We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location for your safari in Masai Mara Park”
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Loughrea, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great location for your safari in Masai Mara Park”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this excellent lodge and thoroughly enjoyed all of the facilities. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent and the packed lunch provided for our full day safari was very adequate. The bedroom was a little smaller than the Navaisha Sopa Resort room, also the walls were very thin between rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to reception, we had a 10 minute walk to our lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    327
    111
    24
    17
See reviews for
178
288
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Sorry to say, I hated this place and so did my two friends. We were three females and we were placed in the two rooms furthest from the main area. The area was creepy and the guards tended to sit far away: we felt scared and quite freaked out! The views are nice but it is a push to say you are inside the Mara - you have to drive for 15/20 minutes to get to the gate. The pool area was nice and we enjoyed the feeding of the bush baby and the animals at 10pm. That said, whether a hotel should throw out meat to encourage hyenas is another matter. My room was big but a bit grim - the bathroom was from the 60s and I couldn't even get the door to shut, luckily it was just me! There wasn't enough water for a hot shower. The food wasn't great and on my second night I couldn't find anything I wanted to eat. When we arrived they said there was tea and coffee free all day, but it was actually only during meal times. I ordered a pot of tea at 6.30pm and they refused to do it for free even though they put free tea out at 7pm when dinner starts. Not a huge deal I know, but I had just got back from an all day game drive so it just would have been nice! I wouldn't recommend this place, and certainly not for the prices they charge non-residents!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I honestly expected a little better out of a lodge at the Masai Mara. I stayed here as part of a 5 day safari organized by Silverbird Travel. I found the bed hard, and was kept awake by a dripping sound coming from the bathroom.

but I loved the environment - lots of comfortable couches and seats, indoors and outdoors. the bar man David is a friendly guy, and there's wifi in the evenings (which slows down when too many people use it). I spent a lot of time relaxing at the lodge when I wasn't out on a game drive.

the staff are friendly and very helpful, and there's always someone waiting to help you with your bags when you're going to check out, which is good because some of the lodges are a long walk from the main reception area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bleachedquasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Well we did not enjoy the food at all.. The Hotel was good, housekeeping was excellent and so was the check-in brief also the bar man was so friendly. But the food manager was not very help full he did not even go around to ask if everyone was okay like other hotels.. The rooms are too far away which we used to hate to go to as to come back to the bar or restaurant was an issue.
They need to improve on their food as for the three days we were there we got the same boring food. Customer service is very important

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanvi0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As opposed to another Sopa lodge I'd reviewed this one was run much better. An awful long walk to the rooms but there are nice chaps to help you with it all.
Nice rooms, nice general areas, great chefs, free wifi in a lovely bar area, great staff.
It's got everything you need to have a great base when discovering the Masai Mara.
Rough roads close to the location but what do you expect?
Very recommended

Room Tip: Try a balloon morning. We went on, not kidding, the Hot Air Balloon company. Can't praise it up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great place. Nice and quiet location. The staff is friendly and makes everything possible to make you feel at home. Rooms are big and clean, bathroom is big with all the neccesary. The only issue is noise from the next room, but if you have the same hours is not a problem.
Food is good (not great), with a good variety and spices.
Will come back for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranciscoArayaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everything about the lodge is nice, great and friendly staff. Nice and clean rooms. But no power during the day time. Free Wifi in the bar and lobby area with okay speed. The road from the park gate to the lodge is really bad. They need to work on this.

Room Tip: Select rooms near the reception if you have mobility problem or old because some of the rooms are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alambiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,028 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
7.4 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#70 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
227 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#84 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Property: Mara Sopa Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing