We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay - pity no wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mara Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good stay - pity no wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Buffet food was great - pity no wifi - unlike the other more expensive lodges. The rooms were a bit far from the main hall but the staff were very friendly and helpful and at night would walk you to your rooms (they're all stationed along the walks in case people get scared). the rooms were massive - the bathrooms were clean and large as well. laundry service was quick and cheap. safari was great -saw four of the big five (except the rhino). the masai village is also within walking distance which was nice. u must try the hot air balloon ride at dawn - they pick u up from the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yerdeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    283
    100
    21
    13
See reviews for
150
254
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Mara sopa lodge is excellent to get in the mood for the safari. It's well kept, clean. and in the night you hear a lot of animals.
The rooms are really nice and big.
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was excellent lovely food and buffet style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went there as a group of friends, We enjoyed the stay although honestly,we've seen better service elsewhere(especially in the dining area). The rooms are really nice and big,but the service at the dining table could be much better.

The waiters seem unmotivated and not willing to assist in the dining area,but the chefs were really nice,and even took time to chat with us as we picked our food during dinner and breakfast. The Manager is also a really nice man & very welcoming, but it would help if the same cheer was spread to all members of staff

The feeding of bush babies and maasai dances in the evening is a plus,really loved it!

It would help if someone briefed guests upon arrival,as nobody bothered to tell us small details like the issue of hot water not being there all the time,as well as timings when the electricity goes off etc.. There's a lot of assumptions which is a minus on the reception/management bit

The food was nice and well done but if you're the last people to eat,then you miss out on most of it and sometimes it's served cold. Assuming the lodge always knows beforehand the number of people to expect,they should be a little bit more organized to ensure everyone gets enough food

Overall, if one isn't particular on minor details,it's a nice lodge to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shiruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Mara sopa lodge is excellent to get in the mood for the safari. It's well kept, clean. and in the night you hear a lot of animals. We were fortunate enough to see an elephant walk close by our lodge

Room Tip: try getting a lodge at the outside row
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We did a mid year vacation as couples. It was a lovely tour, we had an awesome tour guide. The welcome at the hotel was very nice, and staff were pleasant throughout out stay and helpful. The cottages with the balcony were absolutely marvelous.

Food was great, and the evening feeding of the animals was epic.

Our only qualm was lack of attending staff in the pool area...and the pricing of the drinks is a bit steep. Additionally, sometimes in the lower area, the bar was not well stocked and "obvious" drinks would be missing.

Overall, a great place to stay in the Mara

Room Tip: Room 43 awesome views and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice property ! The stay at Lodge was very relaxing and serene. Cottages give the true experience of enjoying the nature by not having phone connections in room , electricity and hot water only available for specific time. Hospitable staff and great service. Safari trips were organised very well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDVS2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My travel partner and I stayed 2 nights, April 20 & 21, 2013. We were very pleased with our reception and our room. When we booked we were not aware that electricity and hot water had specific times of availability, but this did not prove to be problematic. Between time on Safari,in the pool, eating or just enjoying the huge fireplace in the bar area we actually never noticed it. We had one issue with our room and it was addressed immediately to our satisfaction. Someone near our room snored so loudly it woke me up. I spoke guest relations and they were going to move us but the offended checked out and it wasn't necesary, BUT we went back to our room and heard a loud family with younger children - we went back and asked to be moved. They moved us immediately to a very quiet comfortable room. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: pool was very nice - changing room at the pool with towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
10.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
7.2 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
26.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#34 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
34.9 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Property: Mara Sopa Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing