We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding anniversary we will never forget”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Tickhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wedding anniversary we will never forget”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from 5 night stay. This place is unbelievable, staff are superb, game drives are brilliant. It was our anniversary whilst there and we had a private dinner in the bush, truly unforgettable experience, worth every penny and more. Special thanks to Ntuala our guide and Constant our drinks waiter. Returned yesterday and have already booked to go back next July.

Room Tip: Ask for tent 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandsTickhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    91
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
214
421
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Little Governors Camp booked by the excellent and very professional Julius of JT Safaris, the entire experience from booking, together with meeting's with Julius before and after our trip / throughout our stay, including the the game drives were amazing and certainly exceeded our expectations. We would also express our thanks to all the staff at the camp / Julius because they made our dreams come true.
Also I managed to take over 725 photographs, and we were very luckly to see 4 out of the big 5, wildebreast / Zebra migration, and the male and female lion mating, together with numerous other animals / birds.
In summary I would highly recoomend all people around the world who are considering to book a safari holiday in Kenya, should forget the rest and go direct to the best Julius at JT Safaris for the best value / service / amazing experience of your life.

Room Tip: All tents were to a five star rating standard throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul7715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

3rd safari, 2nd time to the Governors and as last time out of this world, big cat dairies and other documentary’s don't do the camp and Mara it justice.
The whole place is open which means there’s nothing stopping any animal coming into the camp, we went a morning drive and literally not even a minute out of the camp were a large male and female lion, couldn’t believe how close to the camp they where(see photo top left and you can see camp), words can’t describe the place.
Didn't see the leopard this trip which was disappointing, but saw the black rhino which was good to see again, thanks to all the staff at the camp for looking after us.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent three nights at Governor's Camp out of our two week photo safari and it was wonderful. The tents are adequate (wish they could be locked as we had to carry all our heavy photographic equipment with us to all meals), clean and comfortable. The stars here are the safaris three times each day, the food (excellent), and the fantastic service. The manager is everywhere checking every detail, and it shows! One evening we were even treated to a Maasai performance at dinner that was wonderful. We learned a distinct difference here is they do not restrict the guides in where they go or how much petrol they use each day, the guides are simply told to please the clients, and our guide, Moturi, did. He was professional, extremely well educated, and a delight to spend three days with. (Note there is one designated spot at reception to use a blow dryer).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utahtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This tent cabin lodge in the Maasai Mara National Reserve is a great place to stay when going on Safari in Masai Mara Kenya. The entire experience of staying in tent cabins, dining out-of-doors overlooking the river and going on daily game drive safaris was thoroughly enjoyable. We sighted all of the Big Five on the first day of safari and on each subsequent day we were treated to more spectacular sightings. The Governors' Camp accommodations were wonderful. Each night, after a very tasty and well-prepared dinner, we retreated to our rooms to view the pictures we had taken that day and jump into a bed warmed with a hot water bottle. Yeah, we were spoiled! Meals were great and getting walked back to your tent by a guard (in case of animal attack?) was comforting. Our safari guides Joseph, Robert and Richard were excellent and seeing the Marsh Pride of Lions first hand rather than in videos was much better than imagined or anticipated.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our 4th visit and certainly not our last.
Thanks to Katie who organised everything for us!
Kitikuny Nampasso (Harrison) for his friendship
Peter, Koiaki and Alex for looking after us
Ntuala our guide who has to have the best 'eyes' on the Mara! and is so very knowledgeable about both animals and birds that we now take a keen interest in the birdlife!!!
we saw everything we wished to see including the very elusive Black Rhino and a Buffalo taken down by Scarface and his girls!! This memory will stay forever!! Thanks Ntuala.
We look forward to renewing our friendships in the near future. A fabulous Safari with faboulous, friendly people - we miss you all daily, but our photos are a wonderful reminder.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was our first visit to Masaimara and it could not have been better than staying at Governors Camp, Masaimara. We were given a family cottage with an excellent view. Their idea of serving breakfast and lunch outside in the open is very innovative. They allot us waiter and bartender who attend us throughout the stay. Our waiter ( Frank), and bartender (Constant) were very friendly and would suggest us different dishes to suit our palate. The hot air balloon safari ride followed by bush breakfast with champagne was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Our game drive companion (Dickson ) would make extra efforts to make sure that we could see as many different animals as we could. This was the best stay of our Kenya trip.

Room Tip: Tent No. 33 for Family's
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amirup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
27.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#16 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
422 reviews
25.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
511 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
923 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Property: Governor's Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing