We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Luxury safari worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Governor's Camp to your Saves list
Governor's Camp
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Luxury safari worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'm the type of person who is happiest when doing my own kind of safari. I like to drive myself, cook for myself and make camp where and when I want. I was persuaded to go to Governor's camp because my friend's sister was heavily pregnant and didn't fancy 'roughing it'.

I was impressed from the moment we arrived. Governor's has 3 camps I think, we stayed at the main one and it was wonderful. The staff we professional and friendly and always happy to help. The drivers all worked together but if you asked for your own space to look for your own game they are happy to oblige.

The food was varied and delicious and I would recommend taking your breakfast on safari every single morning. It really increases your chances of seeing much more game.

The whole camp is open but feels very secure. The tents themselves are luxurious and all have lovely views and great big beds.

I will be back ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    78
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
179
371
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having just returned from Governors Camp 2 weeks ago, after my 10th visit. I find it impossible to have one negative thought about this wonderful camp. All the "Mod Cons" luxury etc but still Rustic and nothing to spoil the magic of the animals.... even visiting at meal times.... when the staff and guests have to take cover and allow Elephants etc to trundle through!!!. The staff on arrival, from the minute you step from the plane are there to make your stay a wonderful experience.
When I return I am welcomed with "Welcome Home" this year I had the company of some friends who had not been to Kenya before, they were Blown Away by what they saw even on the first Game Drive. Three drives a day and each drive you think you will not beat your previous drive. The Driver/Guild too knows exactly how to help you with a good shot for your photos. You will never be disappointed with Governors Camp.
The tents are secure and have a wonderful quiet and relaxing ambiance. In the night everything comes out to play!!!.... and you can hear animals foraging for food etc just outside your tent.
The food and service is excellent and the Picnic Breakfast is a must for at least one morning. Breakfast by the River over at Pump House with the entertaining HIPPO'S I just can't explain in words .... "the magic of this place"
I thank Kate and Phillip for all their hard work in making my stay each time a memorable one. The camp is like one big happy family. Thanks to Mandila for his excellent GAME DRIVES.
I will continue to visit Main Governors Camp for as long as I can, also bring my friends... as I say now "It gets under yr skin" I will be back.
Regards Bernadette Simpson

Room Tip: Plains Tents overlook The Savannah if you don't want to take a nap at lunch time just sitting wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie885007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a 3 night 4 day stay at Governors Camp, what an amazing place. 3 game drives a day in open backed vehicles was a great way to experience the Masai Mara, out early morning and back for breakfast around 9.00, mid morning until lunchtime, out again at 3.30 pm until dusk then back for the evening meal at 8.00pm served to your table. All the meals were very good and all served outside next to the Mara river and views across the plains and there were animals everywere.
The camp staff were all excellent and our driver Isaac was very good and very knowlegeable with all aspects of the animals we saw. We coudn't believe how close we got to the animals who all just seemed to totally ignore the vehicles and we saw lots, elephant, hippo, crocs, lions, cheetah, leopard, hyena, giraffe, buffalo, zebra etc etc. only one of the 'big 5' we didn't get a sighting of was a rhino, but suppose you cant have everything at once.
The tents are spacious and comfortable with an en suite shower, toilet and wash basin all have electric lights and power point and our attendant James arrived every night with hot water bottles ( apparently its quite cold on a night at 14 degs C ) closed all the mesh window covers and sprayed the tent to get rid of any mosquitos ( never saw any all time we were there)
Our tent was on the river banks and the noises on a night are an experience in themselves with hippo's grunting and splashing in the river through the night, listening to lions and hyena's out on the plains and elephants and other animals moving around, with an elephant being very close to our tent one night tearing branches and vegetation up to eat to the point that we could hear it breathing and eating, but will say at this point the guards in the camp were very good and ensured the safety of the guests staying there at all times.
This was the first time we had been on a safari holiday and it exceded by far all we expected of it, Thanks to all at the camp and if you are thinking of going there you won't regret it

Room Tip: rooms up to 29 are on the river banks, tents in the 30's have views across the plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PmcC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a fantastic 2night/3 day safari (booked through JT safari). The acommadation/food/staff/location was excellent - first class. Our guide, Ntuela was hugely informative about the wildlife and we enjoyed six fascinating game drives. I highly recommend this camp and our guide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Wow ! What a way to spend my 50th birthday! My dream was to go to Masai Mara and this was everything I could have hoped for and more. Our guide Robert was superb and so informative about the animals and their locations a real pleasure. The birthday was topped off by Kate the manager organising a birthday cake delivers by 7 Masai warriors...unforgettable!! I would recommend this resort to anyone - tea and coffee before your morning safari, hot water bottle in your bed, first class food and staff incredible...GO THERE !!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a group of 9 people and spent 3 days at Governor's camp. We had a terrific experience from the wonderful staff, good food, accommodations that were awesome. It was a great experience. We arrived via plane, checked in and went on our first safari. Our guides were terrific and were very familiar with the Masai Mara. They showed us all of the animals and had great insights into them and the habitat of the animals on the Mara. We stayed for 3 days and went on 5 different safaris, I think for me, that was about the upper limit. Unless you were a professional photographer looking for shots that were hard to find I think after three days you get a little numb to all of the animals you see. The food at the Governor's camp was excellent and well timed because our group was always hungry when we arrived from safari and looking for our meal. There also was a group of elephants in camp one night and that was so cool to hear them so close to the tents, literally feet away from us, but perfectly safe. The tents are very luxurious and don't feel like tents at all. They are carpeted in the bedroom and tiled in the full bathroom. There are guides in the evening that take you around camp being careful to keep you out of the way of the elephants and hippos. Again very safe but very very cool. Absolutely would stay here again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful but try and get one along the river. Great views for a little bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Governor's camp in January for 3 nights on the beginning of our honeymoon. Everything was absolutely lovely, and we felt so taken care of by all the staff! From the pilots who flew us from Nairobi to the Camp till the waiters such as Kojak and his colleague who served us during the meals. My husband arranged a surprise romantic private dinner on the "bush" outside the camp and it was AMAZING!!! They prepared everything with so much care and all the little details. We had dinner listening to the sound of hippos bathing on the river not far at all from us!

He also arranged a hot air balloon and it was FANTASTIC experience seeing Maasai from above early in the morning, with the sun raising....Indescribable! Also indescribable is to wake up in the middle of the night hearing the elephants behind your tent eating the trees and having to be escorted from/to your tent during the night because of them around.

Thank you all who make the Governor's Camp, thanks to Dixon our jeep driver who took us to the Maasai village, who took us for a picnic breakfast in the middle of nowhere,

Regards from Sweden!
Paula & Anders Lentell

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellkity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
24.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#16 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
18.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
1.6 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#37 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Property: Governor's Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing