We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was my second trip to the Mara Game Camp. Our group of 8 were picked up at the airstrip by Edward and Daniel. They were both excellent guides and very informative. We were greeted with smiles at the front desk by Carolyn. Our tents were perfect and I loved the hot water bottles in the beds. The food was good and there was a good variety. I got a great massage by Grace. She is wonderful. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. When I had a problem opening the safe security was there within 10 minutes! I would say this is definitely 5 star!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Denise P
We are humbled that you chose us again as your preferred accommodation during your safari in the Mara. I am happy to note that your guides (Daniel Ole Soit and Edward Njenga) gave you excellent service during the Safaris right from the airstrip. Thank you also for your commendation of Grace and Carolyn’s services. They will all be receiving a Sarova Star and a nomination for the Employee of the Year award.
All our employees are committed to ensuring that our esteemed guests are given the best in terms of product and services and we look forward with anticipation to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

It is not often that I cannot wait to return from a trip in order to write a review (In fact i hate writing reviews) but my recent family stay at Sarova Mara Camp compelled me to say something. The most friendliest staff, great food (Traditionally i despise Buffet) that catered for the varying taste of my family. The staff could not do enough for my family looking after our 12 year old boy who commented he was sad to leave. The environment is clean, Dik-Dik play on the lawn and the salt lick was visited by Buffalo, Hyena, Warthog and Rhino during our 5 night stay.

Breakfast in the bush after our Balloon ride was a delight. Than you to management and Staff (In particular Mike, Mohammed, Esmeralda) .... we will certainly be back next year

Room Tip: Rooms 33 and 34 are on the salt Lick but all rooms have a view of the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for choosing our camp for your recent safari to the Maasai Mara.
We are happy you found our food to be great and the facility to be clean. We are also humbled that we surpassed your expectations and I have personally commended Mohammed Mike and Imelda who you have mentioned above.
It is through such positive reviews that will encourage more potential guests to choose our camp. My team and I look forward to welcome you back to our camp in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Msengeti Francis
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

First of all, this is not a camp, this is a beautiful luxury resort set in the heart of the savannah. Thanks to Stephen in Front Office, we managed to get a Club tent (no 58) which was a walk from the main area but next to the electric fencing 10mtrs away, facing the Mara reserve ! The ‘tents’ were actual wooden cabins with canvas side walls and a very ‘outdoor camping’ yet safe feel. The Club tents have a glass door, but no lock and a safe is provided incase you want to store your laptops/ipads/passports etc. We did. The tent interiors were spectacular, with spacious bathrooms, nice dressing area and very comfortable beds. There were mosquito nets, repellents, standing fan, umbrellas and a torch conveniently provided and the staff turns down the nets and places hot water bottles in the beds at night – very cozy. There are enough plug point around the room to charge multiple items – but for power saving the electricity supply is unavailable during 12am-4am and 4-6pm (afternoon game drive time),so you need to schedule electricity usage accordingly. The wind howls at night with the canvas wall fluttering, there were constant animal sounds, birds wake you in the morning and beautiful visitors come to say hello across the fence, mainly zebras. Incredible.

I loved the food options - variety as well as taste, and the hot items were a seller after a long day in the wild. The bar (try ‘Dawa’ and ‘Sarova special’) and swimming pool areas are beautifully maintained as are options for massage, table tennis and darts. There is a small shop selling handicrafts and basic necessities, but best to carry everything you need with you. There are no mosquitoes at all, so my weekly dosage of Mephaquin were totally wasted! Not even annoying bugs, barring a few flies.

The plane from Wilson Nairobi is a small one and the flight can be queasy (similar to a choppy sea trip!) but it saves a lot of time and provides excellent aerial views of Kenya. The driver who comes to pick you from the Airstrip is assigned to you for entire trip and takes you on all game drives. We had William, who was clearly quite experienced and showed us some unique spots (eg Ostrich with eggs!) and also took us for a full day drive up to Mara/Serengeti Border. The hotel provides packed lunch for full day excursions, not the same class as their buffet though. Wildlife is ample and you are almost sure to see the Big 5 amidst the stunning landscape.

The camp is very close to the Sekenani entrance and we visited the Maasai village located just outside. Interesting experience to spend some time with the tribe and buy handmade trinkets– village entrance costs usd 30 per person. Keep your park tickets handy if you plan to go outside the reserve.

For us the highlight of this camp were its people and their wonderful personalized service – from the reception to the bar to the buffet to the tent, everything was wonderfully managed and felt like home. Amazing crew, all of them. We would love to go back to Sarova Mara anytime. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: Tents nos 25-35 are the closest to common areas. Tent nos in 50-60s are a walk, but wonderfully secl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssmmiittaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
It’s a pleasure reading your review of your stay with us here at Sarova Mara Game Camp. I am humbled by your praise of our services and we are honored that we managed to surpass your expectations during your safari in Kenya. Thank you also for supporting the community through your village visit.
We appreciate that you took quality time to give us detailed feedback. I have also shared your response with my team and we look forward to welcome you back to our camp.
Karibu!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I do really appreciate the management of Sarova Mara game camp for the kind of training they offered me while i was an intern at the premise,they gave me an opportunity to offer my services to the esteemed guests visiting the Masai Mara from all over the world.
Thanks goes to the General Manager who was very helpful in all the undertakings i had in the game camp.
Thanks so much Sarova family at large!!

Room Tip: Rooms are a good experience one would miss once at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Wilson K
Thank you for your comments above and review of the camp.
It was a pleasure participating in your professional development and we hope that you were able to learn from you experience here at Sarova Mara Game Camp. In delivering our mission “To make Sarova Hotels the employer of choice by offering employees a dynamic and challenging work environment which focuses on personal and professional growth” we strive to ensure all our interns are given an opportunity to learn and participate as much as possible.
I would like to wish you all the best in your career in the hospitality industry.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This camp is very well equipped and run and the staff are really friendly, always wanting to help. The grounds are well looked after but fenced in for your safety. Whilst you do sleep in tents, they are luxurious and as this is a large "tented camp", it lacks the intimate atmosphere of some of the smaller Mara camps. The dining area is substantial and the food is, for the most part, very varied and well prepared. The hot vegetables were always spot on and not overcooked. However, quite a bit of the meat served was over done or dry. I took a Safaricom dongle with me as I had been using it elsewhere and managed to use it to get internet access. What impressed us, was the professional way the staff dealt with us and we could not praise our driver, Ken, highly enough. He took a great pride in his work and clearly still enjoyed the beauty of the Mara and its wildlife. A very enjoyable stay overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank languagesteacher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review our camp on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to note that you found your stat with us enjoyable. Thank you for your appreciation of our staff services especially Ken Kisio who took you out on safari during your stat here.
I have noted your comments on the meats and we will be ensuring that we get the temperatures of the meats correct.
I would like to welcome you back to Sarova Mara Game Camp for another safari.
Karibu Sana!

Kind regards, Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Can definitely recommend this resort. The service was amazing, the people working there were amazing.

We got picked up at the landing stripe, with towels and fresh juice. We then drove to the Resort, had a few stops on the way to look at all the animals.

They had a great restaurant, very vegetarian friendly.

We had our own driver, which took us out in the morning and afternoons. He was great at explaining things and finding the animals.

At night, they put heating pillows in the beds, so that they would be warm when we went to bed.

We got more than we paid for and I would love to go back just for the people and the service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your time to share your feedback with us. It is great to see that you found our service to be amazing and you enjoyed both our food and accommodation facilities. Our wonderful staff strives to provide warm, welcoming, high standard service always, and is committed to making sure your stay is a lifetime of great memories.
Please feel free to join our online conversation and stay updated on what's happening in the great Maasai Mara by following us on Twitter @SarovaMara and share your experiences with the rest of the world. We look forward to hosting you once again on your return to the Mara.
Asante! (Thank you!)

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti,
Lodge Manager,
Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The place is more than worth visiting. We were 6 people, 3 of then first time visiting Kenya and absolutely enjoyed our stay :). The place is fabulous, food is excalent (all your special requirements are taken into consideration ), migration was on... but the best of all is the professional staff. Enjoyed alson the health centre services - absolutely relaxing. Greates thanks to Caroline ( quest relationship) and Carolline M ( restaurant). Wish to be back soon :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
It’s a pleasure reading your review of our Camp on TripAdvisor. I note that our staffs were able to provide you withal round excellent services. I have taken note of your personal commendations of Caroline Njaramba in the restaurant and Caroline Kamau the guest relationship officer who took care of you during your stay. We also wish for you to come back soon for us to once again provide you with our refreshing African hospitality.
Welcome once again to the Mara!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,097 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
204 reviews
30.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $336 - $756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing