We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We visited in 2011 April. Love the accommodation luxury tented camps excellent. Very family friendly lodge with lots of activities. Food excellent buffet. Location is good as well, we saw all the big fives and the cats.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest,

We were honored to host you last year. We are pleased to note that we did live up to your expectations. It will be great to host you once again now a year down the line as we have worked towards improving our service detail over the months.

We highly appreciate your feedback and take this opportunity to welcome you back to Sarova Mara.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    218
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
302
326
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kampala
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The sensation of really being in the wilderness for those who are not fans of actually roughing it is best achieved by being somewhere like the Sarova Mara.

After what can only be described as back breaking drive from Nairobi it was a relief and a delight to arrive at the camp. After a mischievous check in at which we were advised that one would have to relieve themselves in the bushes it was a relief to be escorted to our air conditioned tents and find them to be fully kitted out.

It is not often the case that one finds the meals at an all inclusive establishment such as this to be both tasteful and plentiful in variety but that was very much the case here. After our daily safari drives it was very much a relief to be able to return to our rooms and know that a hot shower awaited.

Whilst some may prefer a more rugged experience our preference is definitely for having the generator on for 23 hours daily and thus being able to enjoy all the usual creature comforts. For the comfort of the rooms, the pleasant gardens, the large pool, the variety of the meals and the service which was always first class the Sarova Mara gets the thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumumba w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to get positive feedback from our valued guests. The team highly appreciates meeting your expectations as we strive to exceed in service excellence. The team hereby wishes to thank you most sincerely for giving us the opportunity to host you.

We look forward to your return and assure you of yet another wonderful stay.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I visited Masaai Mara on 2nd May 2014 with my wife and 2 kids of 13 and 4 years in company of other 3 family. Maasai Mara in a whole was a wonderful experience for us and friends. But Sarova disappointed us about the accommodation. We have booked for a 3 bedded tent and the tent was extremely congested. The height of the tent was also not good enough for anyone who is 5.5 feet tall. Second night was a even worse because of number of insects came to the room. Then they transferred us to a Super Tent where I could have given 100% marks if I got it from beginning. Food was good and plenty. The serving staffs were like always busy and were showing the displeasure in attending to the multi-various needs of people of our 16 member group. I have been a fan of Sarova Hotels because of the service received at Lion Hill and Stanley. But I wouldn't recommend Sarova Mara for a family holiday unless one reserve the premium tents in particular.

Room Tip: Reserve for the premium tents. 56 was great. Do not go for 47. it was nightmare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshlyJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting your family and friends. We have noted that there were areas where we did not meet your expectations and do wish to assure you that we have taken every step in ensuring that we get it right the first time and every time. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

We do value your feedback as it does give us the drive to improve.

The team here wishes to apologize for any inconvenience caused and do assure you of a most memorable and restful stay in your next visit.

Asante!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The people of Kenya are known for their lovely disposition and Sarova Mara Camp did not disappoint! From the people at the front desk to the waiters to the porters to the people running the very well-stocked gift shop to the people giving out towels at the pool to even the chef! - I was late for lunch and she went into the kitchen to rustle up a chicken dish and all the fixings. In particular, there is a waiter named Simon who made my stay feel like home. He was professional, attentive, lovely and just a real person. Alway making a point to greet me on my way back from safari or at dinnertime or whenever. He was truly special.

The buffet was terrific - wide array of great local as well as international dishes. An omelette station that I took full advantage of. Deserts galore… etc. Just great. In fact, on our last night there, they set up "Swahili Night" outside and it was so beautifully and tastefully done that we all thought it must have been for a private party but actually it was for the guests. There was even a singer who sang international favorites as well as Kenyan songs. And on another night, those amazing jumping Masai came and did their traditional dance! (we had visited their village earlier that day and they were so happy to see us. You might want to do that - visit a Masai village - in addition to doing safaris.

The tent room is not like a typical camping "tent" - it's quite gorgeous. The sides where it sloped down was a bit difficult for me because I am rather tall - but nothing so important to complain about! A lovely touch were the hot water bottles that they put inside the covers (which got turned down each night - constant sweet touches!) so that when I got into bed, it was quite cozy. I never had any mosquitoes (each room is set up with "mossie chips" and mosquito netting of course) although a praying mantis came to visit! I picked it up using the wastebasket and put it back out into the great outdoors.

I went to the pool twice and it was nice and clean. Not many people used it while I was there.

I was on an organized tour but apparently they can set up safaris for you if you need that service.

My one regret is that there is a vantage point (I don't remember what it was called) from which you can view the safari and I never got to go. So do go there. My friends said it was quite a nice view.

A true oasis in the bush!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Sarova Mara Game camp on your visit to the Mara. We were honored by your visit and humbled by your very encouraging feedback.

We have shared your review with the team and are very positive about raising the bar.

We do wish you all the very best as you settle back home and hope to have you back soon.

Asante sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Will rate this as the most memorable trip I have ever made. Of course, the sheer charm of Masai Mara is the real winner but for a camp, you will not find a better combination of today's amenities as well as the camp feeling. Fabulous tents with all basic amenities and spanking clean. Yes, there are some mosquitoes and bugs but as long as you keep the entrance zipped up and the electric mosquito mats on, you can get some good rest. Most important of all, the staff is probably the most courteous and friendly I have experienced in my travels all over the world. I was on a business conference this time but had time for a couple of safari rides. Got some amazing shots of wildlife and the drivers were knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely expensive but then again, you will not do this every month.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent close to the reception since some are quite far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepanjan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback! The team is very encouraged as we strive to achieve service excellence.

We do hope that you had a pleasant ride to Nairobi and back home and hopefully we will get the opportunity to host you yet again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent three nights here....it was absolutely incredible. (Seems to be the overall theme of the three different Sarova properties we stayed at while in Kenya)

It's hard to believe that the facility is 30 years old.

I thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay here....the staff was awesome! The food incredible (something for everyone...although the best Mandazi was at the Lake Nakuru Lodge....LOL)--the bed was wonderful and who knew a modern day bathroom could be built within a canvas tent concept with a real roof? LOL.

I wish we could have stayed a couple more days. (I keep telling my friends that I would camp more if we had Sarova's in States. hee-hee)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Karibu tena Sarova Mara!

We are touched by your very warm review and feel challenged to want you back as indeed we promise to work on our 'Mandazi' to be second to none.

We look forward to your return and assure you of a more restful and memorable stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

omg!! i have no words for my stay at this camp! we had the club tents which were basically the last tents in the game camp overlooking the wildlife....the rooms were huge and spacious and very wow...bathroom was extra huge and very clean and tidy. had tea making facilities, mosquito wipes and repellents. small hot water bottles were put inside our beds before we went to sleep and they were so comforting. all the staff were very kind and attentive you your needs. the food at the resturant again was spectacular...with huge and tasty selections of different cuisines from salads to mains to desserts. I couldn't see a fault anywhere. wifii was not free and had to be paid for. had maasai dance in the evenings and people sat in the lobby/bar which had a fire place keeping the place nice and toasty. overall i would definitely go back to this game camp and stay in the club tents again.

Room Tip: club tents which were the last tents in the blocks overlooked the wildlife separating the tents and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure reading your 'WOW' experience with us. We highly appreciate the fact that we did live up to your expectation. our desire is to make Sarova Mara your camp of choice when in the Maasai Mara by providing uncompromised levels of service.

The entire team here wishes you all the very best and look forward to hosting you yet again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
31.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Property: Sarova Mara Game Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing