We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much best you can get in Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Sarova Mara game camp is very nice and pretty much the best accommodation you can get if you are going to Kenya for safaris. The tents are very nicely done, location is ideal. The food was not fantastic but I guess it depends what you're comparing it with. For Kenya, this was the best place where we stayed. If you compare it with 5 star accommodation in Europe or the US, it's not quite at the same level. Hint: we had a couple of lizards on the wall in the bathroom - if you have issues with that, try to mentally prepare yourself for it :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Mara!
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are glad that you found our camp to be nicely done and ideal in terms of its location. We are well situated just inside the Maasai Mara Game reserve and next to the main gate to the 7th wonder of the world.
In our efforts to continually improve our services and products we have noted your comments on the food and the lizards in the room and are taking steps to ensure that we do better in your next visit.
Welcome once again to the Mara and to Sarova Mara Game Camp!

Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for three days in the end of September. It was the end of the great migration, so we didn't get to see anything being killed but we did see all of the big 5 (lion, cheetah, leopard, rhino, and Cape buffalo) as well as many other awesome animals. The accommodations were wonderful. The food was standard for an all-inclusive and the staff was very, very nice.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Themanwith1i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our lodge. I am delighted to note that you found our staff to be very nice and the accommodation wonderful. I trust that you will visit us again to give us another opportunity to provide you with Refreshing African Hospitality.

Warm regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My friends and I made a repeat stay at the Sarova Mara Camp from 18th to 21st October 2012. The repeat was motivated by a wonderful earlier stay at the camp five years ago. But we were disappointed! The following are the reasons:

I did the booking from the Stanley, Nairobi, (where the booking was handled very professionally and I looked forward to another great time) for 3 tents with 2 double beds each, but when we checked in at the camp, we were given tents with two little single beds (we were mature adults!). The reservations staff insisted that the camp only had this size of beds despite me reminding them that I had been to the camp before and been checked into a tent with two large beds. At the end of the day, it appeared like we were seeking to favours! We were eventually allocated one little bed and one large bed in each of the three tents - what a raw deal! The standard tents are now dilapitated. While appreciating that the camp tries to maintain the jungle theme, I think this place needs to be better maintained.

In most of the hotels I have visited (of equal ranking with Sarovas), the manager(s) will interact briefly with clients, just to establish some relationship with clients - where was the Sarova mara one? Thanks alot to the Executive Chef, he made us feel so at home, we forgot about the dilapitated tents and little beds.

Can the hotel invest more in electric power provision to avoid hours of darkness? We could not have showers after game rides as many times there was no hot water. Clients are paying for 5 star service!

The food was reasonably good and varied and that is the much I could say about it - the Executive Chef tried his best to cater for us, but it appears he works under a shoe-string budget from a 5-star hotel. The deserts are presented with "beauty", (rather than quality and pragmatism) in mind; so, so much effort is spent on serving little tiny miniature deserts in well "manicured cabinets". Advice- go back to your old style - it looked richer, more nutritious and appetising. Not that I really crave for deserts. There was very little variety in the menu - it appears the camp is more hard hit with inflation than others.

There was no entertainment. I appreciate that too much noise would scare away the animals we went to see, but some basic piped music could do. The Maasai dancers performed for hardly 10 minutes, without much seriousness on two of the nights. There is no animator - in short, the one who is known by that title has either not been empowered or has no idea what animation is. In short, guests stay bored most of the time.

Giving credit where it is due, a few of the waiters were very friendly, except for one tall brown man who ignored clients. Reuben and Kingsley and the head waitress (forgot her name) were really good.

Room Tip: If you can afford, go for a club tent - they are abit luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adelheid Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback; guest reviews are by far the most important reviews we receive.
Am absolutely saddened by your check in experience, while we currently do not have tents big enough to accommodate two double beds, a better solution could have been achieved. I have also noted your comments on the standard tents and we have already embarked on redoing them.
I would like to apologize profusely for not picking up the issues which made your stay less than satisfactory and I would like to assure you that my team and I are committed fully to ensure that all our guests have a wonderful and refreshing experience in the camp.

I hope that this stay will not deter you from visiting us again. I would very much like to meet you the next time you return and please feel free to contact me with details of your next visit on francis.msengeti@sarovahotels.com.

Once again, apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Francis Msengeti,
Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Sarova Mara Game Camp is an excellent game lodge.They have one of the best customer service I have seen in the hospitality industry.To get there is not a challenge either you are driving or flying.It is the first game camp you meet if you use the Mai Mahiu-Narok route.This is where my wife and I spent our honeymoon days and the experience was awesome.They have great food varieties that even the dullest feeder will find something to eat.Their tents are very well designed and are secure.The other thing is that the camp and the camp facilities are very clean.The staff are very well informed and very kind.There are many things to do depending on your mood;dinner on the bridge,breakfast in the bush,a drink by the bon-fire,cuddling by the fire-heated-bar,guided game drives,nature walks,swimming,interacting with the local maasais,hot air balloon rides ending with a romantic bush breakfast and so on.Once you visit you will want to go back again.You can go as a couple or as a family or friends and you will have loads of fun.I highly recommend.Please note that the hot air balloon ride is a bit pricey but its worth taking.You will certainly get value for your money.

Room Tip: Tents across the hanging wooden bridge are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
Karibu Tena!
It was a pleasure hosting you in Sarova Mara Game Camp during your honeymoon. I am pleased to note that you have rated highly our customer service. Our staff is our greatest asset and we all strive to ensure all clients have the best experience of the lodge possible. We take pride in providing Refreshing African Hospitality to our clients and hope that you will visit us again in the near future to give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Francis Msengeti,
Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived in this camp as 3adults and two children ,we were meet by Masai with some drinks and clean clothes which we needed after a long drive from Nairobi. We went to check in and a lady mentioned we had been upgraded but we never thought anything of it until we reached our tent and wao wao wao will never forget for we were upgraded to the one of the only family tents in the whole camp.

Beautiful is un understatement,the family tents are two tents with a living area in the middle and with sliding doors over looking a pond at the back,rooms are immaculately clean. The food was amazing,but most of all the waiters,waitresses were so kind and nice to the kids,they talked to them,told them story's so they can eat just abit more made sure there high chairs were in place even before we arrived. The Masai shows are very good,our driver was excellent,this is the 4time in this camp but first time with kids and my mind ins totally made up. All always go back to Mara Sarova.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to receive such glowing feedback from our guests! More so when it touches on our food, rooms and most of all the personalized service we strive to give to our clients. We pride ourselves to be totally committed to being a family hotel and it is a source of pride when our young guests enjoy themselves.
We look forward to hosting you on your fifth visit and indeed many more such visits!

Francis Msengeti,
Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel itself is so beautiful! Lodges are very private, beds are comfortable and badroom very clean. The pool is freezing cold! But they have a tiny space for mini golf which is great for kids because it can get boring for them at times...they organized a special dinner in a hidden part of the hotel with fire, masaai people dancing, grill and all kind of kenyan food. So special! I have to say i wasnt so impressed with the food, i am a picky eater, my husband was happy with it, but i thought the other hotels we stayed at before this one had better flavor. First 25 number rooms are closest to reception....also remember, they have family lodges, which are 2 rooms joined by a small living room...(good to kow if you have kids) ...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabs g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We really appreciate feedback from our guests on our property and happy to note that you found our lodge to be beautiful, clean and comfortable. I have also noted that you got the opportunity to experience the Boma dinner showcasing the Maasai culture and cuisine under the African skies. We will make more efforts to ensure that in your next visit our food meets your satisfaction.
Once again thank you and welcome back to Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Francis Msengeti,
Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday to find the buffet lunch being served under a gazebo on the lawn, so relaxing after a long drive from Lake Nakuru (the final 90 mins or so on a very bumpy unmade road...and this is not the road IN the park)
Check in was very smooth, the staff very friendly/helpful and the tented accommodation very comfortable. This was our second stay at this lodge and my only disappointment was no dik dik running across the ground in front of my tent when I arrived! Did they not know we'd come back to see them?! Still plenty of birds in the bushes/trees instead, very relaxing sitting outside reading and watching them in between chapters! There is a nice lake and a viewing gallery but no maribou there this time...although the gallery level was spoiled by the tea bags hanging in the bushes immediately in front (disgraceful behaviour from whoever threw them there!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff and our camp. It is indeed the team who work here who make the experience for our honored guests and I have shared your sentiments with them. I would like to assure you the families of dik-diks abound on the compound and in your next visit kindly ask for Ole Tira our resident naturalist who will take you round to show you where they are including more wonderful birds in the compound while learning about the Maasai culture. Our apologies for the tea bags on gallery level, it is our responsibility to ensure they do not affect the view!
Welcome once again to Maasai Mara and to Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,081 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
242 reviews
3.3 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
199 reviews
30.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
565 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $296 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing