We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Second Home!!”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Second Home!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having just returned from Governors Camp 2 weeks ago, after my 10th visit. I find it impossible to have one negative thought about this wonderful camp. All the "Mod Cons" luxury etc but still Rustic and nothing to spoil the magic of the animals.... even visiting at meal times.... when the staff and guests have to take cover and allow Elephants etc to trundle through!!!. The staff on arrival, from the minute you step from the plane are there to make your stay a wonderful experience.
When I return I am welcomed with "Welcome Home" this year I had the company of some friends who had not been to Kenya before, they were Blown Away by what they saw even on the first Game Drive. Three drives a day and each drive you think you will not beat your previous drive. The Driver/Guild too knows exactly how to help you with a good shot for your photos. You will never be disappointed with Governors Camp.
The tents are secure and have a wonderful quiet and relaxing ambiance. In the night everything comes out to play!!!.... and you can hear animals foraging for food etc just outside your tent.
The food and service is excellent and the Picnic Breakfast is a must for at least one morning. Breakfast by the River over at Pump House with the entertaining HIPPO'S I just can't explain in words .... "the magic of this place"
I thank Kate and Phillip for all their hard work in making my stay each time a memorable one. The camp is like one big happy family. Thanks to Mandila for his excellent GAME DRIVES.
I will continue to visit Main Governors Camp for as long as I can, also bring my friends... as I say now "It gets under yr skin" I will be back.
Regards Bernadette Simpson

Room Tip: Plains Tents overlook The Savannah if you don't want to take a nap at lunch time just sitting wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie885007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    94
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
221
431
45
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a 3 night 4 day stay at Governors Camp, what an amazing place. 3 game drives a day in open backed vehicles was a great way to experience the Masai Mara, out early morning and back for breakfast around 9.00, mid morning until lunchtime, out again at 3.30 pm until dusk then back for the evening meal at 8.00pm served to your table. All the meals were very good and all served outside next to the Mara river and views across the plains and there were animals everywere.
The camp staff were all excellent and our driver Isaac was very good and very knowlegeable with all aspects of the animals we saw. We coudn't believe how close we got to the animals who all just seemed to totally ignore the vehicles and we saw lots, elephant, hippo, crocs, lions, cheetah, leopard, hyena, giraffe, buffalo, zebra etc etc. only one of the 'big 5' we didn't get a sighting of was a rhino, but suppose you cant have everything at once.
The tents are spacious and comfortable with an en suite shower, toilet and wash basin all have electric lights and power point and our attendant James arrived every night with hot water bottles ( apparently its quite cold on a night at 14 degs C ) closed all the mesh window covers and sprayed the tent to get rid of any mosquitos ( never saw any all time we were there)
Our tent was on the river banks and the noises on a night are an experience in themselves with hippo's grunting and splashing in the river through the night, listening to lions and hyena's out on the plains and elephants and other animals moving around, with an elephant being very close to our tent one night tearing branches and vegetation up to eat to the point that we could hear it breathing and eating, but will say at this point the guards in the camp were very good and ensured the safety of the guests staying there at all times.
This was the first time we had been on a safari holiday and it exceded by far all we expected of it, Thanks to all at the camp and if you are thinking of going there you won't regret it

Room Tip: rooms up to 29 are on the river banks, tents in the 30's have views across the plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PmcC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a fantastic 2night/3 day safari (booked through JT safari). The acommadation/food/staff/location was excellent - first class. Our guide, Ntuela was hugely informative about the wildlife and we enjoyed six fascinating game drives. I highly recommend this camp and our guide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Wow ! What a way to spend my 50th birthday! My dream was to go to Masai Mara and this was everything I could have hoped for and more. Our guide Robert was superb and so informative about the animals and their locations a real pleasure. The birthday was topped off by Kate the manager organising a birthday cake delivers by 7 Masai warriors...unforgettable!! I would recommend this resort to anyone - tea and coffee before your morning safari, hot water bottle in your bed, first class food and staff incredible...GO THERE !!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a group of 9 people and spent 3 days at Governor's camp. We had a terrific experience from the wonderful staff, good food, accommodations that were awesome. It was a great experience. We arrived via plane, checked in and went on our first safari. Our guides were terrific and were very familiar with the Masai Mara. They showed us all of the animals and had great insights into them and the habitat of the animals on the Mara. We stayed for 3 days and went on 5 different safaris, I think for me, that was about the upper limit. Unless you were a professional photographer looking for shots that were hard to find I think after three days you get a little numb to all of the animals you see. The food at the Governor's camp was excellent and well timed because our group was always hungry when we arrived from safari and looking for our meal. There also was a group of elephants in camp one night and that was so cool to hear them so close to the tents, literally feet away from us, but perfectly safe. The tents are very luxurious and don't feel like tents at all. They are carpeted in the bedroom and tiled in the full bathroom. There are guides in the evening that take you around camp being careful to keep you out of the way of the elephants and hippos. Again very safe but very very cool. Absolutely would stay here again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful but try and get one along the river. Great views for a little bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Governor's camp in January for 3 nights on the beginning of our honeymoon. Everything was absolutely lovely, and we felt so taken care of by all the staff! From the pilots who flew us from Nairobi to the Camp till the waiters such as Kojak and his colleague who served us during the meals. My husband arranged a surprise romantic private dinner on the "bush" outside the camp and it was AMAZING!!! They prepared everything with so much care and all the little details. We had dinner listening to the sound of hippos bathing on the river not far at all from us!

He also arranged a hot air balloon and it was FANTASTIC experience seeing Maasai from above early in the morning, with the sun raising....Indescribable! Also indescribable is to wake up in the middle of the night hearing the elephants behind your tent eating the trees and having to be escorted from/to your tent during the night because of them around.

Thank you all who make the Governor's Camp, thanks to Dixon our jeep driver who took us to the Maasai village, who took us for a picnic breakfast in the middle of nowhere,

Regards from Sweden!
Paula & Anders Lentell

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellkity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Oh my god,what an experience we had,this was a special time in our lives.We went for my wife's 50th birthday,Jane always wanted to go on safari and experience the animals in their own back yard. We arrived and was greeted by camp members in jeeps, waiting to take us into camp .This took longer than expected due to the fact that we saw many animals on route and stopped to take photo's.We were greeted with a drink and itinerary for your stay.After settling in and after some great lunch we were off on our first game drive,to say we were like kids in a sweet shop is an under statement .We arrived back for more great food before our first night.Well that was an experience, the camp has no fences so the animals can roam around the camp at night ,and they did,elephants and hippo's just two of the animals we recognised.We took our breakfast out with us on our second day,this was a memorable moment to the extent that I was moved to phone home to tell them so,yes I did get a reception.We were lucky to see the big 5.
The full team at Governors did a fantastic job.We enjoyed ourselves so much that one day we hope to return,the food is of an excellent standard the drivers are first class and the tents were of a high standard also. We stayed for two nights in tent 31on the 12/13 March.
Again thanks to all the team.

T&J

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of your stay at Governors Camp. We are delighted you had such a lovely and memorable time with us all.

Thank you again and we have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team,
We do hope to see you return one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,035 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#18 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
942 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Property: Governor's Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing