We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic introduction to Masai Mara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic introduction to Masai Mara”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for the first safari of my first trip to Africa. Could not have asked for a better introduction. Our guide in the park, Peter, was wonderful. Happy and informative, he made sure we saw all we could and accommodated our various requests - wait, lets go back and find those giraffes again. Clearly very experienced and able to find us the best vantage point for pictures, I can't imagine a better guide.
The staff at the Sarova were all friendly and accommodating, we had excellent service at the restaurant, bar, pool and reception/check out. The tents - clean and well equipped were nicer than many hotels.
The trip was pricey, but then, it was a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: We had 5 people and were able to have 2 tents with an attached common area between them. It was do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments above, I have shared them with my team here and they are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular, Peter is glad you found your Safari and his guiding to be to your satisfaction. We trust that you will get time soon to come and visit with us again to experience more of Africa and Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    220
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
304
328
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We drove from Nairobi to Mara. The road was very good all the way past Narok, but then it was very bumpy and dusty. We dropped the Masai visit and got an extra game-drive before check-in at the hotel.

Very friendly staff and effective check-in. Beautiful tents with lovely beds (firm). The dik dik's and bush-buck's wander around the tent so just sit quiet so you don't scare them.

Food is excellent and the staff very attentive. We got to try the pool too - very refreshing! And the massage was wonderful after a long day of driving.

The camp is far from the river, but we saw a lot of animals and the migration was over before we arrived. First view was a leopard in a tree!

The decorations around the hotelarea are very creative and the gift shop is absolutely worth a visit. The prices are not too bad and the shopkeeper very pleasant! A lot of variety.

Room Tip: The walk from reseption to the tent can take 5-10 minutes for the tents furthest away. If you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utpaatur_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a very late review, but I could not leave it behind. We lived in Kenya between 2003 and 2004. We drove from Nairobi to Sarova, passing through Narok where we had an amazing breakfast at the gas station on the main street. Once we got to the park gate, we were directed to Sarova, about 2 miles or so from the gate, and once there, we were promptly accomodated in our tent, with an awesome structure and view. The food was great and the main lodge had a welcoming fireplace that did us well in April. Jeeepstook us around the park and we were amazed on every minute of our days at Sarova! We will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a Club Tent, they are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here as part of a safari tour. Our tent overlooked the small pond, and sitting on our deck with wine, amazed at being in Africa, was very special. The service was excellent. Upon finding our tent had a king-size bed, plus a twin bed, for just the two of us, we asked that the smaller bed be removed, and that was accomplished very quickly. When we returned from dinner the first night, the tent flaps had been raised, mosquito netting in place, soft lights on - very romantic! Food was fine and plentiful and it was interesting to see the organic garden where some of the herbs and produce are grown. It was a great beginning to our safari experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JoandNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

i am quite late in giving a review of the hotel. but the memory of our stay in this hotel still lingers in our minds. My wife was so impressed with this hotel way more than any other hotel we have been. the reception was very friendly and answers queries truthfully. we dont see that everyday. the food was good but the attention you get from the people there is just too good. chef Gilbert was the highlight for us. we stayed there for 6 nights and we had one of the club tents. thanks to their service of guiding us to our tents in the night, just gives u that extra comfort at night. they arranged for a breakfast in the garden for us which just put the cherry on the top. this is one of the best hotels we have been to and would definitely go back there in our next trip to Kenya.

Room Tip: people taller than 6 feet, advise you to take the club tents. a little costlier but worth it as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maksimum81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We travelled here as a couple on a tour and found it quite relaxed. There is not much walking to be done internally. The Club Tents looked much nicer to us, although we had a standard one. We were a fair way away in the 50's in terms of tent numbers. It's not the real tent experience as there is an electric fence around the compound. I think it was a good introduction to the Masai, and we were well looked after. The staff were initially a bit reserved, but very friendly.

A birthday celebration for one of our party was memorable for its enthusiasm and the African take on a birthday song.

Wine list not the greatest, but we certainly were well fed. Indian food and bread was an unexpected highlight.

Room Tip: Club Tents are more private and comfortable. Standard tents mean a lot of bending.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was the largest Safari Lodge we stayed in during our week-long safari. The tents were a bit too small, but had a nice layout and lovely turn-down service that zipped up the tent and set up the mosquito netting. The restaurant was amazing in all the offerings it had. Beautiful desserts, cook-to-order pasta and big buffet with Kenyan and Indian food. Lots of fresh salads and vegetables were always plentiful. The pool was small, but never had time to use it anyway. The grounds were beautiful and the check-in process was easy and thorough. Good wi-fi, great gift shop, friendly bar service with a great camp fire in the center of it. Just beautiful and its only minutes from the great animals in the Reserve. Great Place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jungleyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
218 reviews
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
31.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
510 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Property: Sarova Mara Game Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing