We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Cascade, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Excellent from beginning to end! My two grown children and daughter-in-law joined me for the vacation of a lifetime in Kenya. Rekero Camp opened its arms to us and we lost our hearts to it. We saw "the big 5",of course. The guide, Sammy, took the time and energy to explain the animals' idiosyncrasies and taught us to anticipate their behavior so by the end of three days we were becoming adept at spotting. Clea, Conway, Mariana and all of the staff welcomed us with warmth, great food (can I get the recipe for "coronation chicken"?) ,and genuine interest in our enjoyment and wellbeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
126
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a tent camp that sits on a river with luxury appointments...for a tent. The staff go out of their way to make it special. Our guide Dan, who is newer, was enthusiastic and talented. He put us on the wildlife repeatedly includes 2 different leopards. He positioned our vehicle directly in the path of the animals which afforded us with great views and camera shots.

We were in tent 8. Both tent 8 and 9 are VERY near hippos who make the loudest noises at night. Lots of luck sleeping thru that! Bring your own binoculars (good ones at least 10x50 as most lodges...even the expensive ones...don't have them for you and the guides are not as good as what you can afford.

Spend big on binocs and a camera ($500 cannon is a good choice) and you won't need much else. Don't over pack...every high end lodge does your laundry same day! That said you will likely shower 2-3 times each day...lest you smell like what you're taking pictures of!

Room Tip: buy GREAT binoculars...after all you went to SEE things
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It has been said many times that Africa will steal your heart. It sounds like a common place but it is just a simple fact. Rekero camp is a hidden treasure on Earth, a place one must try, a bucket list item for sure. I visited with my 3 children ages 3,10 and 12. It is perfectly safe and better yet the experience equals to an entire year in school! We had been received with kindness and attention, our needs catered for to the utmost extent. The tents are a dream to stay in, and the night time experience to listening to nature all around us paralleled by nothing. Our guides Martin and Risa were the best in the Universe. We were sad and in tears when we had to leave, and started planning our return within minutes... The Excellent five start rating does not really do justice to how great this place really is.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate a minute. Book this place to have the experience of your life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hasznos-Munro-groupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Rekero for three nights in March and boy was I blown away. Unlike some of the other camps I stayed it, Rekero is a true bush camp with tents sandwiched by thick riverine forest thickets. The most special feature to me were the nightly visits by elephants and the snorting of hippo. During one night the elephants were feeding off the trees just next door to my bathroom with a single trumpet and a strewn branch lying on the path leading to the mess area as proof the next morning. Excellent personal service and great ambiance!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fransjevriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is one of the best camps in East Africa. We spent three nights here in February and it was an absolutely wonderful experience. The location, tents,food, safari, and people all first class. The young couple running this place have got it all right. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at this camp for 5 days while part of a "Muench Workshops" photography workshop. Of the 3 places we stayed this was my favorite. The staff was amazing, the food fresh and SO GOOD. The tents paradise - each very private and overlooking the Mara river. After dark a Maasai will guide you to and from your tent with a spear in one hand and a flashlight in the other. Our clothes were washed and returned daily and tea was always served at 4:00pm. They were very good at waking us up at the requested time for morning shoots with tea or coffee delivered to our tent. The drivers were all "silver" in their vast training and education. Gold is next and the highest degree. They even know the Latin names of every bird and animal you will see. I can't imagine better accommodations for an authentic upper scale safari.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband, two children and I have just returned from a magical 3 day safari in the Masai Mara. We stayed at Rekero Camp and we cannot recommend this place enough. We have travelled extensively in luxury hotels but this was a unique experience for us. We arrived and were greeted by the Rekero team, headed by the charming couple Clea and Conway as well as Mariana. Our tents were beautifully appointed, with taste and comfort at the front of the agenda. The food was wonderful and the team went out of their way to accommodate my 11 and 8 year olds limited culinary curiosity... We spent three days out with our guide Daniel, who was simply amazing. He showed us some fantastic wildlife and was very skilled at finding a variety of animals. If you want a memorable safari where amazing wildlife sightings, great comfort and fantastic food all come together, along with a lovely family feel, then this is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camille j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
15.5 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#15 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
9.3 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#29 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: C14, Keekorok (Talek River), Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep within Kenya's Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rekero offers a spectacular location from which to watch the Great Migration as the wildebeest thunder across the river just outside camp. This traditional East African camp evokes the romance of safaris from a bygone era. The elegant tents form a tranquil oasis perched stategically above the mighty Talek River. The sweeping views from camp take in the surrounding plains, which support some of the greatest concentrations and diversity of wildlife in Africa. The cherry on top is the warm hospitality of our team and our world-renowned game-viewing guides with years of expertise - in such good hands you are ensured an incomparable Maasai Mara safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing