We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best camp - wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at Rekero for only 2 nights while the migration was not around. We were overwhelmed by the diversity of animals and wildlife even without the migration being in the area. In only 2 gamedrives we saw plenty of cheetah, lion, buffalo, giraffe, hippos, zebras, hyena, etc etc. We stayed in the 8th tent right at the river and had a concert of hippos at night and even a hippo grazing next to the tent! Rekero camp has a fantastic atmosphere and makes you feel welcome and at home. The staff, guides and management (Clea and Conway) are amazing and the food excellent! We will never forget this stay at Rekero Camp and will hopefully come back!

Room Tip: All tents have a view on the Talek River
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maren-Maus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 352 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Rekero 4 times - longer each time. The Masai Mara is the best and Rekero is the best place to stay. Great location, great staff, great game drives. We are hoping to make a 5th trip in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We spent an excellent few days with Gerard, Jackson and the team in September. The camp is in a great location, we saw a wildebeest crossing during the migration from the comfort of our armchairs under a tree in camp just before lunch. Food is delicious and varied, staff very attentive and the trackers very knowledgeable. The tents are comfortable, the bush showers hot and the only reason you won't sleep through the night is when you get woken by visiting hippos, buffalo or other wildelife. Sleep with the sides down if it's warm enough (they do provide hot waterbottles in the bed which was a nice touch), its amazing to wake up in the night and see the silhouette of a hippo right on the edge of your tent awning

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sll63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We loved Rekero, how could you not. It is perfection, location, food, staff, tent (not camping, glamping!!). Our guide Dickson was professional friendly and so knowledgeable, he was great with our children. We visited a Maasi village with him (about an hour away) which a was chance to look at 'real Kenya' for all of us, but especially interesting for our children. Noone made a fuss of us or took much notice of our family except the village kids, so we didn't feel too much it was a 'show'. Dickson spent a lot of time talking about his background and how familes live, showed us inside a village house, talked about marriage, schooling, diets, health etc, we really felt we had a fascinating little window into another and rapidly disappearing world. I have to say also we had to ask to do this trip, noone from Rekero tried to sell this visit to us. The owners of this camp work hard to create a relaxed ambiance - but I would have felt disappointed not to have met the core members of the staff, such key people, they make Rekero what it is, please don't move on. It is very luxurious and the only downside is that this was somewhat wasted on our 11 and12 year old, the long table at dinner and the quite fancy meals, before we had been at Sosian, which by it's nature they had more freedom to run about in their garden, swim in rivers and a gorgeous pool, meals there were more informal (bush dinners BBQ's etc). Rekero is unfenced and in the middle of an area teeming with animals, so clearly they cannot play football or run about,naturally be be epxected (though Dickson kindly showed them how to use his lethal bow and arrow!). Of course they loved the amazing wildlife and this is why we came/ I'll never forget the wildebeest crossing - that was a lifetime highlight - or being so close to lions leopards and cheetahs, seeing my sons eyes pop out of his head when we had elephants walk right by our car when parked alone in a quiet corner. However, dare I say it, it was a bit too easy (well with a good guide it is!), the animals take little notice of cars or people, even when surrounded, and you can share your animal with 5 other car loads. Even though we expected this it was a tiny bit annoying! But is was a minute niggle on an other wise wonderful wonderful experience. I woud recommend Rekero to almost anyone and our kids did absolutely enjoy it, they were always happy, but is my observation that I think they enjoyed Sosian MORE, BUT WE LOVED IT ALL.

WE travelled with Aardvark and they were BRILL - thanks Francis for your patience with my thousands of questions adn deleivering such a great holiday. (see Peponi).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocofamilyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Wow..... what a great 3 nights with Jonathon, Dudu, Jackson, Dickson and the team at Rekero. We had the lot. Lions mating on our arrival, cheetah brothers, a leopard with her cubs, the beginning of the Wildebeast migration, great food and wild life everywhere including all around and in our tent! We could hear hippos, lions and hyena at night prowling around the bush - this is after all an unfenced camp. But you never feel uneasy, there are guards and watchmen everywhere. Service and food is excellent and there are plenty of laughs and stories to be told and heard each night. Plus lunch was great, morning tea and cookies most welcome and 'sun downers' out on the Mara wonderfully luxurious. Go, enjoy, spend without a thought and put this down as one BIG fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YokohamaGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We had heard so much about Rekero over the years from our Travel Agents -- Aardvark Safaris , but had never managed to sort our holidays out early enough to get a booking until last year

We started coming to Africa on a repeat basis in 2001 and when we got to stay at Rekero in 2008 it was a revalation!!!. The position is superb as is the guiding and whole experience. Believe me it takes a lot to impress us having stayed in over 60 different lodges -- but Rekero is very very special.

So special that when it came time to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary we decided not to have a party -- instead we brought our family to Rekero and they are now completely hooked. As my son in law said -- "David over the years you have talked so much about Africa -- Now I get it".

Gerard and Rainee were superb hosts, Jackson, James and Dickson were absolutely magnificent guides and the whole experience was amazing.

The game around camp is plentiful, varied and interesting. We have seen the Big 5 in a day -- admittedly very fortunate to come across the elusive Rhino. Shared lunch with Elephants and Wilderbeest crossing, had Hippo and Leopard snuffling around the tent at night ( quite safe ) all combined with superb meals , good wines and tales around the camp fire.

We're going back in September and as a rule we don't usually go back to the same place, but Rekero is different.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank davidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Our stay at Rekero was wonderful. We stayed for 5 nights and on every drive we saw lions, cheetahs, hippos, giraffe, elephants and a leopard and serval cat one day, we also saw a lion and cheetah kill and zebra & wildebeest crossings.
Our guide was great company, with a good sense of humour, was extremely knowledgeable and and he made sure we saw as much game as possible, every day. The the camp is tented and unfenced - very exciting to hear the animals at night! Great hospitality, good food and more animals than we ever imagined we would see made this an unforgettable holiday and we will definitley go back..

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanmadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,049 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
196 reviews
15.5 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
939 reviews
17.0 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $1,037 - $2,049 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep within Kenya's Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rekero offers a spectacular location from which to watch the Great Migration as the wildebeest thunder across the river just outside camp. This traditional East African camp evokes the romance of safaris from a bygone era. The elegant tents form a tranquil oasis perched stategically above the mighty Talek River. The sweeping views from camp take in the surrounding plains, which support some of the greatest concentrations and diversity of wildlife in Africa. The cherry on top is the warm hospitality of our team and our world-renowned game-viewing guides with years of expertise - in such good hands you are ensured an incomparable Maasai Mara safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing