We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the best place to stay in the Masai Mara, could be 1 improvement to make it perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Governor's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governor's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best place to stay in the Masai Mara, could be 1 improvement to make it perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I love Africa, having spent 6 months backpacking from game park to game park from South Africa to Uganda (including Kenya) back in the early 90"s. So was very picky about where I should take my wife and 2 girls (aged 8 and 10) for a short 5 night safari.

And was worried that 5 nights would not be so short with children (would they get bored)? I mean, this is not cheap, so it has to be perfect.

So booked Governors for 3 nights and Little Governors for 2 nights (for variety).

It was great, on day 2 the girls were saying that this was their best holiday EVER, and they are very lucky to have had plenty of holidays all around the world.

By day 3 we had seen everything you would want on a safari (big 5+), including spectacular leopard, rhino and hyena kill (admittedly relatively traumatic for children - but that is nature).

So days 4 and 5 were more of the same, but in greater depth. I reckon 4 days is probably the sweet spot, as leopards are very elusive.

Our host Philip and his fantastic and attentive team (bar, restaurant and tent hospitality and guide - Moses) were so good that we cancelled the 2 days at Little Governors and stayed for the 5 nights at Governors Main Camp. We did the balloon ride from Little Governors so know what we were missing out on.

We were grateful for the Nintendo DS by days 4 and 5 to keep the girls riveted between exciting game moments.

The tent was perfect, large double bed, 2 single beds, bathroom with shower, toilet, basin etc. The food was fantastic (still kilos heavier), the service was special, the location is the best in the Mara (right where everyone else in the park comes to, and where the BBC films The Big Cat Diaries).

What would make it perfect would be a salt water pool to add some variety over the heat of the day. The camp does 3 games drives a day, the most productive being morning and evening - so if you are doing more than 3 nights a dip in the middle of the day would not take anything away from the game experience, and help to break it up. The downside being, more people would choose Governors Main Camp, making it hard to find availability.

We went in early April - the green season. It was perfect - thunderstorms in evening was no hardship in fact it added to the experience. And having a green backdrop to photos is actually better than the usual dry savanna. Yes we missed the wildebeest migration, (i have seen it before but still choose this time to visit) and we have already booked a 3 day return trip to Governor's over the migration season (mid August for a couple of months depending on rains).

As to tipping, the hitchhikers guide to the galaxy recommends. Tip 5% of the cost of the holiday, 50% goes to your guide (dedicated and personal guide and landrover), 25% to your 3 personal waiters (bar, restaurant and room service), and 25% into the tip box for general staff. You don't need much luggage - washing done every day as a complimentary service (except for underwear) - so fill your bags with childrens clothing to give if you wish (in addition to tip).

This kiwi family are going back, and hope the above helps readers to decide likewise.

Room Tip: All tents are the same, expect elephants to go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tomblesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    90
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
210
413
42
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Everything about this trip was amazing. The location was fantastic and we loved hearing the animals in and around the camp at night. As soon as you leave the camp you see animals of some sort, even on arriving by plane we saw elephants, buffalo and baboons. The vehicles that the Governors Camp had seemed to be a lot better than others we saw around the reserve. They were comfy, had good visibility, airy and also excellent off road allowing us to go pretty much wherever the animals were. Our three nights absolutely made our honeymoon and we will definitely be going back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianwinter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Booked this trip from Mombasa at short notice on the recommendation of the owners of Asha Cottage where we were staying, just wanting a 2 day Safari and not knowing anything about the camp, just trusting "Kenya Dream Safaris" the booking agent in Diani Beach.
Was very pleasently surprised at the quality of the accomodation, camping on a luxury scale! The location is superb, ideally placed for immediate big game viewing. However if you want the maximum chance of seeing all the major animals then 3 days, 2 nights at least is best. We saw a good range of birds and game and the highlight was a lioness playing with her 4 cubs right in front of us which was enchanting! The tents are great, large and comfortable with your own toilet and shower and the night experience when the elephants and hippopotumus's roam within the camp is not to be missed, little sleep but what a memory!! The food is good and you sit out for lunch with great views of the Masai river and animals close by. The only slightly negative bit was meeting the rather pompus and smug manager who cannot remember fron one day to the next if he has met you before never mind what your names were!.However his rather plummy wife was nice and friendly and made up for her husband's lack of inter-personal skills.. All in all I would thoroughly recommend the place for it's main attraction which are the beautiful animals and birds that you will see.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent that fronts on to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ongeypongey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cotswolds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

We loved the Governors' Camp from the moment we arrived until we sadly waved goodbye to our excellent guide Kantai at the airstrip. We were welcomed by all the staff including new manager Philip and wife Kate, who happily spent time with us, making us feel comfortable and at home. The food was exceptional, with a fabulous choice at both breakfast and lunch, and a superb menu choice and good selection of wines for the beautiful candlelit dinners, with perfect service to match. Our tent was very well equipped and had lots of little extras that made us smile, and with comfortable beds and a very welcome hot shower after long days out on safari, where we were very lucky to see all the Big 5, thanks to our guide being so thorough and professional. We felt very safe knowing that we were being totally protected by the Masi guards patrolling around the camp and it was great listening to the sound of elephants walking past our tent during the night! We loved every minute of our stay in this very special place, and can't wait to return. Our grateful thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cotswoldbandbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

I was fortunate to return again toe Govenors Camp last month.. The location of this camp is superb being situated on the Mara River and with uninterrupted views across the plains.

As I previously reported its becuase of the location that the BBC constantly return to Governors’ to film the Big Cat and other documentaries. Everything is on the doorstep.

The accommodation it is excellent, large tents, comfy beds with ensuite shower and loo and ample hot water. There is a terrace outside of your tent to sit and relax with a glass of something. The food is superb, it’s difficult to comprehend how they can prepare such meals in the middle of the bush.

Governors’ is “Simply the best”.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

This was my 2nd trip to Governor's Main Camp and Masai Mara. The tents were new, some paint spruced things up. But I thought it was all perfect last year! The service is always great, good food, and they always know where you are so they can take care of your needs. The game drivers are just the best, so knowledgeable. At every turn we had an adventure and saw different animals doing different things. The experience is so hard to describe, you must go and see for yourself. You won't regret it. We had elephants walking around our luxury tents! We also added 1 night at Giraffe Manor in Nairobi and what an experience that was. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Time of my life! Wonderful hospitality, amazing wildlife, couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Life has been unbearable since leaving. Thanks to all at Governors for a such a great few days.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lord_pearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the incredible Masai Mara!

Best wishes,

The Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
24.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#15 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
25.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Property: Governor's Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing