We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay to remember”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A stay to remember”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The camp is great, placed on the river bank of the Mara River; the facility and services are good but most important of all is the people; from David the gate guard who greats you with his impressive smile to the people who serves you during the and last but not least to the drivers with such an experience on game knowledge and wisdom of life. Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gino Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the safari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    91
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
214
421
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Had an extraordinary guide for our adventure of a lifetime! Up close and personal views of lions, elephants, zebra, cape buffalo, wildebeast and to many others to name. The Camp was extraordinary in every aspect and served 3 delicious meals daily.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have visited Africa over 50 times. In my younger days, I worked as a photographer in Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana and Zimbabwe. I love staying at Governor's. It has the feel of "real" unspoiled Africa! The area ( Musiara Marsh ) is teeming with wildlife. You take 3 game drives a day( not 2, like in most lodges). The guides are fantastic. Tell them what animals you hope to see, and they will do their best to find them! My favorite time to visit is August-September to witness the wildebeest migration! This is a sight you will NEVER forget. Booking early is a MUST! All the predators are here, but the leopard is elusive. The tents are clean and safe, but not 5 star!! The food is very good. Nothing beats having a Tusker beer at dinner ,as you overlook the Mara River with its enormous crocodiles! Visit Governor's. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All tents are fine!! Guides walk you back to your tents at night, since there are hippo and elepha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of Governors Camp, we are delighted to hear that Governors Camp is your favourite Safari Lodge in Kenya. Your comments have been passed on to camp and everyone will be delighted to read them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The governors camp is a beautiful camp in the middle of the Masai Mara. The staff is very good and the location of the lodges next to the Mara river are very clean.

Sleeping in the lodge is great because of the wildlife eating next to your lodge at night and also the sound of the wildlife when you are sleeping is a great experience!

The food was oke, but nothing more than that. I think they can do better.
The staff however was very nice, especially Constance was very helpful and kind.

Unfortunately we didn't have a good driver. He was not adventurous at all and when I asked questions he was not very helpful. The balloon safari however, was amazing! After the balloon safari we went on a game drive with Jozef and he was very nice and thoughtful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabienne0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your safari at Governors Camp, we are delighted to hear that you loved your safari. Your comments have been noted and sent to camp management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic 3 night stay at Governers, staff were all excellent and very attentive with everybody making an effort and greeting you by name and congratulating us on our honeymoon!
Tents were what we expected and very clean with warm showers, the hairdryer tent was also an added surprise!
Food could not be faulted we especially loved the night where you selected your meat and vegetables and they cooked it in front of you.
Couldn't believe we saw all the big 5 and more including cheetahs our driver James was determined to find everything for us and the amount and variety of animals due to the migration was incredible.
Would also recommend the hot air balloon ride, excellent pilot in David and an amazing full English breakfast in the bush after!
All in all an amazing honeymoon experience that won't be forgotten.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saraht2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing Governors Camp for your honeymoon and for your review of the camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed the honeymoon safari so much. Your comments have been forwarded to camp and everyone will be delighted to read them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were absolutely blown away by the whole experience! The tents are complete luxury and its amazing to step out and be right on the river with hippos and crocs there.

Meals were brilliant and to a very high standard- particularly the evening which was like eating at a restaurant. I mainly eat vegetarian and the food was amazing, as were my husbands steaks! We had excellent staff serving food and drink- Paul and Daniel. So lovely to be greeted by name everyday. Management were very approachable and often came to say hello and check how things were going.

Safari was just incredible! We had Dixon as our guide and he was fantastic showing us everything we wanted to see. So many big cats! He also took us to the Masai Village one afternoon- well worth it! And another morning he organised a packed breakfast so we could go out further to find cheetah. We stopped in a beautiful spot by the river and the breakfast was great.

Thanks for a once in a lifetime holiday- i cannot recommend this highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgawthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We loved it.

From camping in a tent above the river, to having animals REALLY close by (sometimes too close). The staff are all extremely friendly and there to make your stay an excellent one .

Our driver (Towett) was able to show us almost all the animals we asked for , including multiple crossings of the Mara river by the Wildebeest.

We had breakfast & dinner in the bush, we had sundowners next to the airstrip with hippos watching us from behind. The meals in the resort were more than adequate.

The camp is open, no fences, so there is the risk of animals coming into the camp. Pumba & Timon will visit you while you're dining on the grass, but its at night that things get interesting with elephant & buffalo coming through the camp causing much consternation for us city folk.

The local Ascar (guides) are always there to usher you safely to & from your tent though , so you should never be in danger.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLewisZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
24.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,018 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#15 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
510 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Property: Governor's Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing