We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Unexpected luxury”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The dirt roads leading to the lodge are rough but the pampering begins as soon as you arrive. Beautiful lobby area, outdoor pool, good restaurant and bar (not that you have any choice) and the deluxe tents are spectacular. The tents have polished wood floors and roof with canvass sides that the room staff roll up and down each day. Large dressing areas and huge bathrooms, all with stone countertops, were a treat. Very comfortable! Some of the tents are a good walk away from the main public areas, so ask how long a walk it will be. Hint: Go to the overlook at dusk to sip a drink and watch animals wander through.

Room Tip: The deluxe tents can be a long walk away, so ask if you're concerned about the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    217
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
303
325
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mombasa, kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our 7th visit felt like returning to paradise. As usual we were met at the airstrip by the ever smiling Ken driver /guide with cold glasses of fresh juice and cold face towels. At the lodge were welcomed by Francis G.M.and his competent team.A well placed Lodge in the nature reserve with clean rooms.From out tent we see zebras grazing .In the 5 days we saw the crossing ,the BIG FIVE and lions with cubs feeding on an Eland. The bush breakfast and lunch was well prepared and packed.The cooler was always stocked. A big Asante to Head Bartender Mohamed Bartender Daglous Waitress Esther Hostess Lucy F.B> Manager Mike and to all staff for their ever smiling services.Last but not least Grace for a great massage. Once again well done Sarova Team.Keep it up !! We will be BACK !

Room Tip: The clubdeluxe tents are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aftab_mohamedbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sarova Mara Game Lodge In August 2013. We had tent 52 and 53 this was a bit of a trek from reception but well worth the walk. The tent was wonderfully maintained. We had a problem with the anti mosquito plug in, but the room attendant had it solved in no time at all what wonderful staff. The food was fantastic the grounds are amazing. The pool area is kept absolutely perfect. They have a lovely Bar area with a fantastic fire in the evenings so that you can have a drink and a chat with other visitors. There are hairdryers in the tents also a safe to keep your belonging in, all this at no extra cost Bravo Sarova. You have hot water at all times and hot water bottles placed in your Beds in the evening. I would recommend this lodge to everyone. Thank you Sarova for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had rooms 52 and 53 and it was very quiet in the evenings. There were small deer in the surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
597 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wonderful spot in the nature reserve, great place to start exploring and even better place to spend the nights and the time between game drives. Staff is very well trained and tries everything to please the guests. Full board is ample and tasty but all buffet style and it is not the resort's fault when other guests have trouble with lining up and waiting. The 'tents' are very nicely done and surprisingly well equipped, but we had an extra bed in there and it got a bit cramped. There are little extras like warm water bottle in your bed and turned down mosquito net when you return from dinner which just guarantee a smile and a very good sleep. We had no idea there was a pool, we did not get to try it, but nice to know there is one.

My only 'gripe' might be that given the reviews & us being a party of 3 & this being my wife's b'day weekend, it would have been nice if they had put us in a club tent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We did our best to make due with the smaller luxury "tent" which, while it originally seemed wonderful...we found it cramped for luggage space and bathroom use especially after seeing the "deluxe tent" Definitely go for the larger tent. The extra space is worth it! The service, staff and food were excellent. We enjoyed the fire pit in the bar and the music. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingal1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
373 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not really sure what this place would be like as it was booked through a group trip, we took the "deluxe tent" option. Pleasantly surprised by the size of the "tent", it had a luxurious bed covered with mosquito netting, an enormous bathroom and plenty of room for bags. The staff were cheery and helpful and the buffet had many choices. We had a pleasant massage one afternoon when we had a rare moment of free time from the conference we were attending around game drives. One of our group had to see the doctor and was very complimentary about his level of care. The pool area seemed nice although we didn't use this. We did use the business room for internet. The small shop had a number of favourable priced local African souvenirs. The proximity to the game reserve was great. We started seeing "big" animals the moment we drove out the resort's front gate!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beetrootears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Exceptional staff here, the service provided was unbelievable. The food is excellent and one of few lodges/hotels that cater for vegetarians equal to non vegetarians. No specials requests needed- everything one could want was on the buffet table. Should you want anything else the staff were superb at accommodating. The game was few compared to the game near the river but there is still a lot to be seen. The time between game drives can be spent swimming, playing table tennis, badminton, archery, darts or just relaxing in the lounge or by the bar. Top marks to Sarova!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a cottage which had more privacy, but the standard rooms are good too and a less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darshni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
31.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Property: Sarova Mara Game Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing