We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mara + Fairmont Mara Safari Club = Unreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2010

The scenery you see in the Mara is like you are watching a National Geographic high-def program --but it's real--and you're part of the show! Coupled with the luxury rooms and service at the Mara Safari Club, this trip was one of the highlights of my travel experiences! Going during Migration Season was a treat. After a two hour wait in the hot sun, we saw hundreds of tentative zebra and wildebeest storm the river. It was magical. The crocs weren't on their game; there was only one casualty. We saw many animals and most of the Big 5 except for a leopard.

Arrival:
We left wilson airport and arrived via small plane (actually series of planes) onto a basic the dirt airstrip a five-min drive from the resort. "Jambo" excitedly proclaimed the security guard as we were whisked through the front gate in our rugged land cruiser. As you walk up the entrance into the main lodge, you're offered a cool, scented towel and freshly squeezed mango juice. Even though we get there around 11am, check-in is quick and painless.

Location:
Located along the meandering mara river, the property is picturesque. You feel safe at all times. When Fairmont acquired the property (along with the Norfolk and Mt Kenya Resort) three years ago, they undertook a major renovation. The property, lodge and rooms are exquisitely appointed with tasteful, authentic decorations.

Staff/Service:
The staff at this resort are the most genuine, thoughtful and kind individuals I've ever encountered at a hotel. Within hours, most of the staff knew our names. The staff at this property have now become my benchmark. Many have been with company long before it was a Fairmont and seem genuinely happy in their roles. Upon asking the staff about their situations, they mentioned that Fairmont was one of the best employers in the region...who knows...

Food:
Oh the soups; I LOVED the soups at lunch and dinner. You'll know what I mean when you go. All meals have great selection and offer tastes for every preference. With no alarm clocks in the rooms, each morning the hot chocolate/coffee wake-up just added to the whole authenticity of the experience.

Rooms:
Who wouldn't want to stay in a luxury tent? The rooms were comfortable with a rustic-elegance feel. They were the kind of rooms that made you want to curl up and read a book when you weren't on a game drive or eating....We took the 4pm flight back to Nairobi. After our 11am check-out, the hotel staff was nice enough to give us an older room to change and freshen-up in prior to departing the resort (since the resort's new rooms were at full capacity).

Tips:
- keep your tent zippers closed at all times, i came within milliseconds of sharing my tent with a baboon
- bring earplugs --the hippos are amazing to look at but can be loud at night. actually, while falling asleep we giggled at the noises that came out of their mouths and noses.
- bring warm clothes--it can be chilly for the morning or afternoon (when the sun goes down) game drives
- bring a good camera, we only brought a point-and-shoot sony digital and i'm wishing we could rewind and go back with a better camera
- become a fairmont president club member--you get free wireless
- you MUST go on an all-day game drive, that was the highlight for us in terms of seeing more territory and animals.
- not sure if they do this for everyone, or just people who stay 4-nights or more, but the entire staff brings you a cake and sings you a song the night before you leave. it's a nice touch and I can still hum the tune.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tripstyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 570 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2009

Management and staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful. Vincent more than accommodated our menu interests. Our driver, a local Masai, was extremely knowledgable of animals and local terrain. The tent and beds were very comfortable. The weeklong experience exceeded the expectations of wife, myself and two small daughters. Even the swimming pool was a small but nice add-on. Plane connectons were also convenient. Had it not been exceptionally dry in late September, we would have seen even more animals in the area.

The only drawback was Fairmont central reservations in Europe and Nairobi which did not recognize my 20% discount guaranteed in advance.

Otherwise, the Fairmont Masai Mara is a must stay location for the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familymanRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We were awed by the simplistic beauty of the tents that we stayed in. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was pretty amazing. The sounds of the gruting hippos and overexcited birds eventually made my boyfriend crazy but didn't mind. The waitstaff and barstaff were so friendly! The management were not nearly as friendly and when we were questioning the incredibly high bill for our stay they were not very accomodating. The game drives, fees, taxes etc truly add up so just be careful - the room rate may look amazing but you're a lot of things are getting tacked on the bill behind the scenese. Also, I wouldn't stay there too long. As wonderful as the Masai is, it's exhausting waking up at 5:45 every morning in an open, bumpy, jeep constantly covered in dirt with only a crappy bagged lunch. We were SO thankful we planned a few days at the beach afterwards.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The Fairmont has beautiful tents overlooking a river with hippos which is great. The lodge is kitsch safari. However the service is great and the food is excellent. The big issue with this hotel is the terrible location. You are nowhere near the migration or the park - it takes at least an hour on terrible roads to get there. This stops you from seeing any exciting animal behaviour as we had to leave by 5:30 (right when everything gets going in the evenings) to get back to the hotel on time. Also, because it is outside the park you pay conservancy fees PLUS park fees when you want to go inside the park. The conservancies are not as nice as the park, less animals and too much civilization.

So if you want to hand around your tent overlooking the river and relax, then go to the Fairmont; if you want a real safari experience then stay inside the park.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We are going to have the most amazing memories of our honeymoon having spent 3 nights in the Fairmont Mara Safari Club at the beginning of our holiday.

The "tents" are gorgeously decorated and have THE most comfortable beds! The only thing I would say is that there isn't much privacy for the loo!! But I guess there's more privacy than if you were actually camping!

The food is good with quite a choice for being in the middle of nowhere.

The service is impeccable! Amazingly friendly and everyone seems to know your name! I especially liked being woken up with a nice hot drink and the hot water bottles tucked into your bed at nighttime.

It was really nice to have the pool area to lounge around in the middle of the day when there's not much else to do.

The location is great. The camp is perched over a little river inhabited with crocs and hippos. Although the camp isn't right in the park it actually has its benefits. We spent one day in the park (a full day's drive) which was AMAZING and there were hoards of other trucks which all crowded around something when there was something to see. It felt alot more relaxed and authentic in the area surrounding the Fairmont and we saw lions ripping into wildebeest, leopards, giraffes, zebras, rhinos, hippos, baboons, crocs etc etc without hundreds of other jeeps getting into our pictures - altogether much more scenic and relaxing.

Our driver was called John - a very knowledgeable man who found us the most amazing sights.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this luxury camp.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed at Mara Safari Club for two nights and to be honest could have stayed there the whole week. Everything about the place from the location to the tent to the staff was amazing.

Each tent is amazing and faces the mara river which contains hippos and crocs. The hippos grunting in the night was all part of the experience. The tent attendant comes every afternoon to turn down your bed, pull down the canvas shutters and put hot water bottles in your bed. Although it wasn't cold, they were very welcoming.

Between tent 12 and 13 is a 'Hippo hide'. This is positioned at the highest point of the river which is where the hippos lounge during the day. There is a bench there to sit and watch the hippo's and to be honest I could have sat there for hours. What a great idea!

Our driver was Ashford and he was great. The camp is not in the actual Mara game reserve but in a conservancy area. To be honest this didn't really matter as we saw just as much on the game drives in the conservancy as we did in the actual reserve. We weren't due to go to the actual reserve as all the organised game drives are in the Conservancy area. However we spoke to the receptionist (nice lady with braided hair) and explained to her that we would like to go to the reserve and we didn't mind the drive or the fact we would miss lunch and we were willing to pay extra. However she was so hopeful and said that as long as our driver Ashford was ok it was fine. No extra charge and she would organise Packed lunches. We were so glad we did as we saw the migration and the animals crossing the river in amongst the crocs. Amazing.

We were lucky to go up for our balloon ride. Apparently the balloon hadn't flown for 17 days due to the wind but we were lucky! We went up and it was amazing......so smooth! If I had my eyes shut I wouldn't have known I was in the air (I didn't have them shut obviously!).

The food was really good and the staff were so friendly. All took time to ask you how your safari was and to have a chat.

Overall had a great two days here and wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely recommend and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I just returned from my two week honeymoon in Kenya. Of the two weeks there the two nights and three days we spent at the Mara Safari Club were by far the highlight of the trip. The tent was amazing and staff were outstanding. Wilson was an amaizing safari guide and Festus, our waiter was great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwa612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
37.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,087 reviews
24.9 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
28.8 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
201 reviews
30.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
18 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mara Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Address: C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $363 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Mara Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Fairmont Mara Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fairmont Mara Safari Hotel
Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Masai Mara National Reserve
Masai Mara National Reserve Fairmont
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing