We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My stay at Mara in September was truly a dream-come-true! I never thought I'd say I spent a week in a tent, but once you unzipped your door, you were in a luxurious Fairmont hotelroom. The food was terrific (amazing daily soups!) and the incredible staff bent over backwards to make sure you had everything you wanted/needed/imagined! But of course, the star of the show was the Mara itself! Twice-daily game drives with Anthony were unbelievable! He was able to seek out and find more animals than I thought possible and had us so close we hardly had to use a zoom lens at all! His facts and stories about all of the animals were fascinating and showed a love of his country that was completely contagious. My wonderful week was over all too quickly and I would go back again in the blink of an eye!

Room Tip: All rooms have a river view, but those on the bends of the river have more hippos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Darlene,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are glad that we turned your moments to great memories; enjoying a trip of a life time at our Resort. Our luxurious tents with great views of the Mara River, the amazing food, incredible staff and the great game viewing experinces all made your stay with us such a wondeful experience.

Thank you very much for the great feedback which we shall definately share with all our colleagues especially Anthony who exceeded your expectations.

We welcome you back to our Resort the next time you visit the Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 590 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at the Mara Safari Lodge in December for two nights at the beginning of our 12 safari. The tents were more than adequate with everything you need from robes, hair dryers, and large comfortable beds. The rooms face the river which is full of hippos and crocs lounging together on the banks of the river. The service was great and the food was very good with a large variety for all types of eaters including vegetarians.
There is a very nice pool and outdoor eating area to enjoy your afternoons in the beautiful Mara reserve.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valleytraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are glad that you had an awesome stay experience with us enjoying especially our great tents with spectacular view of the Mara River, the personalized and engaging services offered by our staff, the good food with great menu options as well as our nice swimming pool.

Thank you for the great feedback and we welcome you back to our Resort next time you visit the Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Mara Safari club in October '13 for 6 days and it was a great experience. The camp itself is elegant yet comfortable, the staff were friendly, helpful and well informed, our tent was luxurious yet homely and who can forget going to sleep with the roar of the wild right outside your tent flap, and to have your personalized wake-up call with coffee brought to your tent in the mornings is something different. Each guest/guest pair is assigned a member of staff to look after them wether it's for your game drives or restaurant service, it's a subtle touch that makes you feel unique. Our game ranger was Wilson and he was fantastic during the game drives. Food wise I was disappointed, the a la carte menu was delicious, but at certain times were a buffet service which I thought lacked the high standard of a Fairmont establishment. Also do remember that you pay for most things e.g drinks on a bush BBQ although you've already paid a hefty amount for the the BBQ itself, and once again, the standard of food was very poor compared to what you've paid for. All in all, it was a great holiday with all the splendid things masking tiny complaints.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Cornelis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are glad that you had an unforgettable stay experience with us enjoying among others; our elegant camp with well appointed tents offering great views of the croc/hippo infested Mara River, our friendly, helpful and well informed staff offering personalized and engaging guest services as well as the great game viewing experinces.

We highly appreciate your feedback on our buffet menu options and we shall review the menu items to consistently provide enriching culinary experiences to all our guests.

Thank you very much for your great feedback and we welcome you back to our Resort the next time you visit the Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I'am a specialist safari tour director and had suggested Fairmont Mara Safari Club to my guest for their stay in Mara. Wonderful and exclusive place to stay, we had tents on the far end of the bend on the river where we had hippos chatting with us through the nights. Guests with strict dietary preferences had a great time and enjoyed the warm hospitality. Cool fresh towels were for ever available and fire place in the hall across the bar was a boon in disguise, post dinner. Communication center was of great help to us for last minute changes in the itinerary as the guests planned to travel by road instead of flying to Nairobi on account of a plane crash the previous evening. Amazing stay.

Room Tip: I was on single occupancy and love wildlife. Selected the last one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaSafariIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are glad that you had an amazing experience at our Resort enjoying especially our well appointed tents with great view of the Mara River, our personalised and engaging guest services as well as the great game viewing experience.

Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to welcome and to provide you and your guests wonderful experiences anytime they visit the Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

From the moment your plane touches down at the Ngerende Airstrip the amazing service begins.

We were greeted by a hotel representative, our bags were taken and we were escorted to a little bar off on the grass where cool towels and tasty drinks were on offer. We then met our driver and guide for the next 3 days, Joseph, who brought us to the hotel, stopping off to show us some hippos first!

Upon arrival, we were brought to our tent, #19. WOW! Just beautiful. Right on the river with a heard of hippos swimming, basking in the sun and "talking" to each other. Magical! The tent was super comfy with a nice bed, hot shower with fantastic water pressure. Within our first hour we saw monkeys running across our fence and loads of beautiful birds.

Our safari drives with Joseph were incredible. When you book you HAVE to request Joseph! What a great guy! Incredible knowledgable and funny. We were usually the first car to leave and the last to arrive back on our drives. We did see the big five and everything else you could imagine, including a hyena kill.

Meals were very good. Our dedicated server, Rasheed was fantastic and taught us some new Swahili words during our meals. Lots of fun! Ruth, the restaurant hostess, is such a sweetheart and very welcoming.

There is only one little thing I would advise travelers to avoid. There is a rather large tourist shop on the Mara near the hotel. We asked Joseph to bring us there and he did. I would avoid the place. Insanely overpriced. A kids toy that cost 3 USD every where else he was selling for 20 USD! A similar mask we saw for 150 he was selling for 700. If this is your only option, it may be worth bargaining down, but otherwise, wait. Much better deals to be had anywhere else in Kenya.

A truly perfect experience. We hope to be back!!

Room Tip: #19 is directly in front of where the hippos spend their days. If you don't mind all their crazy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianeDowntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Diane,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are so glad that you had a truely perfect experience while staying at our Resort, enjoying especially the warm welcome upon landing, our super comfy tents with great views of the Mara River, the first class tent ammenities- nice beds and fantastic rain forest shower , great meals and the personalised and engaging services offered by our colleagues as well as the great game viewing experience.

We have noted with concern your opinion of the pricing at the shop outside the property and we would encourage guests to buy from the Fairmont gift shop located within the property to take advantage of our competitive offers and great variety of products in stocks. We shall however, recheck with the proprietor to ensure our guests gets value for their purchase.

Thank you very much for the great feedback which we shall definately share with our colleagues and in special mention to Rashid, Ruth and Joseph who exceeded your expectations! we welcome you back to our Resort the next time you visit the Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went here in the shoulder season and it was great. Not only did we get a great deal, but we were two of about ten guests in the whole place. I wouldn't want to stay here if there were a lot of people there. The lodges are nice, but they are permanent tents, so you hear every sound. The floors are a permanent tile and we had an outside shower as well as one inside. The bed was comfortable and warmed every night with a hot water bottle. We saw plenty of animals when we went out on safari. We saw the big five! And we didn't always go on the early morning drive. It was just a great relaxing trip and one those that just left you saying "WOW". Oh, the food and service was good as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgilityDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are glad that we turned your moments into memories and that you had a 'wow' experience while staying with us; enjoying especially our great tents with excellent view of the Mara River, the personalised and engaging services offered by our colleagues and the great food as well as the great game viewing experience.

Thank you for the great feedback and we hope you shall take advantage of our great package offers to once again come back to enjoy your wonderful place!

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a dream location. A tent camp with all the luxury plus. Talk about a well appointed room this is a tent. We had a view from our deck then a lovely bed, a dressing table with hair dryer.a bathroom with a water closet. When you are traveling for weeks this room was a true dream.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tondramcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are glad that you enjoyed our great location, the well appointed luxurious tents with unobstucted view of the river and our comfy beds.

Thank you very much for the great feedback and we welcome you back to your dream location next time you visit the Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
37.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,110 reviews
25 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
256 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
30.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 10 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,106 reviews
24.4 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mara Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Address: C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Maasai Mara National Reserve
#1 Spa Hotel in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $400 - $890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Mara Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Mara Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fairmont Mara Safari Hotel
Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Masai Mara National Reserve
Masai Mara National Reserve Fairmont
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing