We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveler rating
595
97
13
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
595
97
13
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hippo corner the river game drives room attendant wake up call our waiter luxury tents the main lodge beautiful property game driver elusive leopard wonderful experience hippos and crocs outdoor shower our tour guide a hot water bottle each morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 717 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Management and staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful. Vincent more than accommodated our menu interests. Our driver, a local Masai, was extremely knowledgable of animals and local terrain. The tent and beds were very comfortable. The weeklong experience exceeded the expectations of wife, myself and two small daughters. Even the swimming pool was a small but nice add-on. Plane connectons were also convenient. Had it not been exceptionally dry in late September, we would have seen even more animals in the area.

The only drawback was Fairmont central reservations in Europe and Nairobi which did not recognize my 20% discount guaranteed in advance.

Otherwise, the Fairmont Masai Mara is a must stay location for the Masai Mara.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familymanRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We were awed by the simplistic beauty of the tents that we stayed in. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was pretty amazing. The sounds of the gruting hippos and overexcited birds eventually made my boyfriend crazy but didn't mind. The waitstaff and barstaff were so friendly! The management were not nearly as friendly and when we were questioning the incredibly high bill for our stay they were not very accomodating. The game drives, fees, taxes etc truly add up so just be careful - the room rate may look amazing but you're a lot of things are getting tacked on the bill behind the scenese. Also, I wouldn't stay there too long. As wonderful as the Masai is, it's exhausting waking up at 5:45 every morning in an open, bumpy, jeep constantly covered in dirt with only a crappy bagged lunch. We were SO thankful we planned a few days at the beach afterwards.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The Fairmont has beautiful tents overlooking a river with hippos which is great. The lodge is kitsch safari. However the service is great and the food is excellent. The big issue with this hotel is the terrible location. You are nowhere near the migration or the park - it takes at least an hour on terrible roads to get there. This stops you from seeing any exciting animal behaviour as we had to leave by 5:30 (right when everything gets going in the evenings) to get back to the hotel on time. Also, because it is outside the park you pay conservancy fees PLUS park fees when you want to go inside the park. The conservancies are not as nice as the park, less animals and too much civilization.

So if you want to hand around your tent overlooking the river and relax, then go to the Fairmont; if you want a real safari experience then stay inside the park.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Vandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We are going to have the most amazing memories of our honeymoon having spent 3 nights in the Fairmont Mara Safari Club at the beginning of our holiday.

The "tents" are gorgeously decorated and have THE most comfortable beds! The only thing I would say is that there isn't much privacy for the loo!! But I guess there's more privacy than if you were actually camping!

The food is good with quite a choice for being in the middle of nowhere.

The service is impeccable! Amazingly friendly and everyone seems to know your name! I especially liked being woken up with a nice hot drink and the hot water bottles tucked into your bed at nighttime.

It was really nice to have the pool area to lounge around in the middle of the day when there's not much else to do.

The location is great. The camp is perched over a little river inhabited with crocs and hippos. Although the camp isn't right in the park it actually has its benefits. We spent one day in the park (a full day's drive) which was AMAZING and there were hoards of other trucks which all crowded around something when there was something to see. It felt alot more relaxed and authentic in the area surrounding the Fairmont and we saw lions ripping into wildebeest, leopards, giraffes, zebras, rhinos, hippos, baboons, crocs etc etc without hundreds of other jeeps getting into our pictures - altogether much more scenic and relaxing.

Our driver was called John - a very knowledgeable man who found us the most amazing sights.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this luxury camp.

Date of stay: September 2009
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed at Mara Safari Club for two nights and to be honest could have stayed there the whole week. Everything about the place from the location to the tent to the staff was amazing.

Each tent is amazing and faces the mara river which contains hippos and crocs. The hippos grunting in the night was all part of the experience. The tent attendant comes every afternoon to turn down your bed, pull down the canvas shutters and put hot water bottles in your bed. Although it wasn't cold, they were very welcoming.

Between tent 12 and 13 is a 'Hippo hide'. This is positioned at the highest point of the river which is where the hippos lounge during the day. There is a bench there to sit and watch the hippo's and to be honest I could have sat there for hours. What a great idea!

Our driver was Ashford and he was great. The camp is not in the actual Mara game reserve but in a conservancy area. To be honest this didn't really matter as we saw just as much on the game drives in the conservancy as we did in the actual reserve. We weren't due to go to the actual reserve as all the organised game drives are in the Conservancy area. However we spoke to the receptionist (nice lady with braided hair) and explained to her that we would like to go to the reserve and we didn't mind the drive or the fact we would miss lunch and we were willing to pay extra. However she was so hopeful and said that as long as our driver Ashford was ok it was fine. No extra charge and she would organise Packed lunches. We were so glad we did as we saw the migration and the animals crossing the river in amongst the crocs. Amazing.

We were lucky to go up for our balloon ride. Apparently the balloon hadn't flown for 17 days due to the wind but we were lucky! We went up and it was amazing......so smooth! If I had my eyes shut I wouldn't have known I was in the air (I didn't have them shut obviously!).

The food was really good and the staff were so friendly. All took time to ask you how your safari was and to have a chat.

Overall had a great two days here and wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely recommend and would love to return one day.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews