We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I honestly expected a little better out of a lodge at the Masai Mara. I stayed here as part of a 5 day safari organized by Silverbird Travel. I found the bed hard, and was kept awake by a dripping sound coming from the bathroom.

but I loved the environment - lots of comfortable couches and seats, indoors and outdoors. the bar man David is a friendly guy, and there's wifi in the evenings (which slows down when too many people use it). I spent a lot of time relaxing at the lodge when I wasn't out on a game drive.

the staff are friendly and very helpful, and there's always someone waiting to help you with your bags when you're going to check out, which is good because some of the lodges are a long walk from the main reception area.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank bleachedquasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
There are newer reviews for Mara Sopa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 754 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Well we did not enjoy the food at all.. The Hotel was good, housekeeping was excellent and so was the check-in brief also the bar man was so friendly. But the food manager was not very help full he did not even go around to ask if everyone was okay like other hotels.. The rooms are too far away which we used to hate to go to as to come back to the bar or restaurant was an issue.
They need to improve on their food as for the three days we were there we got the same boring food. Customer service is very important

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanvi0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As opposed to another Sopa lodge I'd reviewed this one was run much better. An awful long walk to the rooms but there are nice chaps to help you with it all.
Nice rooms, nice general areas, great chefs, free wifi in a lovely bar area, great staff.
It's got everything you need to have a great base when discovering the Masai Mara.
Rough roads close to the location but what do you expect?
Very recommended

Room Tip: Try a balloon morning. We went on, not kidding, the Hot Air Balloon company. Can't praise it up...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great place. Nice and quiet location. The staff is friendly and makes everything possible to make you feel at home. Rooms are big and clean, bathroom is big with all the neccesary. The only issue is noise from the next room, but if you have the same hours is not a problem.
Food is good (not great), with a good variety and spices.
Will come back for my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranciscoArayaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everything about the lodge is nice, great and friendly staff. Nice and clean rooms. But no power during the day time. Free Wifi in the bar and lobby area with okay speed. The road from the park gate to the lodge is really bad. They need to work on this.

Room Tip: Select rooms near the reception if you have mobility problem or old because some of the rooms are re...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alambiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The lodge is located in what I consider to be quite a remote area. We seemed to have to drive about 30 minutes before reaching the plains where game viewing became better.

We were assigned room 22 with two queen beds and a single, as we were triple occupancy. It shares a rondavel with room 21.

The room and bathroom was very spacious but was not well light. Hair dryers are available but you must ask at the front desk and it will be provided with deposit. Get it early in the afternoon as they don't have enough for each room. Amenities included 3 complimentary bottles of water (nightly), a safe and bath toiletries. There was limited counter space in the bathroom and limited tabletop surface for our stuff. So we used our third single bed as general "desk" area.

There is free WiFi but is available only in the reception and main bar area.

There are different activities each night--Masai dancing, night feeding of animals (mainly house cats come, we saw mongoose and that's about as exotic as it got).

During meals, we were seated with our bus mates. I think that's how they seat everyone so every single meal, you knew where you sat and with who and who will serve you. Meals are all buffet style.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Reasonably priced, excellent service & very comfortable place in Masai Mara. Rooms & service was good, food was simply outstanding. We had few vegetarian members & they loved the food. Bar was a bit costly, so take your own alcohol & ask for ice. Tea/coffee service was a bit patchy

Room Tip: Stay near the dining hall
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harshwardhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.6 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,050 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
235 reviews
7.4 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#87 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
135 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#73 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $186 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing