We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, "campy" tents”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff, "campy" tents”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff, the dining room, the pool and the bar were great. Can't say enough good things about the people at the resort. We stayed there four days, and looked forward to seeing the staff in the dining hall. My friend got ill while we were there and they took care of him all day, checking on his comfort. The park is wonderful; it is my second time visiting the Maasai Mara. I am not in love with the tents. The first night there was an extra bed in our tent, making it very crowded. The second night they removed the extra bed, but you still hit your head on the tent when you stand up. The lighting in the luggage area is poor, making it difficult to see. In the morning when others were checking out it was noisy, hearing the wheels of the luggage on the stone walks. But it was clean and neat, and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trilobite929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our camp. We always appreciate feedback from our honored guests! I hope and trust your friend is now better. In deed we have a full time doctor in house for any emergencies which may occur during a guest stay. I have noted the areas for improvement which you have pointed out i.e. the height of the tent, the lighting and the noise during early morning. We are already taking steps to ensure that we resolve these issues so that you can come to love our tents. I trust that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    220
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
304
328
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I highly recommend to stay in this beautiful resort, made in the form a large number of tent like guest rooms. The rooms are well maintained. Everynight the bed is turned down and a hot water bottle is put in the bed. The settings is great with an oasis looking atmosphere. Staff are well attentive to guest's needs and are doing their best to keep you happy. Food is great and during my three days stay, I never found any food in their very large buffet that I did not like. Drinks are a bit expensive, especially their non-alcoholic fruit drinks, but other than that I found everything great and highly recommend a stay ion this beautiful and very well maintained resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farzad_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure and honor hosting you at Sarova Mara Game Camp. Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and I am happy that your stay was most enjoyable. I have shared your commendation of the staff for their attentiveness as this is indeed embodied in our motto of Refreshing African Hospitality which we practice every single time we are in contact with the guests.
We trust that you will return to Kenya and to our camp for us to be of service to you again.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Wow firstly staff r great they have the ethos nothing isctoobmuch. Second food is amazing not a great variety Sabin sarivavwhite sands but the quality if what is there is great. Fresh grills soups and breads excellent. You are staying in a tent but with a permanent attached bathroom, this not give much privacy when going to toilet especially with a dodgy tummy but is quite romantic. The swimming pool water is cold and not heated but u get used to it, the best but was the open fires at night and having a whiskey in the open air by the fire at night. Very good hitel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitvadher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Am absolutely thrilled by your feedback on our camp! It is wonderfuly to ntoe that the staff are what impressed you most about the camp. In our quest to ensure that all our guests have a memorable safari we take great care of their culniary needs. Our best of Kenya menus are specially made to ensure that you have a great meal experience.
i trust that you will come again on safari and will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family stayed here for two, wonderful nights. The camp is beautiful, well maintained, and very comfortable; but the service was exceptional. Everyone was friendly, glad to help and so good with our 8 and 10 year old kids. After a morning game drive, we returned to cool, towels, a delicious lunch, and a clean room. The staff played with our kids in the pool, took them fishing and supplied archery equipment. It was an absolutely wonderful stay and I highly recommend a stay at this beautiful place in an amazing location.

Room Tip: The tents are well placed for privacy so I think any tent would be fine. We had tents #31 and 32 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethCo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our camp on TripAdvisor. I am happy that you and your family found our service to be exceptional. I note that you enjoyed our various animation activities which your children participated in. We strive to ensure that our guests experiences are wholesome and they are engaged to make a memorable safari. On your return take time to engage with the Masai guides in the lodge who will take you on our nature walk trail where you will learn allot on the culture of the Masai and their harmonious existence with nature.
Karibu (welcome in Swahili!)
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Well kept game lodge with excellent service from front desk staff especially Caroline and Alex and also the restaurant staff especially James who was full of enthusiasm for the place and the company he works for. This guy could be your PR manager.

Overall simply brilliant. Small complaint - I cannot fathom hotels that charge for WIFI. I say add it to the room rate and don't make it an extra charge.

They deserve the full five stars. Keep it up. Will certainly comeback and tell as many people I can to do the same. Asante Sana!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all I would like to thank you for taking time to review our camp on TripAdvisor. I have shared your very positive feedback with the team here specially Alex, Caroline and James who stood out in the service they gave you.
I have noted your feedback on the WiFi. This is necessitated by the remoteness of our location. However we hope that in the near future with advancements in technology we would be able to ensure the WiFi experience is seamless for our guests.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you in the near future to be of service to you.
kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved everything about it specially the bfast , lunch and dinner buffet varieties. So much variety every day... Loved the tented rooms concept. Travelled back in 2009 but writing review now....
Loved the authenticity of the Masai people at the village. And their spooky lifestyles. The best game reserve ever and we spotted the big 5. After doing this safari u will never feel the need to do any other safari.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjafary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Its a pleasure receiving your review on our TripAdvisor page especially after a long time without visiting us. Its specially gratifying that you do remember the details of your trip and what made it memorable. I note that you especially found our food to be very good. You will be pleased to know that we have upgraded our buffet since then to provide for hot and cold food separation, increase the interactiveness of the dining area and generally enhance your culinary experience in Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Do visit us when you are next on Safari to enjoy our best of Kenya cuisine!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Sarove Mara Game Camp. A tent is more comfortable and luxurious than most hotel rooms.

Location in the the park is great making an excellent base to explore the park and see animals.

As we travelled as a couple we found the resort to be bit loud, if you can upgrade to Club tent, they have a view to the park, much bigger and provide excellent privacy. We did and found it be a great idea.

Finally what this made this property the best one we stayed in Kenya is the service, check-in, management everybody want to help you. We decided to upgrade from a regular tent to club tent, this was arranged at reasonable price by the manager who personally walked with to ensure that we liked the view and the tent. The club tents are spectacular with his / her sinks, bathrobes, etc and truly a luxury retreat in the wilderness.

The only criticism we had is we wish the resort made it clear that electricity is off between 12 to 4:00 am as we were not prepared and did not know where the flash-light is the 1st night. The food varierty could also be improved but still the best we experienced in Kenya. Also the service that I received in the restaurant was without peer when the waiter was anticipating what I want based on earlier lunch/dinners

I highly recommend Sarova Mara Game Camp as a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
It’s a pleasure reading your review of our camp which you have graciously posted on our TripAdvisor page. I would like to thank you on my team and my own behalf for making our camp your choice of the place to stay during your visit to the Mara. Am happy that our services were to your satisfaction.
Kindly accept our heartfelt apologies for not being clear on our power down times. In the spirit of reducing our footprint on the environment we do try and reduce emissions into the atmosphere by powering down the generators between 4pm and 6pm and also at night between midnight and 4 am.
I trust that you will be visiting us once more when you do your next safari to Kenya and we look forward to offering you refreshing African hospitality.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
218 reviews
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
31.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
510 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Property: Sarova Mara Game Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing