We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent management and well run river lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mara Simba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Simba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol U.K
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent management and well run river lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the charming river lodge before our incredible Mara ballon safari. The staff superb and the management spent time with us to make us feel at home. The food choice excellent and waiters attentive at all times. My 3rd visit since it opened left no bad taste at all. Had to return to U.K next morning but will always come back when in Kenya again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ABDULGANI_ISMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    85
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
120
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Had an amazing time at Mara Simba! This was our first time traveling to Kenya and our entire family (10 of us ranging from 6 to 73) had an amazing experience. The staff is warm and welcoming, the food had great variety and taste (even for us vegetarians). the lodge was extremely clean and well kept. We stayed in the tents (they were on the far end of the lodge but were VERY spacious and luxurious).Our "tent" was clean with turndown service and had hardwood floors, comfortable beds, tiled bathrooms with indoor plumbing. The bar/patio was our favorite place to hang out and we had plenty to look at below with the river, crocs, hippos, bucks, mongoose. Our kids played pool (billiards), in the pool, or sat around the fireplace at night listening to a folk singer. The safari rides were also amazing...we saw plenty of elephants, lions, cheetahs, giraffes, gazelles, hyenas, and a variety of birds. We could not have felt more at home and would definitely recommend this lodge for future travelers! We will definitely make it back to this lodge in the near future :)

Room Tip: Tents are roomy, clean and give you the distinct feeling of being in the jungle while still in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pinkal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Initial impression is that the buildings are old, built on multi-levels which does not help wheeled suitecases, and in need of some TLC.
Rooms have balconies that 'over-look the river', well they do but you can't see it for the trees and shrubs which block your view.
However the staff proved helpful and the food is good and plentiful.
Our 'game drives' proved to be about what we expected for the season of our visit, with lots of sightings of Lion, Elephant and many different types of birds.
With reservations we would recomment it.

Room Tip: Room 11, is on the upper floor which would give a good view of the river if the trees had been manag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great place. Like a great big tree house as on stilts. We loved this place with the watering hole and resident crock fed nightly. Staff very attentive with a great senser of humour, They know how to tell a tall tale. Rooms where comfortable but could have done with air con as the fans where rather loud. Food was limited as it was very quiet in the first week of the season but very nice all the same. Alot of curry based vegetarian dishes though.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Opt for a top floor room for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poisondwarf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was my 11th visit to Mara Simba. I have stayed at other good lodges, but this is simply the best. All the staff are friendly, and the rooms are first class. The game viewing is excellent (Special mention for my Old Friend Eagle eyed Geoffrey, Safari Guide). As usual, very well looked after and, God willing, I will be back there in the not too distant future. Many thanks to Manager James Koileken and all of his wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had gone to Masai Mara expecting primitive facilities but our 3 days stay turned out to be the opposite.In Masai Mara there is no electicity but the lodge had all the facilities. Moreover its location in the midst of Masai Mara ensured a rustic and living in a game reserve feeling ,with two resident crocodiles who bask in the river flowing by and give you an exellent view at a close range.

The staff is highly couteous and the food is sumptous and with African flavour along with continental dishes. We were pleasently surprised to find Indian food with an Indian chef who even asked us about the food and what improvement if any that we could suggest. My wife not only gave him tips for some dishes but even demonstrated the same in the kitchen.

The evening cultural show is truly African flavour and highly enjoyable.

I strongly recommend the Simba lodge for an out of the world Game reserve experiance

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of an organised safari by F Kings Safaris company. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and shown to our beautiful room which overlooked the river. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and treated well for bugs (there weren't any). The room had an ensuite shower which was clean and well maintained. We felt that the room was very secure with a safe and there was also a turn down service. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there every day and we were never disappointed with the array of choice and the friendliness of the staff. The food meals were buffet style but as we were travelling in the low season we also had an a la carte waiter served lunch and dinner. The bar was great for an evening drink with live music and pool table. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and towels were provided. Overall we would be very happy to return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMcAndMsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
9.6 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Simba Lodge

Property: Mara Simba Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Simba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Simba Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Simba Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing