We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of this world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Mara Safari Club to your Saves list
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

With a group of work colleagues we recently stayed for 2 nights at the Fairmont Mara safari club. Everything was beyond expectation. I read the reviews about the lodge before traveling and with the name of Fairmont we were expecting very good place but it turned out to be fantastic and ‘out of this world ‘. Our charter flight landed in the’ air strip’ few miles from the hotel and we had a warm welcome by the hotel staff before going to the hotel. The entrance to the lodge is welcoming and the lobby is fantastic but the tents and the facilities in it with the attention given to the details to make your stay enjoyable are fantastic. You wake up in the morning to the sounds of the Hippos in the river; you go for a fantastic buffet breakfast in the lodge restaurant then you start your safari with expert driver and tour guide (Wilson made our safari trips such a pleasure). The variety of wild animals you see in a 3-4 hours of a trip are unmatched. We come for nice lunch in the hotel and have a short “siesta” before going for the afternoon safari trip. Overall we had fantastic time with no complaints and 100% satisfaction. If you are looking for a” budget safari” this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: tents closer to the Lobby are preferred as the tens far from the lobby means you walk in the dark a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Osama,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club!

We are glad that you and your colleagues enjoyed several aspects of the Resort especially our fantastic tents, lobby, warm staff who are keen on attention to details as well as the great game drive experience all culminating to a trip 'out of this world'.

Thank you for the great feedback and we welcome you back to our Hotel next time you visit the Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013, had a fantastic time, everything was amazing and so well organised. The tents are unbelievable 5* without a doubt! Henry our safari driver showed us the "BIG FIVE" which was the best experience i have ever had! you can hear the Hippo's at night as they are in the river going to feed on land whilst it's dark. There is also a Hippo Corner where you can see all the hippo's resting in the day time, fantasic!!! staff all very friendly and will do anything for you. The wake up call in the morning for the sarafi is a staff member standing outside the tent saying "Jambo" with either tea or coffee! The flight from Mobassa to the Maasi Mara was an experience, very trained pilots, even had to beep the horn to get the animals off the runway!!!
Beds are so comfy you didnt want to get out of them, even had hot water bottles. Sometimes at night it can be a bit chilly, also in the afternoon on the game drives it is possible to have some rain so make sure you take a jumper with you. Out on the game drive they provide water, soft drinks or beer.
pool was lovely, bit shilly though but nice to cool down!
Thank you for a great time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonSunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Devon,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club!

We are glad that you had an amazing experience of our luxury tents with comfy beds, helpful, friendly and engaging staff as well as great game drive experience.

I will certainly share your encouraging feedback to our staff.

Thank you for your great feedback and we welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Maasai Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First time to Africa and first time on a Safari and everything surpassed our expectations! We decided on the Fairmont Mara Safari Club because I get an excellent travel industry rate at Fairmont's across the world and when I found out that Fairmont had a Safari club in the Masai mara it was a no brainer! Travelled with my husband and 3 boys (17,15,12) We took Safari Link to our air strip from Wilson Airport and we were greeted with cold towels by Fairmont Staff and a welcome drink right beside the air strip! We felt like celebrities! On our short drive to the Club we lucked out and stumbled upon 3 lions who had just filled their bellies with Zebra. What an amazing start to our trip of a lifetime!

Check in was a breeze and we were guided to our luxury tents (34 & 35) I had my reservations about sleeping in a "tent' as I am used to 5 star accomodations and I have to say the luxury tents were so beautiful and the only thing that felt like you were in a tent was the canvas walls surrounding your beautiful 4 poster bed, tiled floor and 5 star bathroom including bathrobes, rain head shower, regular toilet, sink, tons of outlets, blow dryer, coffee maker, mini fridge and all the regular ammenties you get at a Fairmont. Everything was spotless and the fact that you were in a tent with all of these 5 star ammenties is an experience you can't get just anywhere! We LOVED laying in our bed listening to the hippo's, birds and wildlife surrounding us. The river below us is filled with hippos and monkeys were swinging from the trees! It felt like a dream or a movie scene and we were plopped right in the middle! Every morning we were woken up with a friendly "Jambo!" and hot brewed coffee and biscuits to start our day! Our boys received hot chocolate or coffee whatever they had requested. Each night our beds had plaid covered hot water bottles in them, keeping our beds toasty warm when we crawled in after a long day on a Safari.

The food was amazing!! The selections and quality were some of the best we have ever experienced, The chef was very talented and he even took special requests and prepared our favorite "butter chicken" dish just for us one night! There was plenty of fresh fruits, salads, drinks, desserts and mostly "a la carte" meals. Lunch was served outside and 2 of the days they served a buffet with all of the dishes served in clay pots on stands. Everything we tried was outstanding.

We booked our Safari's and transfers through Adventure Wildcats Safaris instead of going with the Fairmont Safari's. We were very pleased with Adventure Wildcats. Our guide Peter was very knowledgable about every animal and bird we came across and we loved the flexibility to decide when and where we wanted to go out on our Safari's. Also we had a private vehicle which I would highly recommend! I received excellent service with Hamadi Njoroge (founder of African Wildcats Adventure Safari's) and he made sure his staff was there to greet us at the airport or transfer to our hotel to and from the airports. I would highly recomend this tour company if you are looking for a private, personal service experience. We saw 4 out of the Big 5. Leopards are not easy to find in the area we were in and this would be my only hesitation in staying in the same area again, as we were told that other areas of Masai Mara had more animals and more of the big 5. Our friends were staying at the Mara Sarova Camp (different area of the Masai mara and they saw 100's of elephants and all of the Big 5 in one day and we saw approx. 20 elephants and only 4 of the big 5 during out stay. There is a bit of a trade off though as we saw tons of Buffalo and they saw very few. Our accomodations were 5 star all the way and I got the feeling that the Mara Sarova was maybe a 3-4 star feel.

All in all, our experience at the Faimront Mara Safari club was amazing beyond description. It was a once in a lifetime kind of trip for our family and we were blown away by this place! It was a dream come true and the accomodations, food, service and Safari were first class in every way. We will never forget this trip!

Room Tip: we stayed in tent 34 & 35. Mostly quiet except for the odd hippo belching at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberAbbotsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Abbotsford,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the amazing experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club!

We are glad that we surpassed your expectations on your first ever Safari in Africa and that you and your family had a great time enjoying especially our luxury tents with 5* ammenities, warm and engaging staff, amazing food with great selection, talented staff and great game drive experience all culminating into a trip of a life time!

Thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel next time you visit Africa.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Chose this Safari Camp due to Tripadvisor as i was intent on a "special" birthday trip for my wife and we were overwhelmed by the welcome and courtesy of the camps staff.Kenya is a special place for this type of celebration!Our Waiter Lexson was just superb and the room/tent butler Dalton and then Limar was also exemplary in making sure we were up at 05.30 with a hot drink and looking after our needs during our 3 day stay,of which virtually all the time is on safari in that 700 square miles of the Maasai Mara.
Initially we flew the enjoyable 2 and 1/2 hours from Diani Beach to Ngerende airstrip and was met by our guide Ashford Kamau and Guest Receptionist Miriam in the Toyota Land Cruiser.It seems second nature for these Kenyans to make you feel special and very humbling that is!
I have to agree with the recent review by " dingull", (we met on some of the safaris during her last few days),our guide "Ashford" was so keen to make sure we saw that elusive Leopard to finish the BIG 5 that one or two safaris did become extended.However,he certainly made up for it when my wife was introduced to "Queen Elizabeth & Koffi Annan" a pair of 5 year old Rhino's!! Oh, Queen Elizabeth is pregnant,(really!!)
The service could not be faulted,meals were excellent and Lexson was very cunning when the Management surprised us both with a celebration for not only my wifes birthday but also our 42nd wedding anniversary and a special thanks is in order for Nicholas (the chef).
Thank you everyone. (Asante Sana)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank botley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Botley,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara!

We are very pleased to learn that you had memorable moments on your anniversary at the Hotel enjoying especially the warm, friendly and helpful staff, excellent meals, great game drive experience as well as personalized guest services.

We will certainly pass on the encouraging feedback to our staff

Thank you for your great feedback and we welcome you back to our Hotel during your next visit to the Maasai Mara. Karibu tena! ( welcome back)

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I took my 90yr old mother out here again. If it not was for the consideration and help of all the staff it would have been very difficult for her. However they pushed her around in the Lodge's wheelchair, and she was able to go on two game drives most days.
Our tent was perfect, and kept immaculate by our room boy Geoffrey. All of the waiters could not do enough to make our meals better, and the chefs.... well, if I say I gained weight due to overeating - enough said! There is a wide variety of foods, from African, Eastern, European and Vegetarian to suit all tastes, however they are only too willing to cater for specific guests (they produced a meal within 30 mins for a party of chinese guests who wanted something familiar).
Ashford, our driver is incredible (as are all the drivers really) and found us the BIG 5 several times during our 2 week stay.
And not forgetting all the behind the scene people, who keep the vehicles in excellent condition, and grounds beautiful.
Thank you everyone, this is not my first visit by far, and definitely not my last! Can't wait to return, hopefully in October for the Migration :)

Room Tip: All tents are excellent, however if you have a walking problem ask for a tent nearest to the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Dingull,

Thank you very much for taking time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about our perfect tent, good food and varieties of culinary options, beautiful gardens and personalised services from our staff. We are glad that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We were here for 4 nights during safari in Masai Mara. We had a fabulous experience. All the ' rooms' were luxury tents, with 4 poster beds and good bathrooms amenities. The tents had no doors, but zips. It was extremely comfortable and tranquil. The tents overlooked the Masai river, and so the hippos would wake us up in the mornings. The power would be out in the very early mornings, so that they save energy, but we were so exhausted from the safari drives anyway to notice.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Always so happy and hospitable. They really took the time to get to know their guests. The food was amazing. All the meals were a la carte , with different menus daily. Also- they also catered any meals according to the guests likes and dislikes. If I am to go to Masai Mara again, the Fairmont is where I would stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_karthika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Karthika,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay at Mara Safari Club

We are glad that you had a fabulous stay experience with us; enjoyed several aspects of the hotel especially our luxury and comfortable tents, friendly and helpful staff, great food as well as our personalized services by treating each and every guest as a unique individual.

Thank you for your great fedback and we welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to Maasai Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sungapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 3 nighst at Fairmaont inJuly 2012 and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. It was our first experience of a safari in Africa - and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the tented accomodation. The service was excellent and staff and management very attentive to your needs. The best part was hearing the hippos grunt at night - as the location is just at the banks of the Mara River. Food and service was great... especially attended to our kids - 9 & 7 years old.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
34.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
33.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
29.9 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#59 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
33.3 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#15 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mara Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Address: C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Mara Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Mara Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fairmont Mara Safari Hotel
Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Masai Mara National Reserve
Masai Mara National Reserve Fairmont
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing