We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Governors Camp..As Magical as ever”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A short review just to say we enjoyed our stay just as much as the last time, the baby hippo and mother in the river behind the washrooms , The nightly visit from the Bushbaby at the outside dinner the Jenet cat in the tree above our table at Dinner one night ,waking up and lying back in bed to see the Bull elephant eating fruit from the tree outside our tent (Magical moments), Johnson our tent saviour thanks for the nightly Hot water bottles each night and tea coffee and bicuits at 6am each morning ,Katie and Philip the welcoming hosts who looked after us all so well as ever , all the staff were excellent, Kisira our Askari Guard who also alerted us to the Lioness that walked across the plain in front of camp, It was great to see the Marsh pride of Lions again with the new Pride Males and their new cubs, The Bush Breakfast was excellent, I really cannot say just how much we loved this place .

You will see why the BBC stay here when doing documentaries in the Mara,

This place has it all and is just SPECIAL

WELL DONE and Thanks to you all at Governors

John & Jackie

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jevr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you John and Jackie for posting your review of your safari with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay just as much as the last time, especially the wildlife in camp. Your comments have been forwarded to camp and Johnson, Katie, Philip and Kisira will be delighted to see them. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
There are newer reviews for Governor's Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 940 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

Having visited this great camp in 2004, (which left a great impression on us as to, hospitality, food, service, organised safaris, romance etc), we decided to return but to their better camps a decade later, however, we decided to spend this New year eve here at this camp to revive good old memories, since we were the only couple left in Il Moran and we did not want to be on our own away from the crowd on New Year Eve.
We were disappointed to notice that this camp has drastically changed since our last visit. We could no longer see the flood light highlighting the hippos grazing late at night down the grass land above the swamp. This used to be a magical scene...furthermore, the service and quality of food has deteriorated drastically. I could not eat anything from the New Year buffet, it was really inferior and badly cooked. There was no music or festive atmosphere. It was drab and dull...In the olden days they brought some Masai warriors to perform, chant, dance and entertain us..this time towards 10:00pm they brought in some amateurish members of staff (local waiters) dressed in colorful clothing to carry out the entertainment, this lasted for 15 minutes then the party was over in no time...we had to return to Il Moran real early, went to bed dismayed and disappointed. We regretted leaving Il Moran to this and would rather have stayed where we were and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of Il Moran with Patrick (as he promised) and I'm sure the sous-chef Lilian would have cooked us an amazing meal instead and I'm sure we would have gotten personalised entertainment special for us. We should've listened to Enos (our guide's) advice to stay in Il Moran for New Year's Eve and wait for the 'surprise'

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank sherminebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evening at Governors Camp, as you can see from our previous reviews we usually receive very complimentary comments. Nevertheless we take comments such as yours extremely seriously and always follow up. With regards to the lighting we usually have 2 spot lights on the banks on the day you visited one light had been broken by an elephant and we had not had a chance to fix it and the other was working, the second light was fixed promptly after this. With regards to the food we know you had made special dietary requests which all our camps had endeavoured to cater to during your safari, i know our staff tried to male special arrangements for you on the bar deck, your comments about the food at Governors have been sent to management for review. As to the entrainment, we had had the masai dancers entertain guests at lunch which was why our house band, made up of enthusiastic members of staff entertained the guests instead. Usually our guests enjoy the Santana house band, charmed by their efforts and enthusiasm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Luxury camp. The big five and plenty more. I went alone on my trip and it was great. I felt safe and there were nice people to speak with. Loved it.

I enjoyed the hippos and crocks in the river just outside my luxury tent.

Woken up with coffee tray was a great treat and so I was sure not to miss my early drive.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bridget O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for posting your review of your stay at Governors Camp, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your safaris, the wildlife in camp and the early morning coffee! We hope to welcome you back again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and our 2 children (boys aged 12 and 9) stayed here just after Christmas. Everything was perfect. The tents are luxurious, the staff are very attentive, the food was great. They couldn't possibly have done more to make our experience any better. Our guide/driver was Hassan. He was brilliant. He knew exactly what to show us and was determined to make our game drives exciting and rewarding. I would particularly recommend having a bush picnic breakfast as it allows you more time to go further and to enjoy the atmosphere and life of the Mara. It is my fourth time in the Mara and easily the best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazzaK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of your safari and for choosing Governors Camp for your family safari. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the whole experience and that of your 3 visits to the Mara that this was the best. We hope to welcome you back again for a fourth safari!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It is one of a handful of lodges that are actually located in the reserve, the first to be founded and one of the most famous and luxurious. The location in the park means that the morning and afternoon game drives can be extended a bit beyond those of the lodges that have to leave the park before it closes, and then drive back in the in the morning. It is located right next to a river which has some hippos to watch, the food is great, and probably most importantly, the drivers are some of the best in the area, meaning you have a great chance of seeing all the animals you had on your list.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0MADIC-BY-NATURE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of Governors Camp, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the camps location within the park and that you found the food great and our driver-guides the best in the area. We hope to welcome you back again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and myself stayed there for 3 days in late Sept and had a fabulous time. Our guider name was Robert and I say he was the best. On our second night there we were out for our afternoon drive when he started watching a herd of Wildebeest heading towards the river. This was late in the day and are supposed to be out of the park by 6 pm, this was now 5:45 with a 45 min drive back to the camp. He stuck it out and we were able to see the crossing, absolutely breath taking. On the way back the sky open up and we have never seen rain like that, its pitch black out, raining buckets, the dirt roads are now rivers , were slipping and sliding but he got up back safe and sound. Koodoos Robert .
The stall at the lodge were very helpful and friendly. We had guards that would walk us down at night for dinner as it was usually dark when we got back from drives. The food was good, not fantastic but good, always buffet style.
We were a little surprised how cold it got there, as we were not totally prepared for that, so Sept cooler that you would think. The balloon ride was great with a breakfast on the savanna with champagne and a gambit of food then off for a game drive on the way home (landing a bit rough)
All in all highly recommend this camp

Room Tip: We were in tent 14, good walk to dinner, and not on the river
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deigo762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have nothing but praise for this wonderful establishment! From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect and the staff really did go the extra mile, starting with converting our two single beds into a huge double! My sister in law has a severe nut allergy, and the staff were incredibly on the ball about it - everyone was aware, and offered her nut-free alternatives and were very happy to point out which dishes were nut free at all our meals.

Our tent was spacious and luxurious, with beautiful views of the Mara River and its hippos! It was so lovely to have a bathroom and that hot shower when you're dusty from safari was heaven. Every staff member we came across was so friendly, and eager to share their knowledge with us and show us where the crocodiles were basking, or hippo tracks near our tents.

As for our game drives, we couldn't have asked for more in our wonderful guide Ntuala. He knew the answers to all our questions and got us the best views of the animals! We managed to see 4 out of the big 5 on our first afternoon, and he showed us some amazing sights like a lion bringing down a zebra after crossing the river! His friendliness and knowledge really made our holiday - anyone thinking of going should request this guide!

I can't think of anything that would have made our stay better - the perfect safari.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarlett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,052 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#18 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
439 reviews
25.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
954 reviews
18.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
545 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $645 - $1,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing