We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Governor's Camp has a reputation as being the best safari in the world - and it lives up to it.

The staff are excellent. The food is wonderful. The accommodation is...well, I'm running out of superlatives.

I absolutely, 100%, totally recommend Governor's Camp for anyone. It'll be the greatest holiday you ever take.

  • Liked — The hippos wandering around the tents at night.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank krayZpaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    91
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
219
425
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed at the Governors Camp for 3 days.
The camp was first class along with the food and the staff.
Do not be put off the accommodation being in tents these were like a hotel room with a fully plumbed bathroom
We set off on safari at about at sunrise 6.00 am which was the best time of day and came back for breakfast about 9.00 am.
They also had trips out at 10.00 and 2.00 pm returning for lunch and dinner.
You could choose to go on all if you wished (we did)
The guide we had was terrific and we felt totally safe even with lions etc. within 6ft of the Landrover.
It is very difficult to put into words how good these 3 days were, only to say that actually being there, is like watching your team at Wembley instead of on a 15in B & W TV.

  • Liked — clean well kept
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonTraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Stayed for 1 night at Governors Camp, on a 10 day safari in Kenya. Arrived at lunch one day, and left after breakfast the next day. (we were a bit sceptic at first- "tented safari- what about comfort, snakes, security and insects"? We should have stayed 2 or 3 nights!) The camp in itself is an experience, and especially "the tents". The biggest bedroom and the biggest bathroom on the whole trip, inside the tent ! And a concrete floor, with massive rugs on it. We had a wonderful gamedrive in the evening, and I've never seen so many wild animals in my whole life. 3 cheetah brothers killed a zebra fole, then they were chased away by the hyenas. And then a pack of lions scared the hyenas away, and we watched the big male lion eating away. While 6 lionesses, BBC film crew (Big Cat Dirary) and people from a few other safari vans were watching. And 10 feet from our car, the 3 cheetah brothers were sulking ... In the evening we had a very good dinner, and afterwords a G&T by the bonfire. Before going to sleep, 2 hippos passed while we had another G&T on the porch. In the morning we were waken by servants who served tea and lit the lights, before we went on another great gamedrive. We saw hot air balloons rising over the misty savannah, and crocs resting below the passing-spots on the Mara river. The we had a very good breakfast (from a buffet), before we went off for Nairobi. If You ever have dreamt of a tented safari, and like a bit of luxury and a vibrant wildlife - go for it !

  • Liked — Overall style
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Ursus_Polaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed at Governors camp end of september.five star tents with en-suite,gas lamps,very cosy,hot water bottles at night.Our game driver was Kaoech he was fantastic,just knew where to go.We saw so much on each game drive,soon as you get out of camp,we had two others in our 4x4.early one morning we had an elephant outside our tent,& the other one we had a hippo outside,to be so close.We had some fantastic photos. also food was great so much choice.We booked through Kenyan Adventures with Doc & Ann.

  • Liked — the little gifts put on your pillow + the view
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maryann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning on Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

First part of honeymoon - what a place!
Service top quality - friendly & fast.
Food abundant & very good - lots of choice at all meal times.
Rooms lovely - clean, king size bed, en-suite shower room, plenty of hot water, electric lighting (no sockets).
Someone will come into your tent while you're out to turn on your lamps (which will warm up your tent), and while you're at dinner, slip a hot water bottle into your bed.
Wake up call consists of hot choc / tea / coffee & biscuits.
Our game driver Josphat was fab - he got us closer to the action than any other driver (very very close!). Animals right on the doorstep & plenty of them. Hippos graze 2' away from unobtrusive bar, overlooking river - home to a few sleepy crocs.
Escorted to / from tent by a guard as camp is open, but very safe.
Cold & windy in the mornings - take long trousers and a fleece.
Someone recommended we buy a proper camera - we didn't and, though we got some amazing shots, it would be well worth investing in a professional camera.
Balloon ride at dawn well worth it - get to see things impossible to see during a drive - followed by full cooked breakfast in the middle of the plains - incredible!
Little Governors & Il Moran are obv more luxurious, but no need to go the extra mile as completely different place with different views etc, worth trying all three camps!
Overall FANTASTIC! Highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Hot Water Bottles
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

All the positive reviews for this camp are 100% correct. The food, game drives, tents, service is exceptional and one the best holidays we have ever had. Stay for 3 -4 nights as that is just about right. They cook some amazing apple pie and crumble at lunchtimes.

  • Liked — unique setting
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Stayed with our friends in early August and had a fantastic time. Althought early game drives (there were four of us in the Land Rover) seemed a bit much it really is the best time to see what really goes on in the Mara.
The tents were excellent and although you don't have electricity in them , gas lamps blend in with what you're there for. They do have a room to use as a charging place for camer batteries etc, so do take your equipment so as not to miss out on some of the excellent sights you will almost see.
Tell your driver what you want to do and he'll fit in as best he can, but remember he knows best!
The food was very good indeed and the staff could not do any more to please you. early to bed and the next day isn't that far away, especially a 05.00 call (with tea and biscuits) to head off at 5.30 for the baloon ride, which is a must, ending in the most fantastic cooked breakfast in the middle of nowhere!
Three or four days was probably enough for us, and most other people, but each to their own. Can't recommend enough.

  • Liked — back to basics, tents !!!
  • Disliked — nothing, it's the Mara after all !
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank BrightonBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
27.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,028 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#15 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
522 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Property: Governor's Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing