We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarova Mara Game Camp, Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sarova Mara Game Camp, Kenya”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you want a luxury tented experience, this is a great resort. The rooms are beautiful and have several categories of rooms. Even family suites to accommodate everyone.
Each tent had a patio or balcony, mini bar in room, & good food. The staff was exceptionable.
It is a beautiful property very close to safari's & Maasai Mara Village. This is a must to see.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindyz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
It’s a great pleasure to read your review of our camp here on TripAdvisor. We truly value your patronage of our lodge and are happy that you found our services to be exceptional. We look forward to hosting you once again here at Sarova Mara Game Camp and offering you our Refreshing African Hospitality.
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    224
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
309
331
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Every aspect of our holiday with Sarova Mara Game Camp was perfect, from the wildlife to the staff attitude, the cleanliness to the knowledge of our guide. We would highly recommend to anyone looking for an unforgettable safari.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffyemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure I read your review of the lodge. Having such a positive recommendation from a senior reviewer is indeed an honor. We are pleased that our services met your requirements and we trust that we will be of service once again in the near future.
Karibu! (Welcome)
Kind Regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldoret, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Our first time in the Mara and we had an excellent time in the camp. I suppose the dusty bumpy road from Narok town to the Game camp is deliberately part of the fun! My sons living in a separate tent was scary but adventurous! Not with the tree hyrax & the Dik dik roaming around the tents! They had a great time though. The staff were fantastic! The game drives were wow! All your dream animals are there! Delicious food! The chocolate drink was our best ever! That was world class!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WSaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Am pleased to note that you had an excellent time. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team here and they are pleased that you found their services exemplary. I would like to assure you that the lodge has a 24hr electric fence all round it with the tree Hyrax and Dik Dik being part of the ambiance within the lodge. We also have the whole lodge patrolled by our friendly guards who ensure that at all times all areas are safe and secure for our clients.
We look forward to your next visit to our lodge and to be able to serve you with our secret chocolate drink at the Oloip bar while you listen to the guitarist performing in the evening.
Karibu!
Regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Let me start by stating that this camp is indeed 'in the Serengeti'. Like, you drive out of camp, and you are in the wild. But, more about the property - It is well located, well equipped, well maintained, and excellent hospitality. You room is basically a tent, with a mosquito net, with basic amenities. No telephones. Your cell phone can work. You can get wifi (paid) at certain locations. Food is included in your price, and it was great.

Overall, this property is well located, with friendly staff, great food, and a unique lodging experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to host you. We are happy that our facility and services were to your satisfaction. I hope that we will get another opportunity to e of service to you in the near future and would like to assure you that the Wifi is now available for free at our Oloip Bar and lounge.
Karibu once again!
Regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Safaris come with so many different forms of accommodation and the more you pay, the more basic (sold as "Back to Nature") it seem to be. This lodge provides all the creature comforts that one could wish for and is set within its own perimeter fence (i.e. no lions prowling past your tent just as you need to go out for a pee!).
We celebrated 50th birthday while we were here and the staff were wonderfully helpful at making the evening special, aided with some bunting, balloons and candles which I had brought along.
With its location right at the entrance to the reserve, the only down side is how you can have to drive further to get to some specific sites but there is so much to see in all areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
The staff here wishes you Happy 50th Birthday once again!!
It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to doing it again for your 51st birthday. Karibu once more to Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Sarova Mara Camp for two nights during our excursion to Maasai Mara. The drive into the park is pretty rough (several hours of bumpy dirt road). However, once we reached Sarova, many of those discomforts washed away. The hotel's facilities are fantastic, very state of the art. The restaurant is very nice, offering lots of different choices. One note, drinks, which you order, do not include the VAT tax. Therefore, always add 100 Ksh to the price (you can always charge to the room too and they accept credit cards). There is a nice gift shop at the Sarova which is not as overpriced as many of us anticipated. Internet is a bit of a ripoff, you have to pay per night of usage and the connection is very spotty. However, you'll be spending most of your time game driving, sleeping and eating. The tents, which are more like rooms are very nice. Wooden floors, tiled bathrooms, 24 hour hot water and more. Although, the electricity at the hotel is turned off from 4-6 pm (when you're game driving) and from 12-4am (they provide flashlights). Therefore, your room won't have power then. The sleeping conditions are decently comfortable when you're not feeling ill. Unfortunately, I got sick during the second night there. My first night went fine but the second not so much. At least for me, the conditions didn't help. The staff is very friendly and helpful, many were surprised that I'm white and speak Kiswahili. Sarova features an excellent location for game drives. It's inside the park and you can start seeing animals right when you exit the gate. In summation, Sarova provided us with a very nice stay. Had I not been sick, there would have been nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: If you want a room with better access to animal sounds, I would recommend taking either the larger t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback above. It was a pleasure hosting you as one of our valued guests. Am particularly pleased to note that you found our facilities to be fantastic and our staff friendly. I have taken note of the internet issues and I would like to assure you that we are working on a solution to the connectivity issue to ensure that your experience is seamless.
Karibu tena and we hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Sarova Mara "camp" was the first in my African adventure ... they call them "tents" ... I called them "home" ... spacious, comfortable, and perfectly appointed (unless you are only used to 5 star accommodations). The staff was perfect ... there when needed, but not bothersome ... (oh, I like my time to myself ... not always being peppered "Is everything alright") ... and the game drives in Masai Mara were BEYOND SPECTACULAR ... our guy Reuben knew his stuff ... the only downer was the "massage" my butt got in the vehicle ... Kenya does washboard roads in a world-class way ... BTW ... given the chance, I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chervew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
It’s a great pleasure to read your review of our camp and your stay here!
I have shared your comments with my staff here and they are pleased to know that you found their services to be exemplary and meeting your requirements. We hope that we will get another opportunity to offer you our Refreshing African Hospitality soon. If you do come back tomorrow, we will welcome you with a big JAMBO!
Kind Regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager , Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
107 reviews
31.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
523 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Property: Sarova Mara Game Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing