We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best!!!”
Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Arrived 31st August 2012 for a four day safari, this is the second time we have been to the Mara, the first time we came was excellent (different camp), didn’t think it could get any better, but how wrong can you be, wow what a camp, right on top of the Mara river.
Richard our driver was brilliant, we told him what we never saw last time we were on the Mara and within 2 days we had seen everything expect the leopard and he kept that for the last day.
We saw four river crossings, seen a croc take a wilder beast, nature at its best
We went on the Hot air balloon, expensive but well worth it.
While "in the camp", we saw Baboons, Hippos, Giraffes, Mongoose, Crocs Wart Hogs and Buffalo.
Where else in the world could you be sitting having dinner and 4 giraffes wonder past, undeliverable.
A great big thank you to all the staff at the Governors camp(s) for making this the best holiday yet and cant wait to return.....Paul and Debra Armstrong (James, have you got AA cover yet?)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of Governors Camp, and your very positive comments. Its great to read that you loved the camp and its location. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with Richard and the fabulous wildlife of the Masai Mara. Your thanks will be passed on to everyone in camp who will be very happy to hear from you and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    90
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
211
415
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

On arriving at the governors, we were met by Katie and Phillip who made us very welcome.

We chose a safari to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and the Governors delivered with its quality accomodation and food. We came back from a great afternoon safari to find a bottle of wine and a card congratulating us, which was very nice
.
The safari guides were very informative and tried extremley hard to find animals that you wished to see.The safari drives were thrilling with the anticipated excitement of what animals we would find.On our early morning drives we took out a luxury picnic breakfast, using a blanket as a table cloth on the bonnet of the jeep! Lunch was back at the camp over looking the Mara river with the hippos wallowing in the water.Waiter service and amazing food made a leisurely lunch very enjoyable before the afternoon drive.I loved coming back to camp just as it was getting dark to find all the windows and doors on the luxury tents zipped, lights turned on, beds turned out and a hippo on the pillow wishing you a "lala salama" sleep well.

The Governors phrase is " when was the last time you visited a place that touched your soul"
well it certainly touch ours and will remain with us always.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Governors Camp on Tripadvisor and for choosing Governors for your special 25th wedding anniversary safari. We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome, and that you felt that the camp delivered quality food and accommodation. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed the game drives and found the guides to be informative and hard working. Thank you for the very positive review and we hope very much to be able to welcome back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Well, there's not a lot you can say about this camp and their wonderful staff except to summarize all the superlatives that come to my mind as I think back of our stay there exactly one month ago...
Anyway, since I have no reference to other camps I can't compare it to similar camps and I'm quite sure I'll never be able to, because one thing is for sure, our next safari(s) will definitely be in the Governor's Camp...

To summarize it in a nutshell:
- Great "no fence" camp site, with wildlife all around and inside the camp!
- extremely nice and helpfull staff.
- wonderful and comfortable tents.
- very good food, breakfast & lunch served outside with an indescribable overview of the Mara river and the never ending Savannah.
- the game drives were amazing, with a very experienced driver and an abundance of wildlife.

It's really an experience you have to make yourself... We saw, apart from a rhino, all the animals we hoped for, lots of big cats, all with cubs... Lots of action all around... There's no words for it...

Thanks to everyone at Governor's Camp for making our stay an unforgettable one...
Cheers Ken & Barbara

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of Governors Camp. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the safari so much and very much hope we can welcome you back on safari with us sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Governor's Main Camp would have to be up there with one of the best places to stay. It is amongst all the action with lions, hippos and buffalos roaming past the tents at night - without a fence in between. I could not think of a better location for this camp.
The tents were lovely, very clean and excellent service. There was even a little note with a little hippo ornament on my pillow when I came back from my first game drive. A hot water bottle will be brought to you at night and the staff remember your name. It was wonderful! It may seem expensive but it is worth every penny.
Katie

Room Tip: There are two locations for tents - overlooking the Mara River and overlooking the savannah. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekrivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your safari at Governors Camp. We are delighted to hear that your think the camp us up there with one of the best places to stay! It is great to hear that you liked the tents and enjoyed the service and your soapstone hippo. We are happy to hear that you felt the holiday was wonderful and worth every penny.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on safari with us sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had been to the Mara before and stayed at the Keekorak Lodge in the East of the Park and Governors camp was so much better. The location is better because it's right on the path of the migration and there is more wildlife to see. The accomodation is good,- the tents are well equipped but the lighting in the bathroom is poor for putting on make-up. The food and service is good and it's nice to have the same waiter as you build-up a relationship with him. There are very early starts on safari, especially if you do the hot air balloon but the staff try to help with early wake-up tea and biscuits. When we were there an elephant came through the camp one evening but the staff were very good at getting you back safely to your tent and putting the coffee table across the entrance to stop it getting in. The evidence next morning was there in terms of branches broken off and piles of pooh. Our driver/guide was excellent. He seemed to know where to find the wildlife and he tried so hard to show us a crossing of the wildebeast but it just wasn't to be because they were spooked by all vehicles and even some driving through the herd as it approached the river. This was a fantastic part of our holiday.

Room Tip: The tents are mainly located next to the Mara river which was good but some look out onto the Mara w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilambutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of Governors Camp. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the camp and the fantastic location and all the wildlife. Your comments about the lighting in the bathroom have been passed on to the relevant person who will address this. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service and felt safe in camp. It is also good to hear that you found your driver-guide to be excellent and that overall you found the safari to be fantastic.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on safari with us sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived here for part of our honeymoon and it was a bit of a scary start! After having a tangle with a Topi when landing in the SafariLink plane I was concerned that we'd not be able to enjoy our time. I was VERY wrong! The camp is magical and all the staff make you feel right at home. The tents are fantastic and even with your early starts it feels just a special place to be. All the drives were engaging and I would recommend asking if you can have breakfast taken with you as you can go further and see more without coming back to camp. Jackson our driver was superb and has the eyes of a hawk. If you can go on the balloon trip as you see the little governors camp while your at it and have a memorable morning seeing the sun come up over the Mara which left us speechless. We will be back as soon as we can and loved every bit of our time here.

Room Tip: If you can't get the honeymoon tent then there is another one which is right in the thick of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of Governors Camp on Tripadvisor, we are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your honeymoon safari and we really hope to be able to welcome you back on safari with us sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had the great pleasure of spending two amazing days during the big migration at the Little Governor's Camp in August. Very comfortable tents normally associated with a great lodge. Extremely friendly staff, great food and a superb setting for the camp. The camp is very conveniently located close to a the bush airstrip, yet tucked away in the wilderness. The only disappointment was that no walking safari could be arranged during our visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBG_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
24.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
25.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Property: Governor's Camp
Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing