We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple delights in the middle of the wilds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

from the moment we were met at the airstrip, we were pampered and cared for. My companion and i had just spent eight days climbing Kilimanjaro, and now we needed a combination of rest, relaxation, and mild stimulation.
We each had a riverfront "tent", with a hard wood floor, great rain shower, modern toilet, and a superbly comfortable bed. The facilities were lovely, and the hippos in the river grunted their apparent approval of our arrival.
The resort includes all meals, and safaris every morning and afternoon. We were wakened by a room attendant delivering coffee or tea, and had an early mornign safari each day prior to breakfast. The guides were fabulous, Anthony being really knowledgable and willing to share his knowledge.
After an early morning safari we enjoyed a great breakfast, following which a nap seemed in order until lunchtime, althouh some people relaxed around the pool.
3.30 each afternoon a second safari was provided. We saw numerous animals including all of the big five, and learnt lots about the local environment.
Evening meals were tremendous. Great selections, simply served. The bar service was fabulous, the staff tremendous, the whole experience first class.
Yes, there are no tent locks. But the whole palce is secured by an electric fence, and I slept like a baby. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: There are higher priced rooms with an exterior shower. However, this is probably only good value for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelBroadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are glad that you had delightful moments in our wild enjoying especially; the great welcome upon landing, our luxurious tents with great views of the crocodile/hippo infested Mara River, great tent facilties - superbly comfortable beds, great dining experiences, great game viewing experiences as well as our tremendous staff offering personalized and engaging guest services.

Thank you for the great feedback of the wonderful first class experience you had with us and we look forward to welcome you back to our Resort next time you visit the Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 572 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked through Emirates holidays, who recommended the Mara safari club as a 5 star tented lodge- and they weren't wrong! There are many hotels that would struggle to meet the standards set here, and I never realised how much you could fit under a canvas roof! Our tent was positioned right on hippo corner, with amazing views down the Mara river. The four poster bed was amazingly comfortable, and the bathroom facilities were superb and clean, with a rainforest shower and dressing gowns provided. After our dinner we returned to the room and got into bed, and found a hot water bottle beneath the sheets - perfect for keeping warm at night - the resort is at 2000m, so there is a definite chill! We had absolutely no problems with insects inside the room - which was impressive given our proximity to the river - but do be prepared for the occasional baboon scuttling across your roof! The staff were fantastic, and the selection of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was superb. Now on to the fun stuff - on our first afternoon we went for a game drive, and in a single afternoon saw giraffes, wildebeest, buffalo, zebras, antelopes...and a pride of lions! The Masai Mara reserve is HUGE - and unlike some other reserves the cars are allowed to explore most of the terrain, as opposed to sticking to set paths. This means that, thanks to the radio links between cars, you would have to be very unlucky to not see any big cats during your trips. The balloon excursion is expensive, but one of the greatest experiences of our lives - viewing thousands of game animals from a height is breathtaking, and the morning was completed with a full fry-up served in the middle of the savannah! I can't imagine anywhere better to go if you have never been on safari.

Room Tip: Room 45 is on 'Hippo corner' - light sleepers may find it noisy, but it wasn't a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samankwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are so glad that you had the best ever Safari experience with us enjoying especially our luxurious tents with unobstructed view of the Croc/Hippo infested Mara River, the great tent ammenities - comfortable beds, superb en clean bathrooms with nice overhead shower, great food selection at all meal times including the bush breakfast, great game viewing experience both from our top of the range jeeps and aloft the balloon as well as the personalized services provided by our fantastic staff.

Thank you very much for the great feedback which we shall definately share with all our colleagues and we welcome you back to our Resort the next time you visit the Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The highlight - our game drivers! Very knowledgeable and made all our safaris worth while.

The service was incredible. Be it the private bush dinner that we organised for the entire family with our very own Bon fire and tribal Masai dancers and a spread just for us to the hot air balloon ride with a champagne breakfast that was organised for us!

The rooms were spacious and had no complains on that end.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Umehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Umehani,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are glad that you enjoyed several aspects at the Resort; Great game viewing experience, personalized and engaging guest services as well as a great dining experience especially the outdoor meal experience - Bush Dinner and Balloon Bush Breakfast!

Thank you for your great feedback and we welcome you back to our Resort next time you visit the Mara!

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Really great resort. Just spent 3 nights of a 14 day Kenya safari adventure and we wish that we would have spent at least 7 days or more at this camp. The accommodations are great,the food is excellent and the game drives are FANTASTIC. You can drive up to a few meters of most animals. We got to see the Big 5 here and also the 5 ugliest. Who knew such a list existed?

Our guide, Jeremiah, was by far, the best guide we had in all of the 4 safaris we did across Kenya.

I highly recommend this resort to anyone contemplating doing a safari in Kenya.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club

We are glad that you had a fantastic stay experience with us enjoying several aspects of the Resort especially our great accomodation, excellent food and fantastic game drive experience.

We shall definately share your great feedback with our colleagues and in particluar Jeremiah who exceeded your game viewing expectations.

Thank you and we welcome you back to our Resort next time you visit the Mara!

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club during our honeymoon. We also spent 3 nights at the Mara Intrepids. On a relative basis, the Mara Intrepids had more animals since it is actually in the Masai Mara Game Reserve whereas the Fairmont Mara Safari Club is in the conservatory. That said you can see the Big 5 at both camps and there are plenty of animals to see at the Mara Safari Club. In every other way, the Mara Safari Club is much better than the Mara Intrepids: food is MUCH better, as are accommodations (you can't brush your teeth with water at Intrepids, toilet runs for 15 mins after each flush, there is no phone in room, etc). The staff at Intrepids are hit and miss: some were nice and others were not; they also nickeled and dimed us for even basics like bottled water (only 1 bottle per person per day to brush teeth; Safari Club provided several as well as sodas and beers for game drives), which is annoying when you spend $1,000 per night. On the other hand, the Safari Club was very welcoming and staff went above and beyond. They probably had twice as many staff per person as the Intrepids. In short, the Fairmont Mara Safari Club was far more impressive for our honeymoon whereas the Intrepids was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dm10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club

We are glad that your experience with us was the highlight of your Honey Moon in Kenya where you enjoyed the great game drives, great food, luxurious tents as well as our warm, friendly and welcoming staff providing personalized guest services.

Thank you for the great feedback and we welcome you back to our Resort next time you visit the Mara!

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We did a fair amount of research and as President's club members settled on the Fairmont.
We arrived at the airstrip and our guide for next 4 days (Jonathan) was there to greet us. He stopped on the way to the lodge to wet our appetite with a visit to a group of hippo lazing on the river bank.
We arrived at the lodge and had a warm greeting from the manager and staff. The friendly attitudes and service continued throughout our stay.
We loved the luxury tents and privacy that came with them being situated a fair distance away from each other. It was truly remarkable to be woken up each morning by a crash of hippos lazing on the river bank outside our tent; followed by the gentle sound of Jambo Jambo and hot coffee delivered to us. A suggestion would be to improve the hot water situation for the showers. It was hit and miss and when one pays over $1000 per night, this should not be an issue.
Jonathan proved to be the shining star on our adventure. He made it his mission to ensure that we saw the big 5. Which we did! He was polite, knowledgeable and it was our privilege to have him as our guide. We went on a total of 7 drives and each one was different, interesting and thoroughly enjoyable. We appreciated the fact that he was never in a hurry to rush back to the lodge. For example, on our way back one evening, he stopped so that we could photograph the sunset with a acacia tree in the foreground. It made for some spectacular shots. Jonathan is Maasai and grew up close to the lodge. His love of the flora and fauna shows in his delivery of an outstanding experience that we will remember and treasure.
The catering was really good in most aspects and we thought that the breakfast and lunch buffets were interesting and tasty and they did a great job of representing the local cuisine. We had a great bush barbecue one evening and also an outstanding ala carte dinner. There was a buffet dinner one evening that we felt was not up to Fairmont standards. Also, we thought that the wine list needs attention. There are many excellent value, quality South African wines that could be added in place of the many budget, overpriced wines that they offer. Many of these are available in Nairobi.
Overall, this was a quality, luxury safari that exceeded our overall expectations.
Thank you to The Fairmont and all of your friendly and hospitable staff for a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEAMBKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club

We are glad that you had a quality, luxury safari experience while staying with us especially enjoying several aspects of our property; Warm welcome upon landing at the airstrip, the luxurious tents with balconies overlooking the Mara River, Outstanding game drive experience as well as the great culinary experience - great outdoor dining experience at the bush dinner!

We appreciate your feedback and suggestion on our wine selection/varieties and we have noted the concern for a review of our wine list.

Thank you for mentioning the hot water issue and am glad to highlight that we are in the process of replacing our entire water piping system at the Resort and in the next couple of weeks guests are guaranteed to enjoy uninterrupted hot showers at our tents.

Thank you for the great feedback which we shall definately share with all our colleagues and in particular Jonathan Ledama who exceeded your game viewing expectations.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The tents ere elegant and roomy. The food is delicious and the staff is impeccable. We had a great stay and lots of animal sitings on our drives. If you have an opportunity take the hot air balloon ride. This is an experience of a lifetime watching the animals from a birdseye view The club is next to the Mara River where the hippos are plentiful.

Room Tip: Stay up close to the logge on the poolside. The animals aren't as noisy. Our room was #7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyH1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Sandy,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We are glad that you had an unbelievable stay experience while with us enjoying especially the elegant tents with balconies overlooking the Mara River, delicious food, great game drive experience as well as the personalized guest services provided by our colleagues.

Thank you for the great feedback and we welcome you back to our Resort next time you visit the Mara!

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
37.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,090 reviews
24.9 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
28.8 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
201 reviews
30.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,072 reviews
18 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mara Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Address: C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $367 - $887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Mara Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Mara Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fairmont Mara Safari Hotel
Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Masai Mara National Reserve
Masai Mara National Reserve Fairmont
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing