We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Big5 and the 5-star Fairmont Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My daughter and I recently made our dream of going on an African safari come true! From Nairobi(where we stayed at the Fairmont Norfolk), we flew on a small 12-seater Kenya Airways plane into an airstrip where we were met by Fairmont staff and welcomed with refreshing hot towel and fruit cocktail. From that moment on, our dream became a series of amazing and incredible individual experiences that can only be summed up as totally fantastic and unforgettable. I have read the other 'excellent' reviews here and I could not agree more with what had been written about the lodge, the beautiful, natural environment, the luxury tents, and the game drives. The hippos (and crocodiles) in the Masa River encircling the property and the wild and strange birds provided endless entertainment for us as they punctured the otherwise quiet atmosphere with their wild sounds. They made so much 'noise' at night but we enjoyed the 'concert' that we know we can only listen to in this part of the world. We spent a total of 8 days in this property and there was not a day when we were not afforded the most incredible sightings of wild animals and birds and the friendliest, most relaxing and pampering service from all the staff. We went on game drives everyday, including a thrilling hot air balloon ride with champagne breakfast on the savannah(watched the sunrise from it) and a night safari drive. We saw the Big 5, and dozens of other animals and birds. We saw a leopard on a tree, 4 packs of lions, 3 cheetahs, herds of elephants and giraffes, the protected rhinos, buffalos - and the heart stoping savannah sunset. Every single experience on this epic journey was made possible by the staff at this property. Without exception, the staff we encountered during our stay provided over the top hospitality and personalized service: to name a few: the knowledgable and affable Moses who was our game driver/guide - a walking encyclopedia on the wild animal kingdom; Walter A. who took care of all our food and beverage requirements, Samuel N. who made sure we had hot water bottles under our blankets each night, fruits and unlimited supply of bottled water. The food was great & different each night; the Executive Chef did his rounds of tables and made sure we ate well. I could write a longer story but reiterate that the excellent reviews here are for real.
This experience is the 'stuff that dreams are made of' - a bold 5* check on my bucket list.

Room Tip: Cabin/Tent # 15 overlooks the 'hippo grand central station' - it has 2 queen poster beds, la...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LG1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Mara Safari Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 546 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Set right on the banks of the Mara River, this is a unique and wonderful site. The "luxury" tents have floors in them, full bath facilities and all the amenities. We could hear the Hippos at night in the river below us . Everything was clean, the food was good. We ate lunch twice outside by the pool. It got cold here in the night, just be prepared and the hot water took a little time to get hot. The staff was friendly and helpful, the grounds were well-kept. My wife liked camping like this!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were a bit skeptical about staying in a tent during our recent safari...but this isn't your usual tent!

There were two double four poster beds!! Our bathroom...yes, I said bathroom...even had a granite countertop. The toilet flushed better than any other African hotel we'd stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XOXOMcSorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We both thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality, the quiet comfort, the sounds of the hippos at night and when we woke up, not many feet from the entrance to our tents. The tents, the baths, and the service were all top notch. Not huge but enough size. Moses took great care of us. Jonathan was a great guide. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: I am not certain it makes much difference unless you wish to walk a little less. If so, choose betw...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice tents, beautiful setup. A very big place almost 50 tents so get ready to walk from room to dining area! Food was very nice and varied from day to day, with a lot of choices. Staff is very friendly and always at hand for any of your needs.good service and value for money. Used the fairmont cars for the safari, comfortable and knowledgeble guides. The camp is far from the crossing, its in a private conservancy, but the game drive there was just as good, infact better coz you can go off road and no restricted timings.when you want to go into mara for crossing leave early! Theres an airstrip close to the hotel, a masai village for tours and an amust see rhino sanctuary. Stood right next to the rhinos.enjoyed and recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I went to Masai Mara for a short vacation on August, during the peak of Great Migrations of Wildebeest. The infrastructure is great. the service is excellent and the games safaris are very exciting. The staff is wonderfully friendly: Samuel for Room Service, Jean at the restaurant and Sammy our Game Safari Driver. My tent was very well furnished with great space and a wonderful view to Mara River, full of Hippos. I had great time there and I DO recommend that hotel. It worth which cent I have paid.
Two things that wasn't that good: the food could be improved and the employees work all day, I mean, you will find them at the breakfast, at lunch and at dinner. It seems so abusive! I saw this situation at Fairmont the Norfolk, in Nairobi, as well.

Room Tip: If the weather is cold you won't need a Deluxe Tent as it offer only a outside shower that you c...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroHelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I agree with the other author that many visitors are likely not seeing the club for what it really is. It is not a good bet and does not meet Fairmont's western standards. I am a platinum member of the Fairmont Brand having stayed at various Fairmont Hotels through the world for almost a year. My experience at both the Mara Safari Club and the Fairmont Norfolk in Nairobi lead to my severing my long standing relationship with the Fairmont brand.

Unlike most guests who fly in for a few days and fly out, we drove into the Mara Club and stayed for a week. This allowed us to meet the many travelers and witness what was really happening behind the scenes. Although the setting above the Mara River allows front row views of wildlife and the main lodge is unbelievable and stunning with views of hippos and crocodials below in the Mara river, the management was not prepared to handle the severe issue I experienced. For example I contracted food poisoning as did our fellow dining partners. Remember the only place to eat is at the Fairmont as the Farimont is not adjacent to any restaurants of grocery stores.

Ok food poisoning can happen as you are in the bush and the electricity is not always on but the proof in the pudding was in how the issue was dealt with that defines the Mara Safari Club as a run of the mill versus a luxury property. The Mara Club management wanted to just sweep the issue under the rug and not acknowledge food poisening by stating they inspected the kitchen and there was no food poisoning found! Yes that is what they said to us. First, how does one find food poisoning just sitting in the kitchen and second how do you explain our contracting food poisoning when we only ate at the Fairmont Mara Club. We were given hydration treatment in the form of electrolyte powder added to water and then asked to pay for it. Our sheets were soiled due to the food poisoning and we were handed a bill for several hundred dollars to replace the sheets and towels. Interesting that the soiled sheet and towel count on the bill were well beyond the one bed that was in our room. We were also charged for water with dinner.

In addition to the severity of poisoning, expect body order to prevail. Granted it is the bush but this is supposedly a first class resort and as such I would assume the Fairmont would provide bathing facilities for its bellman and others and ensure they use them. This was far from the case and the BO permeated our room well after the bellman departed. Again the difference between a first class hotel versus a run of the mill facility.

Lastly, you know those sweet Mara tribesman who come to the lodge to perform. Well we meet them outside in the back 40 after the performance and found them in the designer footwear speaking like any other western teenager as they showed off their tricked out trucks. The Fairmont charges a $70 USA per person per day conservation fee. When asked where the money goes we got conflicting answers.

We were not provided with an authentic experience but a Disney version that happens to be located in a place with live animals and vast plains all of which are managed for the betterment of the wildlife. Not to dissimilar to Animal Kingdom at Disney. This is a simplification but we spoke to many of the guests who told us directly they EXPECTED to witness animals in the bush roaming free. Indeed the experience of a safari in Africa is well worth it, and seeing animals roaming the plains is breathtaking, but staying at the Fairmont is far from luxury and from from National Geographic. The same lion seen by us was seen by slews of tourists in adjacent jeeps whose drivers were heard radioing the other guides to avoid a parking lot of tourists who were paying $50 a head for the game drive. Other blogs and posts will verify this.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Designed4Play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
37.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,054 reviews
30.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
197 reviews
24.9 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
117 reviews
30.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,047 reviews
18.1 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mara Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Address: C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $387 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Mara Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairmont Mara Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fairmont Mara Safari Hotel
Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Masai Mara National Reserve
Masai Mara National Reserve Fairmont
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing