We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently stayed on a 3 night safari in April. It was a great experience and the camp is first class. From the time they pick you up at the air strip to when you leave they take care of everything. The staff is great, the food is excellent and there's plenty of it, the location is the best. My guide did an excellent job of making sure everyone enjoyed each safari drive and knew so much about the animals. It was very exciting and educational. I would highly recommend the camp to anyone thinking of going on safari to the Masai.

Some minor drawbacks, and these are very minor, was that it is unclear what to tip the staff. It was obvious that the tips made up a large part of their income but myself and other camp guests were unsure of what to tip. A couple of the staff seemed disappointed with their tips even though they were higher than what was recommended. Additionally, the vehicles could use a little better maintenance. Liked the older RR's but needed a little more maintenance as a few times ours stalled out, we had to swap out one as it had to be repaired, etc. Still was a great experience and would highly recommend to anyone who wants to go on a true safari.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    88
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
208
411
42
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Governor's Camp was absolutely stunning and I could not have imagined a more perfect vacation. Everything was perfect, the food, the service, and especially my guide Alfred who went out of his way to find a very special lion, Notch, for me. The manager James was delightful and visited with our little group every night by the camp fire.

The amazing history of this beautiful camp makes it a must if you travel to the Mara and especially if you are a big cat fan. The guides know the big cats better than any others and of course you have the famous Marsh Pride right at your doorstep.

I am going back to the Mara this year and am looking forward to another perfect stay at Governors.

Room Tip: Choose a tent facing the plains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWiedrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having been to another camp in the Masai Mara and not enjoyed it I was a bit wary about the meeting being held here . From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were welcomed and looked after like royalty- which is not easy when you have about 50 people from all over the world coming in for a weekend.We spotted fantastic wildlife. I have lived in Africa for most of my life and for the first time ever saw two Leopards, one Cheetah , 3 tree very large male Lions and a female Lioness with some beautiful cubs - ALL IN ONE DAY ! Those are just a few of the many animals and birds we spotted over the weekend. The food is always fresh , imaginative and plentiful without leaving you overfull and uncomfortable. Some people found the limited internet connectivity a bit difficult but I didn't miss it ! An added touch was a lovely hot water bottle in the bed every night! Tents like these are not very difficult to stay in.To the staff from the manager to the drivers to the guards who walked us to our rooms at night - Asante sana for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: We were given "the Justus Suite " which apparently is a honeymoon suite an thus had a bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'm the type of person who is happiest when doing my own kind of safari. I like to drive myself, cook for myself and make camp where and when I want. I was persuaded to go to Governor's camp because my friend's sister was heavily pregnant and didn't fancy 'roughing it'.

I was impressed from the moment we arrived. Governor's has 3 camps I think, we stayed at the main one and it was wonderful. The staff we professional and friendly and always happy to help. The drivers all worked together but if you asked for your own space to look for your own game they are happy to oblige.

The food was varied and delicious and I would recommend taking your breakfast on safari every single morning. It really increases your chances of seeing much more game.

The whole camp is open but feels very secure. The tents themselves are luxurious and all have lovely views and great big beds.

I will be back ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having just returned from Governors Camp 2 weeks ago, after my 10th visit. I find it impossible to have one negative thought about this wonderful camp. All the "Mod Cons" luxury etc but still Rustic and nothing to spoil the magic of the animals.... even visiting at meal times.... when the staff and guests have to take cover and allow Elephants etc to trundle through!!!. The staff on arrival, from the minute you step from the plane are there to make your stay a wonderful experience.
When I return I am welcomed with "Welcome Home" this year I had the company of some friends who had not been to Kenya before, they were Blown Away by what they saw even on the first Game Drive. Three drives a day and each drive you think you will not beat your previous drive. The Driver/Guild too knows exactly how to help you with a good shot for your photos. You will never be disappointed with Governors Camp.
The tents are secure and have a wonderful quiet and relaxing ambiance. In the night everything comes out to play!!!.... and you can hear animals foraging for food etc just outside your tent.
The food and service is excellent and the Picnic Breakfast is a must for at least one morning. Breakfast by the River over at Pump House with the entertaining HIPPO'S I just can't explain in words .... "the magic of this place"
I thank Kate and Phillip for all their hard work in making my stay each time a memorable one. The camp is like one big happy family. Thanks to Mandila for his excellent GAME DRIVES.
I will continue to visit Main Governors Camp for as long as I can, also bring my friends... as I say now "It gets under yr skin" I will be back.
Regards Bernadette Simpson

Room Tip: Plains Tents overlook The Savannah if you don't want to take a nap at lunch time just sitting wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie885007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a 3 night 4 day stay at Governors Camp, what an amazing place. 3 game drives a day in open backed vehicles was a great way to experience the Masai Mara, out early morning and back for breakfast around 9.00, mid morning until lunchtime, out again at 3.30 pm until dusk then back for the evening meal at 8.00pm served to your table. All the meals were very good and all served outside next to the Mara river and views across the plains and there were animals everywere.
The camp staff were all excellent and our driver Isaac was very good and very knowlegeable with all aspects of the animals we saw. We coudn't believe how close we got to the animals who all just seemed to totally ignore the vehicles and we saw lots, elephant, hippo, crocs, lions, cheetah, leopard, hyena, giraffe, buffalo, zebra etc etc. only one of the 'big 5' we didn't get a sighting of was a rhino, but suppose you cant have everything at once.
The tents are spacious and comfortable with an en suite shower, toilet and wash basin all have electric lights and power point and our attendant James arrived every night with hot water bottles ( apparently its quite cold on a night at 14 degs C ) closed all the mesh window covers and sprayed the tent to get rid of any mosquitos ( never saw any all time we were there)
Our tent was on the river banks and the noises on a night are an experience in themselves with hippo's grunting and splashing in the river through the night, listening to lions and hyena's out on the plains and elephants and other animals moving around, with an elephant being very close to our tent one night tearing branches and vegetation up to eat to the point that we could hear it breathing and eating, but will say at this point the guards in the camp were very good and ensured the safety of the guests staying there at all times.
This was the first time we had been on a safari holiday and it exceded by far all we expected of it, Thanks to all at the camp and if you are thinking of going there you won't regret it

Room Tip: rooms up to 29 are on the river banks, tents in the 30's have views across the plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PmcC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a fantastic 2night/3 day safari (booked through JT safari). The acommadation/food/staff/location was excellent - first class. Our guide, Ntuela was hugely informative about the wildlife and we enjoyed six fascinating game drives. I highly recommend this camp and our guide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
24.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#18 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#23 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.8 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#33 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Property: Governor's Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing