefully we will be able to visit again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank peter2014kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My Partner & I stayed at the Governor's Camp in April for 3 nights. This was such an amazing experience. We arrived around 2pm ish after sharing the plane journey with the BBC. ;-), and were immediately greeted by such friendly staff. We sat down for lunch, and were greeted by Peter the Manager, such a friendly man. After being shown to our tent, we took our first drive. We were suprised how spoilt we were with the amount of animals we seen that afternoon. We went on all the drives, 6.30am - 9.00am, 10.30am - 12pm and 3.30pm - 6.30pm. We took waterproofs expecting some rain, but the weather was wonderful. We only needed fleeces on the morning drives as it was alittle chilly. Our driver Issac was fantastic, so knowledgable. Each evening we were escorted to our tent by a member of staff, as it was dark, and our bed was ready with a hot water bottle. So thoughtful. The food was also lovely, could not fault it at all. My partner was 40 during our trip, so the Masai Mara men came down with a cake to sing Happy Birthday. It was a brilliant evening.
We were asked each evening what time we would like our wake up call for, and they would wake us up with tea or coffee with homemade shortbread.
You could have any laundry washed each day too, which is so useless if you can only take the bare minimum with you.
The tent was huge, so much space. The bed was so comfortable, and shower facilities brilliant. With toiletries also provided.
Overall, we could not fault our trip at all. It was the best experience we have ever had. And we would certainly like to return to the Governors Camp.
Thank you so much to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unknown816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I would not know how it could have been any better!
The experience was a dream come true. The tents were luxurious with attention to detail. Hot running water, dressing gowns, wooden framed beds, every detail was anticipated and provided for.
We were welcomed by Peter who made the experience even more special.
He gave us a brief introduction and an overview of the history of the camp. He also had the perfect balance of looking after us but not being in our face.
Its hard to imagine such a elegant setting in the middle of a game park. Eating a 5 course meal on a white cotton table cloth whilst overlooking the Mara river, watching hippos and baboons.
We find it difficult to describe it, the place is absolutely magic and made us nearly cry.
Due to the site not having fences you are constantly in the company of the masai mara inhabitants. Everyone working on the site has a good knowledge of the environment and are more than happy to provide information as well as being dedicated to providing the best service possible.

The game drives were incredible and made by the company of Duncan who, as a real Masai grew in the surrounding area. He knew about everything and was excited about everything.
He is absolutely incredible and his great energy was very infectious. Again we find that words are inadequate to describe such an overwhelming experience.
We saw 1000s of animals including shagging lions, baby lions, elephants, giraffes, shagging hippos, hippos, ostriches, crocodiles, lots of different birds, water crossing of Zebras and Wildebeest and much more. Its surprising how close you can get to them in a jeep and there were never more than 5 people in a car. On the second day we asked Duncan if we could have our breakfast as a picnic and yet again that was an incredible experience.
If you have a one night stay over this is a great way to make the most of your trip.

The only thing we regret is that we booked 1 night only. We could have easily stayed for a week.

We will definitely come back!

Thanks Duncan, Peter, Daniel, Clement, Richard and everyone else for making us feel very special.

(BTW we booked the trip with D.M. travel (Dennis Moser) in Diani Beach

Room Tip: we stayed in tent 33 and had the most amazing view. we watched animals walking past from our tent
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djdus1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

What more does one need. From arrival to departure, very well looked after. The camp is awesome, meeting giraffes on way to dinner, watch hippos come out of river at dinner to having them 15 feet from tent at night and able to watch with ease.

Food and service quality. Guides, guards and staff brilliant. Can't say enough.

Truly magnificent. From Peter the manager, Clements and Paul the guys who made sure we were fed and watered and Mohammed our safari guide. All amazing to guys to ensure you get looked after. But a guy who should also get a a special mention.....Captain David, makes you welcome on the gate and just gives you that little extra smile on arrival and departure. Captain David, simply a legend on the gate as he salutes you in and out with a grin to die for.

Thanks governors for a wonderful experience. We will be back.

Paul, Lada and robbie.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews