We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life-changing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sarova Mara Game Camp is an extraordinary place, from which to launch your experience of the Masai Mara, which is an extraordinary experience. The food, the accommodation, the staff were all fantastic, and of course being in the park and the safaris were the greatest aspect of it all. Just an amazing experience. We traveled in June 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Jambo! Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay with us. We are pleased to note that you found our services to be extraordinary. I have shared this with my staff and we endeavor to make our services better each and every time.
We look forward to serving you in your next trip to the Mara.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

By far the most amazing resort I've ever been to! ( and am not just saying this coz am from Kenya). Everything was perfect. The food, the tents the staff. We absolutely had no complains at all. The resort is a little pricy but u get what u paid for. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenyangal46365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our property on TripAdvisor. It is indeed a pleasure to note that you found your experience to be amazing and we will be happy to host you on your return visit to the Mara.
Karibu na Asante once again!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the most amazing place I have ever stayed. As is emphasized in the other reviews, it isn't only the property and location that make the experience, the staff are top notch as well. The photos on the website don't do it justice. And as it says on the site, you ARE the personal guest of the Camp Manager - thanks James - you are the consummate host. They managed every detail of our stay so that we didn't have to do anything - just show up at the appointed time - very relaxing. Special thanks to MOSES our Guide Extraordinaire. He went out of his way to make sure we didn't miss seeing any animal. His impromptu quizzing ensured that I not only learned the difference between the many types of antelope.but we booked through a local company based in diani beach called KENYANADVENTURES AND BEYOND SAFARIS.The price was soo good and the emails were soo fast doc was soo guick to respond the emails.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adams d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive review above! My staff and I are very happy to note that your stay was amazing. I am particularly proud that you found our staff to be top notch as it this reinforces our commitment to provide refreshing African hospitality to all our guests. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff, the dining room, the pool and the bar were great. Can't say enough good things about the people at the resort. We stayed there four days, and looked forward to seeing the staff in the dining hall. My friend got ill while we were there and they took care of him all day, checking on his comfort. The park is wonderful; it is my second time visiting the Maasai Mara. I am not in love with the tents. The first night there was an extra bed in our tent, making it very crowded. The second night they removed the extra bed, but you still hit your head on the tent when you stand up. The lighting in the luggage area is poor, making it difficult to see. In the morning when others were checking out it was noisy, hearing the wheels of the luggage on the stone walks. But it was clean and neat, and well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trilobite929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our camp. We always appreciate feedback from our honored guests! I hope and trust your friend is now better. In deed we have a full time doctor in house for any emergencies which may occur during a guest stay. I have noted the areas for improvement which you have pointed out i.e. the height of the tent, the lighting and the noise during early morning. We are already taking steps to ensure that we resolve these issues so that you can come to love our tents. I trust that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I highly recommend to stay in this beautiful resort, made in the form a large number of tent like guest rooms. The rooms are well maintained. Everynight the bed is turned down and a hot water bottle is put in the bed. The settings is great with an oasis looking atmosphere. Staff are well attentive to guest's needs and are doing their best to keep you happy. Food is great and during my three days stay, I never found any food in their very large buffet that I did not like. Drinks are a bit expensive, especially their non-alcoholic fruit drinks, but other than that I found everything great and highly recommend a stay ion this beautiful and very well maintained resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farzad_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure and honor hosting you at Sarova Mara Game Camp. Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and I am happy that your stay was most enjoyable. I have shared your commendation of the staff for their attentiveness as this is indeed embodied in our motto of Refreshing African Hospitality which we practice every single time we are in contact with the guests.
We trust that you will return to Kenya and to our camp for us to be of service to you again.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Wow firstly staff r great they have the ethos nothing isctoobmuch. Second food is amazing not a great variety Sabin sarivavwhite sands but the quality if what is there is great. Fresh grills soups and breads excellent. You are staying in a tent but with a permanent attached bathroom, this not give much privacy when going to toilet especially with a dodgy tummy but is quite romantic. The swimming pool water is cold and not heated but u get used to it, the best but was the open fires at night and having a whiskey in the open air by the fire at night. Very good hitel

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitvadher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Am absolutely thrilled by your feedback on our camp! It is wonderfuly to ntoe that the staff are what impressed you most about the camp. In our quest to ensure that all our guests have a memorable safari we take great care of their culniary needs. Our best of Kenya menus are specially made to ensure that you have a great meal experience.
i trust that you will come again on safari and will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara game Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family stayed here for two, wonderful nights. The camp is beautiful, well maintained, and very comfortable; but the service was exceptional. Everyone was friendly, glad to help and so good with our 8 and 10 year old kids. After a morning game drive, we returned to cool, towels, a delicious lunch, and a clean room. The staff played with our kids in the pool, took them fishing and supplied archery equipment. It was an absolutely wonderful stay and I highly recommend a stay at this beautiful place in an amazing location.

Room Tip: The tents are well placed for privacy so I think any tent would be fine. We had tents #31 and 32 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethCo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our camp on TripAdvisor. I am happy that you and your family found our service to be exceptional. I note that you enjoyed our various animation activities which your children participated in. We strive to ensure that our guests experiences are wholesome and they are engaged to make a memorable safari. On your return take time to engage with the Masai guides in the lodge who will take you on our nature walk trail where you will learn allot on the culture of the Masai and their harmonious existence with nature.
Karibu (welcome in Swahili!)
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,066 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
119 reviews
30.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
556 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $323 - $841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing