We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Excellent Service and Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed two great nights at the Club and had a time of our Lives ! The Satff are very friendly and willing to go that extra mile for your satisfaction.The food devine ! The Tents were great and in good shape.The Hippos provided ample entertainment ! Great place to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupid16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Mara Safari Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 545 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

I am sitting at the internet of this fablous 'tent camp' located in the northern area of the masai mara. We have stayed at exclusively at Serena and Sarova lodges/camps during our 2 week Kenya safari and are ending up our last 2 nights here at the Farimont Masa Safari Camp. The setting (on the Mara river with Hippo's moivng all around), the food - exceptional - , and the 'tent' (our 3rd tent camp of 7 total facilities) just the best (llarge private deck looks out on river/hippo's).
Perhaps there are more 'exclusive' (smaller) camps, but this is certainly exceptional.
Booked everything through Kenya Southern Cross Safari's exclusive- and we highly recommend - our trip has been absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horns72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Having been out to Diani coast 29 times since 1996 we have travelled by the small plane from Ukunda Airstrip to The Mara Safari Club - now Mara Fairmount Club which is about half an hour from our second home Southern Palms on the Diani Coast.
We first started going out in 1996 and have been going 14 times in September for the week.
We know the staff so well and are personally treated. Munene runs a great ship or rather camp!!! (he has been the GM after Hassan Abdi) . A lot of the 'old staff'' are still there, Nancy, Wilberforce, Leyla , and of course 'our brother' Jeremiah.,and others , therefore it is great to meet up with them and catch up on news.
We have a lovely premium tent right on the banks of the river overlooking the hippo sand bank and lovely to sit on the decking with a cool soda from the mini bar.
This tent is well equipped with mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bathrobes, slippers. towels changed three times a day , lovely big shower, flush toilet and wash basin with plenty room for toilietries. Also a huge chest, wardrobe and dresssing table - plenty of lights and plugs in the tent.
The dining area is right at the pool and we are priviledged to have a reserved table for lunch right at the river and a table at the window for dinner.
Love the log fire to sit at after dinner with the resident cat on my knee.
There is a naturalist giving slide shows and interesting news and Masai dancers.
We love the bush dinners - beautifully set up with bar, tables withdamask cloths and wonderful food. Even erect a toilet for the guests.
My favourite which we save until the last day is the bush breakfast after the early morning drive right by the river side tables all set out with damask cloths and everything you could ask for at breakfast..
Our room steward keeps the tent spotless and turns doewn the beds at night and gives me 4 hot water bottles as I find it cold at night.
As we are near to the main gate we just ask the security guard to telephone the reception if we wish anything brough to the tent.
Love the wake up early calls and the home made cookies which the chef gave me the recipe for andd the lovely hot chocolate or choice of tea and coffee.
Always get our same driver and he is excellent and have grown to know him so well we are part of his family.
We tend to have an early breakfast and set off with a picnic lunch at 8 am and meandre down to the crossing passing many animals on the way.
Eyesight of our driver is terrific and he always gets his van in the right spot for the animals.
He has just received a brand new 4 wheel drive so excited to go in that.
He looks after us so well and always have enough water and sodas in the cool box as very hot during the day.
We have not come back from a trip without seeing a crossing or two .
We went up in the hot air balloon for a special birthday and was amazing and got the basket for the two of us plus the pilot and actually sawa lot fromthe air - cheetah family - elephant- giraffe - zebra - impala and a lovely breakfast waiting on us when we touched down.
Also like the camp shop - a lot of interesting books and have bought numerous jumpers from there with thelogo on them for myself and my husband.
What a lovely surorise they give us - we think it is some ones birthday but the processionn heads for us and the restaurant manager gives a speech to thank us for our loyalty to the club and given a lovely cake.
This is our favourite camp - we have stayed in others but we always come back to our 'third' home' Asante sana to you all and meet again soon!!!!
Special thanks to Ferdinand of Beach Air tours and Safaris for the arrangements and to Munene and the rest of the staff for all their friendship and personal touches. Slante!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malaikascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

You must go here before you die! This was my best trip ever. Everyone needs to visit the Masai Mara. You get up close and personal with the animals. The guides are excellent and well informed. The hotel is perfect. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shashagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying here in April, for 2 nights. The property is divine, all the way around. Gorgeous grounds, wonderful staff and superb food. As my friend and I were preparing for dinner on the second night, we had no idea that the staff was quietly bringing everything to our deck for dining in private. What a surprise, when we opened the tent! Everything was there, and everything was perfect.
I cannot recommend this property more. It is on the east side of the Mara, which is very different from the western entrance, but no matter. The scenery was something to behold, and we were fortunate enough to see many animals - all but the white Rhino.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed here for the second time and loved it just as much as the first time we visited.
The tents really add to the experience, they are four-poster with ensuite. We found them very clean and very comfortable.
Each tent has it's on viewing deck looking down at the River, where you will see the hippo's below, be warned - they make some very strange noises!! The camp is fenced though so no risk of wildlife venturing into the camp.
Even if you come as part of white-minibus tour, you'll probably fly into the airstrip which is very close and the camp uses its own 4x4's for game drives and offer 3 game drives per day....our driver offered us to have breakfast in the bush which was amazing and of course greatly extended the game drive....you just need to ask
The food was very nice although not as up market as our previous visit where they had a top chef serving a 5 course meal, this time round it was a buffet service.
The only downfall for some is the location, its not the best place to see the migration for example and you do see the Masai herding their cattle over the river near the bank but that didn't put us off, on both occasions we saw pretty much everything, including a very brief sight of a leopard.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste_Raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

the tents were absolutely beautiful and the service excellent---food was good too. I would have given it 5 stars but the location ruined it. It is not inside the Mara reserve so you have to drive really far in your bumpy jeep to get there---waste of time and not good on your butt!
we had a 2 hour hell ride from our balloon company at 4:00am in the dark over boulders most of the way---we actually were bumped out of our seats several times---not for the faint hearted. the wildebeest migration was great once we got there and so was the balloon ride but it's now 2 years later and we still have awful memories of that ride. stay in the mara reserve--not at this hotel---PS--my 15 year old was freaked out at night by the hippos noises--my daughters had their own tent but we had to switch so neither of them was alone---might be scary for young kids (and nervous teens!)

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shac1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
37.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,051 reviews
24.9 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
235 reviews
30.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
116 reviews
30.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,047 reviews
18.1 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mara Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Address: C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $387 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Mara Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fairmont Mara Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fairmont Mara Safari Hotel
Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Masai Mara National Reserve
Masai Mara National Reserve Fairmont
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing