We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bush camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wonderful bush camp”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Rekero for three nights in March and boy was I blown away. Unlike some of the other camps I stayed it, Rekero is a true bush camp with tents sandwiched by thick riverine forest thickets. The most special feature to me were the nightly visits by elephants and the snorting of hippo. During one night the elephants were feeding off the trees just next door to my bathroom with a single trumpet and a strewn branch lying on the path leading to the mess area as proof the next morning. Excellent personal service and great ambiance!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fransjevriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
141
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is one of the best camps in East Africa. We spent three nights here in February and it was an absolutely wonderful experience. The location, tents,food, safari, and people all first class. The young couple running this place have got it all right. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at this camp for 5 days while part of a "Muench Workshops" photography workshop. Of the 3 places we stayed this was my favorite. The staff was amazing, the food fresh and SO GOOD. The tents paradise - each very private and overlooking the Mara river. After dark a Maasai will guide you to and from your tent with a spear in one hand and a flashlight in the other. Our clothes were washed and returned daily and tea was always served at 4:00pm. They were very good at waking us up at the requested time for morning shoots with tea or coffee delivered to our tent. The drivers were all "silver" in their vast training and education. Gold is next and the highest degree. They even know the Latin names of every bird and animal you will see. I can't imagine better accommodations for an authentic upper scale safari.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband, two children and I have just returned from a magical 3 day safari in the Masai Mara. We stayed at Rekero Camp and we cannot recommend this place enough. We have travelled extensively in luxury hotels but this was a unique experience for us. We arrived and were greeted by the Rekero team, headed by the charming couple Clea and Conway as well as Mariana. Our tents were beautifully appointed, with taste and comfort at the front of the agenda. The food was wonderful and the team went out of their way to accommodate my 11 and 8 year olds limited culinary curiosity... We spent three days out with our guide Daniel, who was simply amazing. He showed us some fantastic wildlife and was very skilled at finding a variety of animals. If you want a memorable safari where amazing wildlife sightings, great comfort and fantastic food all come together, along with a lovely family feel, then this is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camille j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently stayed at Rekero camp with my client and we really enjoyed our stay. this was our 2nd stay stay in less than a year, and we are coming back again soon. We really like the location. It gave us opportunity to take stunning photographs of lions, leopard and cheetahs among other animals. the staff are very friendly and helpful. The host, ensured everything went well with our stay, and surely it was made a whole difference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulONsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schliengen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited Rekero for the second time in January2013 after a 3 year gap and found it as good as we remembered it.
The hosts are delightful (Mariana and also Dudu who we remembered from last time and who was filling in for the holidaying Resident Managers). All the staff were attentive and helpful and the guiding was very professional and friendly.
The camp has a perfect situation on the river bank with enough shade to make it pleasant on hot days. The tents have wonderful views and are comfortable and well equipped. Food was very good and varied also the bush breakfasts.
We saw several lion prides, some with small cubs, cheetah one of which sat on our vehicle roof for 15-20 minutes, with her son, scanning the area for prey, leopard and of course elephant, warthogs, mongoose, bat-eared fox, in fact everything we could have wished for.
I should mention that we are 71 and 80 and can only recommend Rekero for a delightful and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our family have been guests at Rekero on many occasions over the years. Susy and I have been coming here for many years and brought our entire family in 2005 and 2009 because we reckoned that the only way to experience the Mara was to be based here with the best guides.

Our most recent visit was just the two of us in September 2012 when we were hosted by Clea and Con. Never met them before but they were fantastic.

The joint owners Gerard and Rainee were also in camp and they were the perfect hosts. We have known them for years and they are wonderful people who epitomise what their camps are all about. Incidentally Rainee is also a brilliant artist and her paintings are supremely realistic

Their Senior Guide Dickson came over from their sister camp Naibosho ( you really must go there -- we did and it was fantastic ) and guided us for our stay before we went on to Naibosho.

Rekero and it's environs are stunning and never let you down. We have been to over 120 camps over 12 years and reckon this is in our top 5 in Africa and No 1 in Kenya

Please don't take my word for it just check it out yourself and for independant advice try our travel agents Aardvark Safaris UK who we have used for many years

Just to let you know -- we dont work for them -- have no financial interest -- its just that
they have been amazing with advice and booking over the last 12 years

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
15.5 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
902 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
923 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#29 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: C14, Keekorok (Talek River), Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep within Kenya's Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rekero offers a spectacular location from which to watch the Great Migration as the wildebeest thunder across the river just outside camp. This traditional East African camp evokes the romance of safaris from a bygone era. The elegant tents form a tranquil oasis perched stategically above the mighty Talek River. The sweeping views from camp take in the surrounding plains, which support some of the greatest concentrations and diversity of wildlife in Africa. The cherry on top is the warm hospitality of our team and our world-renowned game-viewing guides with years of expertise - in such good hands you are ensured an incomparable Maasai Mara safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing