We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Safari”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had no clue what to expect and got a wonderful surprise. The location is beautiful, having meals under shade trees by a river with hippos moving about (do not fear, Askaris are there to protect),absolutely delicious food and very good service. And that was only the beginning.
Our tent overlooked the river, was comfortable and pleasantly appointed with a roomy bathroom with warm water and flush toilet.
The game drives were beautiful and full of surprises with a variety of wild animals and birds that I had never hoped to see, and so many situations that were theatre of the wild, one could hardly imagine. I will spare you the details. So many people have described the scenes they witnessed and I dare say, we all had different ones in front of us.
Our guide, Moses, was an excellent driver and very knowledgeable guide, who has worked as such for over 15 years.
The camp makes a very big effort to have the guests feel pampered and satisfied with the last detail and, hard to believe, but out there in the African Savannah, wi-fi was available in a special small building!
I highly recommend this camp for a wonderful experience of wildlife in the African Savannah and can't wait to have some friends from the US visit so I can take them there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a tent overlooking the river, # 15, one of many. I can't imagine there is an undesi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeker943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for posting a review of your safari, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the safari and your game drives with Moses, you comments have been sent to camp and they will be very happy to read them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 965 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Absolutely stunning, fabulous place to stay. I don’t know how anyone could rate Governors as anything other than 5*. Huge thanks to all the staff/rangers/drivers for making our honeymoon a truly unforgettable, magical experience. We would particularly like to thank the chap who stood by the gate to wish us a good day and welcome us on return. You’re brilliant at your job and your cheerfulness is much missed. It’s little touches like this that really made it special. Also special thanks to Henry for all the wake up calls and hot water bottles, our friendly waiter Moses and David the balloon guy.
We saw everything except the rhino which leaves something for next time as we’ll definitely be coming back.
Lots of Love, Ann & Matt in tent no.11 x

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Governors Camp during early September. We followed the advice of friends who had stayed last year, and since we've been back we know more people who have booked the same trip!

The flight from Nairobi was good although the day we travelled they had enough people to fly 2 small planes together. We were welcomed at the airstrip, and from then onwards we had VIP treatment for the 3 nights that we stayed.

After welcome drinks we were shown to our tent (number 23, overlooking the grasslands). The tent was very well maintained and cleaned. We had everything we could have wanted provided. Tents have very comfortable beds, running hot & cold water all day, complimentary water & 240v power.

The safari trips were outstanding (our driver Jacob) was knowledgeable and helpful. Having the same driver for each trip was a good idea, as you are able to see different things and build a relationship.

We often saw people from other camps, but in this area of the Masi-Mara Governors & Little Governors seem to be the predominant camps, with the most vehicles & expert guides.

Food at the camp was great, with meals during the day outside and in the evening (under canvas). The chefs and waiters worked hard, and again it was nice to see the same people every day, who always had a warm greeting and after little time remembered your names & preferences.

Water, Tea & Coffee was always available and free of charge.

We saw so much in the Masi-Mara I won't even begin to list it, but we will never forget this experience & have already thought about when we will return.

I would recommend this camp to anyone wanting to go to the Masi-Mara.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are similar. Different views (grass or river) & different distance from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IpswichDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I had part of our honeymoon at Governors Camp. From the moment we got off the plane we were over whelmed with how friendly and welcoming everyone was, everything was set up so during your stay you had the most magical experience and the wildlife to be seen is truly breath taking. The accommodation and camp itself is well maintained and very clean throughout. The facilities provided are excellent considering the location, The food for all meals was very good. I cannot recommend the camp enough to everyone hence the 5 stars. My Wife and I would personally like to extend our thanks to everyone at governor's camp from the Management to the wardens who walked us to and from our tents in the evening. You all made our honeymoon full of unforgettable memories and for that we are truly grateful

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent 3 day safari, just the whole experience even after being there 2 years previously. Everything the same just as we wanted.
The use of landrovers really makes the difference along with the meals and sitting by camp fire at night.
Thanks to every one at camp and Ferdinand from Beach Air Tours for arrangeing the safari

Room Tip: Ask for tent overlooking river or plains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was the end of our two week Kenya tour. This place was amazing. Luxury accommodations...coffee and cookies delivered to your "tent" every morning. sitting on your porch overlooking the river with hippo, baboon's, warthogs, elephants. The best safari drives ever! We even spotted a leopard but she got away from us and our cameras. Would recommend and would come back again. drivers are the best. We had so much fun! I did not do the balloon ride but friends said it was amazing and worth it! oh...those hot water bottles at night were soooooo wonderful! Learned so much from evening fireside chats with Dave. Can't say enough about this great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from our Masai Mara/Mombasa trip....our first visit to Kenya, and certainly our best holiday ever!!
We enjoyed 5 nights at Governor's Camp, which was a truly V.I.P experience. We saw the "Big Five" and so much more!. People staying for a shorter time may struggle to see a rhino...they are very rare!!
The "Governor's Experience" starts with your 45 min Cessna flight from Nairobi (Wilson) Airport...we could not believe how green everywhere was after recent rains. Each time you enter /leave Camp you are saluted/greeted by David the gate guard.....he has the biggest smile in Africa!....guaranteed to make you smile!
After a welcome drink/registration you are shown to your tent.....We were in Tent 21, which overlooked the Mara River....with it's resident crocs and hippos! At night we could hear the hippos grazing outside our tent....just surreal! Other tents have Camp or Mara grassland view....none are overlooking.
Tents are not like Boy Scouts/Girl Guides!.i.e...leaky roof/muddy groundsheet...they have wooden furniture....comfy bed, dressing table and hanging rail. En-suite is flush W.C., bidet and hot shower!....Towels, dressing robes and toiletries are provided. Tents have electric lighting with charge point for camera/phone....hair dryers may be borrowed and used near Reception. Complimentary bottled water is provided in tents and on Game drives. A torch is provided...this is an open Camp and animals can roam throughout!.....at night Ranger guards will escort you to and from your tent.
Camp runs to a fairly strict routine:-
06.00.....wake-up call with tea/coffee+ home-made biscuits (delicious!).
06.30....1st Game Drive.
09.00....return for breakfast.
10.30....2nd Game Drive.
12.00....return for lunch.
15.30....3rd Game Drive.....return at 18.30.
20.00....Dinner.
22.00.....tucked up in bed....with cosy hot-water bottle...."Lala Salama"! (Good night!)
Game drives are a true Land Rover off-road experience! You are out for at least 7 hours each day in open Defenders....excellent for viewing/photographing animals. We shared our Land Rover with a lovely young couple from London. Twice we did "breakfast safari".....means you go out further and can see more. Breakfast was taken under a lone Acacia tree, miles from anywhere....a chance to appreciate the vastness and sheer beauty of the place!!
Our "Number One Driver/Guide" was Mandila.....8 yrs at Governor's and a truly lovely Man! He seemed to have a 6th sense to find Wildlife, and had a vast knowledge of Kenya, the Mara, it's plants, trees, animals and birds. He was an excellent photographer and would always stop in the right spot to get the best photos!
Mandila arranged for us to visit a Masai Village to meet the people and see how they live.....fascinating! I danced with the Masai warriors! Handicrafts were displayed for sale...profits going to the local school.
Another day we went on a "walking safari" with Patrick....manager of Il Moran Camp. He was so interesting describing the plants, trees, animals (and their poo!) during the 3-4 hr walk. This ended with a champagne breakfast by the river.....it was just fabulous!!
Essential items for safari are sun hat + sun glasses....the Sun around midday is very hot and the tracks can be very dusty! Binoculars are a must for animal/bird spotting! The Masai Mara is a photographer's paradise, and you will see many huge lenses/expensive cameras! However my Wife got some brilliant close-ups with her digital compact with 20x zoom......ensure you have big memory card + batteries/charger.
It can be very chilly around dawn and in the evenings.....a fleece/wind-cheater jacket is essential! Drivers always have Masai blankets.
Breakfast.....full hot/cold and Lunch....3-courses, are taken on the lawns looking out on the Mara grasslands....with giraffes/elephants wandering by in the distance! Dinner...again 3-courses..is taken in the main dining tent. Food is freshly prepared, beautifully presented and delicious. A "Governor's Guarantee" is that you will not go home hungry!!
Managers...the wonderful Philip and Katie are ever-present......ensuring your stay is just perfect! All the staff speak excellent English, but a little Swahili..."Jambo" (hello) and "Asante Sana ( thank you very much) was always appreciated!!
Tipping is a way of life in Kenya, and there is a Camp "Tip Box" at Reception for everyone apart from your driver/guide. Mandila so deserved his "thank you".....he was brilliant!! Jackson/Ascah, our waiter/waitress and Jeremiah our tent attendant also deserved extra recognition for such wonderful service!
Kenya has been such an amazing holiday experience......Wonderful Country with such happy smiling people!!.....we would certainly recommend it and hope to return in the future!!!

Room Tip: Tents near the River are brilliant for hippo-spotting!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,087 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#21 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
865 reviews
18 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $539 - $1,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing