We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Safari”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

3rd safari, 2nd time to the Governors and as last time out of this world, big cat dairies and other documentary’s don't do the camp and Mara it justice.
The whole place is open which means there’s nothing stopping any animal coming into the camp, we went a morning drive and literally not even a minute out of the camp were a large male and female lion, couldn’t believe how close to the camp they where(see photo top left and you can see camp), words can’t describe the place.
Didn't see the leopard this trip which was disappointing, but saw the black rhino which was good to see again, thanks to all the staff at the camp for looking after us.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 981 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent three nights at Governor's Camp out of our two week photo safari and it was wonderful. The tents are adequate (wish they could be locked as we had to carry all our heavy photographic equipment with us to all meals), clean and comfortable. The stars here are the safaris three times each day, the food (excellent), and the fantastic service. The manager is everywhere checking every detail, and it shows! One evening we were even treated to a Maasai performance at dinner that was wonderful. We learned a distinct difference here is they do not restrict the guides in where they go or how much petrol they use each day, the guides are simply told to please the clients, and our guide, Moturi, did. He was professional, extremely well educated, and a delight to spend three days with. (Note there is one designated spot at reception to use a blow dryer).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utahtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This tent cabin lodge in the Maasai Mara National Reserve is a great place to stay when going on Safari in Masai Mara Kenya. The entire experience of staying in tent cabins, dining out-of-doors overlooking the river and going on daily game drive safaris was thoroughly enjoyable. We sighted all of the Big Five on the first day of safari and on each subsequent day we were treated to more spectacular sightings. The Governors' Camp accommodations were wonderful. Each night, after a very tasty and well-prepared dinner, we retreated to our rooms to view the pictures we had taken that day and jump into a bed warmed with a hot water bottle. Yeah, we were spoiled! Meals were great and getting walked back to your tent by a guard (in case of animal attack?) was comforting. Our safari guides Joseph, Robert and Richard were excellent and seeing the Marsh Pride of Lions first hand rather than in videos was much better than imagined or anticipated.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our 4th visit and certainly not our last.
Thanks to Katie who organised everything for us!
Kitikuny Nampasso (Harrison) for his friendship
Peter, Koiaki and Alex for looking after us
Ntuala our guide who has to have the best 'eyes' on the Mara! and is so very knowledgeable about both animals and birds that we now take a keen interest in the birdlife!!!
we saw everything we wished to see including the very elusive Black Rhino and a Buffalo taken down by Scarface and his girls!! This memory will stay forever!! Thanks Ntuala.
We look forward to renewing our friendships in the near future. A fabulous Safari with faboulous, friendly people - we miss you all daily, but our photos are a wonderful reminder.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was our first visit to Masaimara and it could not have been better than staying at Governors Camp, Masaimara. We were given a family cottage with an excellent view. Their idea of serving breakfast and lunch outside in the open is very innovative. They allot us waiter and bartender who attend us throughout the stay. Our waiter ( Frank), and bartender (Constant) were very friendly and would suggest us different dishes to suit our palate. The hot air balloon safari ride followed by bush breakfast with champagne was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Our game drive companion (Dickson ) would make extra efforts to make sure that we could see as many different animals as we could. This was the best stay of our Kenya trip.

Room Tip: Tent No. 33 for Family's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amirup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

There is no way to describe Governors' Camp, or the Masai Mara in general, other than amazing.

The staff in Governors were wonderful, well trained and welcome you with a genuine smile each morning, noon and night. Upon entering the camp you are welcomed by the guard at the entrance, "Smiler" who shouted "Jambo, welcome/have a good trip" as you are leaving/entering! His enthusiasm sets you up for what is the most special of places.

At Governors you are allocated a food and drinks server who attend to you each meal time, meaning that you are able to build up a rapport during your stay. We had the absolute pleasure of being served by Frank and Lemeria, each of which could not do enough to make each meal time special, including moving our table into the sun, remembering that I was vegetarian and checking that we had everything we needed. I couldn't, and wouldn't want to, fault them in any way. Philip, the hotel manager, was

Our safari driver, Solomon, was beyond any expectation we had (which was high given that our parents had 'bigged it up' for the years before our trip). We found every type of animal we wanted to see, including the big 5 within 24 hours. His genuine love of what he did was evident in each drive we went on, which made it all the more special for us. He went above and beyond to try to allow us to get good pictures/see the types of animals that we wanted. I don't agree with a previous review which refers to the vehicles being uncomfortable - it was perfectly comfortable and we were given blankets when it was chillier in the mornings and the evenings! Do your research and work out the temperature it is likely to be during your stay – you can't complain about it being cold really given that the hotel has no control over the temperature (and this information is easily available on the web). Bring a jumper and long trousers as it does get chilly in the mornings and evenings but you can easily counter this by packing correctly/using the blankets provided.

The food was great. Starting from a great coffee/tea (with biscuit) in the morning, buffet breakfast and lunch and 3 course dinner, we had more than enough food. I struggle to see how you could eat more than 3 courses each meal!!! I am vegetarian and my alternatives were delicious, including a great roasted vegetable risotto on one of the nights.

The location of the camp is brilliant. You are literally 'in the midst of it' with Buffallo and Hippos roaming the area at night, however, don't worry the area is watched by guards!

We took a balloon trip on our second morning there. I was a bit apprehensive as I had never been on a balloon but David was fabulous, explained everything and immediately put me at ease. I can safely say that the balloon trip was the most incredible thing I have done, with awe inspiring views of the migration (we had a birds' eye view of a lion with baby cubs!), ending with a wonderful champagne breakfast set up in the middle of the reserve, where you land, once you are finished. The breakfast was amazing, with several glasses of champagne, all before 9am!

The tent was lovely. It had a large double bed, with dressing table and separate bathroom. I thought I might be a bit cool at night given that it was chilly in the evenings but it was absolutely fine, and aided by a hot water bottle placed in your bed in the evening, such a nice touch!

I couldn't recommend this place more. I completely understand the sentiment that you never truly leave Africa as it stays in your heart. I very much hope that I will be able to return and would encourage anyone of having a trip to the Masai Mara to stay at Governors' Camp.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had a thoroughly wonderful time here. The guides are knowledgeable and do their utmost to let you see as much of the park and its wildlife as possible. We saw the 'big five' but there was plenty of time to see lots of other animals and birds too. Our guide (Moses) was always happy to stop the truck to let us take photos and with just four of us on board we always had a perfect view.

The early morning balloon ride with David is a must, you get views that you can't achieve from the ground plus there's the legendary champagne breakfast to look forward to after the landing.

Although you're staying in tents, they are very comfortable, safe and luxurious plus you get the added bonus of hearing the animals in and around camp at night. We were woken with wonderfully hot strong tea each morning by a beaming Henry, our tent attendant. The food is plentiful, beautifully cooked and well presented. The staff are attentive, happy and extremely polite but not overbearing. The camp has a wonderfully relaxed feel, not at all stuffy and guests mingle and chat to compare their daily sightings and adventures. Philip, the owner, is always on hand too and ensures that guests are having a wonderful time.

Early mornings are the best time to see the animals so be prepared for an early start - you can always have a nap after lunch and still make the afternoon game drive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#24 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
458 reviews
25.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
888 reviews
18 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
29.3 mi away
Enkewa Camp
Enkewa Camp
#1 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $521 - $1,080 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing