We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
new mexico
Level Contributor
451 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights in January and enjoyed it very much. Our tent had a comfortable king size bed, netting, and was very roomy. Similar to the other resorts, all meals were served buffet style. There was a wide variety of food and it was extremely good. Both soup and salads were “live prepared”. This meant someone would create them the way you liked - a very nice touch. The young lady who prepared the soup was a delight. Except for one exceptionally rude waiter at night, the staff was friendly if not terribly outgoing.

Electricity was turned off mid afternoon and late at night which was common in the tented camps. The tents had a hair dryer and a burner to get rid of insects. For such a nice place it was strange to have thin and somewhat worn towels. The young man who serviced our room (Tent 7) was very friendly and attentive.

Nice pool area, gift shop, bar, and lounge area.

Please note that the last 500 meters on the road to the resort were some of the roughest on our trip. The ride alone will give you a massage.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend the Mara Sarova to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing our camp; it was indeed a pleasure serving you.
I have noted that you liked our buffet more so the live salad section which is an idea to ensure that all guests get salads prepared as per their preference. I have shared your compliments with Yvonne the lady that prepared the soup and the room attendant.
Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the sloppy service that you received from the waiter in the restaurant, this has already been addressed conclusively and corrective action taken. I would like to assure you that is definitely not our standard of service.
I am glad that you found our tents, pool, gift shop, bar and lounge area to be good and made your stay comfortable.
Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to offer you our refreshing African hospitality during your next Safari in the Maasai Mara.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    209
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
286
308
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very strategically located tented accomodation in middle of Masai Mara safari in kenya. if you are looking to catch a natural habitat of animals then this is a place to go. Although staff is nice and friendly but they donot reply promptly to e mails. It is recommended to book your accomodation well in advance with safari van.

Room Tip: Try to get room closer to reception / dining hall as tents are bit away and if it is raining you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surender s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read your review about our camp; It was a pleasure hosting you.
I would like to personally apologize for the slowness in replying to your mail communication. This is being looked into to improve our speed of response to our valued customer’s requests.
I look forward to hosting you once again at Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was not expecting to find such a nice place in the middle of the savannas, it definitively makes your safari experience even more spectacular.

The rooms are really cozy, the tent instead of the concrete walls enhances the experience, but it doesnt mean you will no have comfort, once the tent is very spacious, with a comfortable king size bed, and a very decent bathroom (this one in concrete walls). You can easily forget that you in a Natural Reserve and only the animal's noises in the middle of the night remember you where you are.

The hotel infrastructure in general e pretty decent, especially considering that you are not going to spend many hours in the hotel. Food is ok, dont expect 5 stars dishes, but you can find good quality food and some variety in the buffet.

The staff is a special chapter of this hotel (actually not only of the hotel, but Kenyans in general), they are very friendly, always with a smile and making your stay pleasant.

Very good hotel! Congratulations for the fantastic place you have there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive feedback on our lodge, Am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your safari here in the Mara. I have passed your compliments to the staff here and they are happy that they were able to make your stay special.
I trust you will give us another opportunity in future to be of service to you once again.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sarova Mara Game Camp is an extraordinary place, from which to launch your experience of the Masai Mara, which is an extraordinary experience. The food, the accommodation, the staff were all fantastic, and of course being in the park and the safaris were the greatest aspect of it all. Just an amazing experience. We traveled in June 2011.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Jambo! Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay with us. We are pleased to note that you found our services to be extraordinary. I have shared this with my staff and we endeavor to make our services better each and every time.
We look forward to serving you in your next trip to the Mara.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

By far the most amazing resort I've ever been to! ( and am not just saying this coz am from Kenya). Everything was perfect. The food, the tents the staff. We absolutely had no complains at all. The resort is a little pricy but u get what u paid for. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyangal46365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our property on TripAdvisor. It is indeed a pleasure to note that you found your experience to be amazing and we will be happy to host you on your return visit to the Mara.
Karibu na Asante once again!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the most amazing place I have ever stayed. As is emphasized in the other reviews, it isn't only the property and location that make the experience, the staff are top notch as well. The photos on the website don't do it justice. And as it says on the site, you ARE the personal guest of the Camp Manager - thanks James - you are the consummate host. They managed every detail of our stay so that we didn't have to do anything - just show up at the appointed time - very relaxing. Special thanks to MOSES our Guide Extraordinaire. He went out of his way to make sure we didn't miss seeing any animal. His impromptu quizzing ensured that I not only learned the difference between the many types of antelope.but we booked through a local company based in diani beach called KENYANADVENTURES AND BEYOND SAFARIS.The price was soo good and the emails were soo fast doc was soo guick to respond the emails.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adams d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive review above! My staff and I are very happy to note that your stay was amazing. I am particularly proud that you found our staff to be top notch as it this reinforces our commitment to provide refreshing African hospitality to all our guests. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff, the dining room, the pool and the bar were great. Can't say enough good things about the people at the resort. We stayed there four days, and looked forward to seeing the staff in the dining hall. My friend got ill while we were there and they took care of him all day, checking on his comfort. The park is wonderful; it is my second time visiting the Maasai Mara. I am not in love with the tents. The first night there was an extra bed in our tent, making it very crowded. The second night they removed the extra bed, but you still hit your head on the tent when you stand up. The lighting in the luggage area is poor, making it difficult to see. In the morning when others were checking out it was noisy, hearing the wheels of the luggage on the stone walks. But it was clean and neat, and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trilobite929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our camp. We always appreciate feedback from our honored guests! I hope and trust your friend is now better. In deed we have a full time doctor in house for any emergencies which may occur during a guest stay. I have noted the areas for improvement which you have pointed out i.e. the height of the tent, the lighting and the noise during early morning. We are already taking steps to ensure that we resolve these issues so that you can come to love our tents. I trust that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
12.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
31.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
28.9 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Property: Sarova Mara Game Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing