We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a tent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow! What a tent!!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were a bit skeptical about staying in a tent during our recent safari...but this isn't your usual tent!

There were two double four poster beds!! Our bathroom...yes, I said bathroom...even had a granite countertop. The toilet flushed better than any other African hotel we'd stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XOXOMcSorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    71
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
147
187
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We both thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality, the quiet comfort, the sounds of the hippos at night and when we woke up, not many feet from the entrance to our tents. The tents, the baths, and the service were all top notch. Not huge but enough size. Moses took great care of us. Jonathan was a great guide. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: I am not certain it makes much difference unless you wish to walk a little less. If so, choose betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombasa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice tents, beautiful setup. A very big place almost 50 tents so get ready to walk from room to dining area! Food was very nice and varied from day to day, with a lot of choices. Staff is very friendly and always at hand for any of your needs.good service and value for money. Used the fairmont cars for the safari, comfortable and knowledgeble guides. The camp is far from the crossing, its in a private conservancy, but the game drive there was just as good, infact better coz you can go off road and no restricted timings.when you want to go into mara for crossing leave early! Theres an airstrip close to the hotel, a masai village for tours and an amust see rhino sanctuary. Stood right next to the rhinos.enjoyed and recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, DF
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I went to Masai Mara for a short vacation on August, during the peak of Great Migrations of Wildebeest. The infrastructure is great. the service is excellent and the games safaris are very exciting. The staff is wonderfully friendly: Samuel for Room Service, Jean at the restaurant and Sammy our Game Safari Driver. My tent was very well furnished with great space and a wonderful view to Mara River, full of Hippos. I had great time there and I DO recommend that hotel. It worth which cent I have paid.
Two things that wasn't that good: the food could be improved and the employees work all day, I mean, you will find them at the breakfast, at lunch and at dinner. It seems so abusive! I saw this situation at Fairmont the Norfolk, in Nairobi, as well.

Room Tip: If the weather is cold you won't need a Deluxe Tent as it offer only a outside shower that you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroHelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I agree with the other author that many visitors are likely not seeing the club for what it really is. It is not a good bet and does not meet Fairmont's western standards. I am a platinum member of the Fairmont Brand having stayed at various Fairmont Hotels through the world for almost a year. My experience at both the Mara Safari Club and the Fairmont Norfolk in Nairobi lead to my severing my long standing relationship with the Fairmont brand.

Unlike most guests who fly in for a few days and fly out, we drove into the Mara Club and stayed for a week. This allowed us to meet the many travelers and witness what was really happening behind the scenes. Although the setting above the Mara River allows front row views of wildlife and the main lodge is unbelievable and stunning with views of hippos and crocodials below in the Mara river, the management was not prepared to handle the severe issue I experienced. For example I contracted food poisoning as did our fellow dining partners. Remember the only place to eat is at the Fairmont as the Farimont is not adjacent to any restaurants of grocery stores.

Ok food poisoning can happen as you are in the bush and the electricity is not always on but the proof in the pudding was in how the issue was dealt with that defines the Mara Safari Club as a run of the mill versus a luxury property. The Mara Club management wanted to just sweep the issue under the rug and not acknowledge food poisening by stating they inspected the kitchen and there was no food poisoning found! Yes that is what they said to us. First, how does one find food poisoning just sitting in the kitchen and second how do you explain our contracting food poisoning when we only ate at the Fairmont Mara Club. We were given hydration treatment in the form of electrolyte powder added to water and then asked to pay for it. Our sheets were soiled due to the food poisoning and we were handed a bill for several hundred dollars to replace the sheets and towels. Interesting that the soiled sheet and towel count on the bill were well beyond the one bed that was in our room. We were also charged for water with dinner.

In addition to the severity of poisoning, expect body order to prevail. Granted it is the bush but this is supposedly a first class resort and as such I would assume the Fairmont would provide bathing facilities for its bellman and others and ensure they use them. This was far from the case and the BO permeated our room well after the bellman departed. Again the difference between a first class hotel versus a run of the mill facility.

Lastly, you know those sweet Mara tribesman who come to the lodge to perform. Well we meet them outside in the back 40 after the performance and found them in the designer footwear speaking like any other western teenager as they showed off their tricked out trucks. The Fairmont charges a $70 USA per person per day conservation fee. When asked where the money goes we got conflicting answers.

We were not provided with an authentic experience but a Disney version that happens to be located in a place with live animals and vast plains all of which are managed for the betterment of the wildlife. Not to dissimilar to Animal Kingdom at Disney. This is a simplification but we spoke to many of the guests who told us directly they EXPECTED to witness animals in the bush roaming free. Indeed the experience of a safari in Africa is well worth it, and seeing animals roaming the plains is breathtaking, but staying at the Fairmont is far from luxury and from from National Geographic. The same lion seen by us was seen by slews of tourists in adjacent jeeps whose drivers were heard radioing the other guides to avoid a parking lot of tourists who were paying $50 a head for the game drive. Other blogs and posts will verify this.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Designed4Play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Fairmont Mara. The tents were quite livable.. not buggy, and the staff were just awesome friendly, helpful and eager to please. From bed coffee to the drives, we had a really good time.
The only area that needs improvement is the food. It was always buffet style and quite mediocre.
Dont bother doing the baloon ride - It was not worth the money. You see much more with an all day safari. Overall, we had a good time

Room Tip: No fitness center !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodjunkie712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We did a three day safari wedding in Masai Mara National Reserve in Kenya. Stayed at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, I will definitely stay there again and I would recommend it to anybody going to Masai Mara for a safari. from the moment we landed to the game drives (2x a day), to the staff at the resort, to luxury tents that we stayed in, they had thought of every detail. I give the Fairmont Mara Safari Club and its staff a A++, Well done guys!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank np318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
37.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,021 reviews
25.5 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
218 reviews
30.6 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
105 reviews
31.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
24.7 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mara Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Property: Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Mara Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Mara Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fairmont Mara Safari Hotel
Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Masai Mara National Reserve
Masai Mara National Reserve Fairmont
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing