We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Come and see everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mara Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Come and see everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Mara Sopa lodge for two nights at the beginning of a five-night safari trip to Kenya. The safari part was incredible. Maybe it was just the time we were there, but we saw 3 of the "Big Five" in our first 12 hours in the Maasai Mara!
The Lodge was a very comfortable and well-appointed place to stay. Not far from the gate, but set into a hillside with a broad view to the opposite side of the valley. The rooms are based on a typical circular Maasai design used to house cattle (I understand most true Maasai houses are rectangular!). There are two twin/double bedded rooms to each circular chalet. The bed was equipped with a good mosquito net and the room also boasted a small valuables safe, a dresser and an umbrella for protection from the rain! The toilet and shower room was spacious and included possibly the largest shower space I've ever seen, built into a chord of the circular space. the only downside to the room was the very thin walls (or possibly very loud neighbours) which caused me to reach for my noise-isolating earphones one night.
Be aware that because of the poor road leading up to the Mara, and cost, the electricity is limited and is off most of the day. If you're trying to charge batteries, you need to plan it. the difficulty of moving supplies up the road probably also accounts for the relatively ordinary food. I don't think you could guarantee an uninterrupted supply of fresh meat and vegetables to a location this remote. So on the whole I think Mara Sopa Lodge did a pretty good job. Portion sizes are also modest (same reason) but as all meals are buffet you can fill up as you need, just try not to waste too much.
Finally, being on the edge of the Mara the lodge is surrounded by wildlife. We didn't suffer any interference from the baboons we were warned about, but we did see dik dik, Mwanza Flat Headed Agama lizard and dozens of colourful Kenyan birds.
No hesitation recommending this lodge.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any bad rooms here, but if you don't like walking too far you might co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cameronag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    295
    103
    22
    13
See reviews for
153
265
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
436 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Mara Sopa Lodge. The rooms were spacious and clean, with a safety deposit box, a small sitting area and a functional bathroom with shower!

The hotel offered good meals, all buffet style, with many choices for everyone. One of the days, they offered tasty mini hamburgers and fries, freshly prepared, in addition to many other choices. They also had lots of salads, meat, chicken, veggies, vegetables, curries, etc. Another day they had someone cutting fresh pineaples. Several desserts were always on offer. Service for beverages was good.
During the day and early evening, they always had complimentary tea & coffee available for guests. The swimming pool was very nice but we didn't have enough time & energy to use it during our stay.
The only negative, in our opinion was that you could hear the people next door very clearly!!!
You also had to ask for a blow dryer at reception, as there were none available at the rooms.
Bring your own bottle of water from the roo , as we found the water to be expensive at meal times, if not drink beer or wine!

Overall, we had a very nice stay at the Mara Sopa Lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. Ours was close to the pool and lobby areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The rooms are well lit, very clean, spacious and I love the African decor! The service was excellent with very friendly staff! The food was however too standard and the dinning room was too full to enjoy some fresh air.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Africa-magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We received an extremely warm, African welcome here, however, we stayed for 4 nights and were, overall, a little disappointed. We felt that the true Kenyan hospitality was not apparent here (not a reflection on the staff who were at all times friendly, helpful and courteous) - the feel was that the hotel was focused on maximising profit rather than giving guests value for money.

The individual buildings look lovely; we liked their rustic charm. The bathroom was nice (spacious and nicely designed) - apart from the lack of hot water (only on one evening did we get enough for a quick hot shower each!). The bedrooms are also spacious and rustic. Rooms were cleaned daily, though sheets and towels could be changed more often (where necessary only, I'm not suggesting this should be done every day)

The worst thing for me was that the walls of the rooms were so thin (this is why I have rated the rooms as 'poor') and so there was a feeling of having no privacy. We could hear every word spoken by the people in the next room, we could hear them in the bathroom, and one night our neighbours were two very loudly spoken gentlemen, one of whom also snored so loudly that it kept us awake. As our neighbours changed almost daily (it seems most people just pass through for one or two nights) we were woken around 3.30a.m. on two separate occasions by different neighbours getting up and preparing for their sunrise balloon rides.

The lunch and dinner buffets were average, with very little for non meat eaters (some attempt was made at curries / dhal / etc but these were very bland). On 2 of the 4 nights the veggie main course option was stir-fried vegetables of which I was offered just a teaspoonful, then, it seemed grudgingly, another teaspoonful, until I explained that this was my whole main course and I served myself a decent portion. Even for meat eaters there wasn't a lot of variety, though the meat was apparently very good quality, and portions served were extremely small so people had to go back two or three times for extra portions. There were a few salad items as starters though, and the breakfasts were very good every day - omelettes and eggs cooked to perfection, with plenty of vegetables, sausage, bacon, cereals, yoghurt, freshly cooked pancakes,home-made bread etc. too. Good quality fresh fruit was available every mealtime. Also the barbeque they put on one night was good and that one night they even served fish.The tables were packed into the dining hall so tightly that it was often difficult to manoeuvre a route to and from our table from the buffet service. Also, the coffee was very average - not what I'd expect in a Luxury Lodge in Kenya! - but there was a nice terrace outside the restaurant to relax with your coffee or tea and enjoy the good views. Wines, beers and spirits were expensive (though that was expected!)

Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful - most of them had lovely, cheery smiles. The pool looked very nice too, very clean and enticing.

Room Tip: If any of the rooms don't have thin walls then opt for those (but I think they are all the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKbadiabranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This place was congested, especially the dining area, as it was full. Recommend facility to make coffee/ tea in room. Hot water was in limited quantity. Food was good. Staff was very courteous. Some rooms could be a long walk from the dining area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShankarMCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My Husband and I were on Safari in Kenya and Tanzania in Sept. 2012 and stayed at several of the Sopa Lodges.

The Mara Sopa Lodge, Amboseli Sopa Lodge, Ngorongora Sopa Lodge, Serengeti Sopa Lodge and the Tarangire Sopa Lodge.

Mara Sopa Lodge – loved the African feel to lodge. Roomy bedroom and spacious washroom. Clean stone walkways to your individual "huts" - usually two rooms per hut - very cute with thatched roofs. Nice swimming pool area; grounds nice and natural; large public/leisure areas for sitting and enjoying a drink or coffee. This was a large lodge.

We enjoyed our stay!


Here is some General Info based on our experience staying at all of the Sopa Lodges above and it applies to them all:


The Sopa Lodges actually surprised me - I was not expecting much having read various reviews online and expected they would be basic. They all had something different that was appealing about them.

While the Sopa Lodges were not Deluxe or Luxury by North American Standards, we were very comfortable, food was fine and the lodges were clean. They were nicer than I had anticipated and we had no problem with them at all.

I personally found that staff was attentive and eager to please.




• They were what I would call rustic/basic in that furniture did look locally made rather than from a mass producing factory. They had African themes to them. Both of these things were appealing to me as we felt we had "stepped into our environment rather than step out".
• On arrival to each lodge we were met by the Staff with a refreshing hot cloth and a cool drink of juice. We were told where things were, times for dining and times for hot water and electricity.
• Water was provided for brushing of teeth (two bottles nightly). Each bathroom had little soaps and shampoos which we used because we did not bring our own. Some had hairdryers in the rooms and some you asked for a hairdryer at the front desk.
• All except for Ngorongoro Cater had netting around the beds at night the hotel staff came in every evening while you were at dinner and turned down the beds and put the netting around the beds.
• Each Lodge conserves energy and hot water and electricity are not available 24/7. They tell you when you check in what the available hours are and usually it's posted in the Lobby and also on a card they give you on check in. We found the hours of operation convenient and it's different for each lodge. We found that we were gone most of the days all day - you just need to plan your "shower" time and plan your "battery boosting" time as well. We respect that this is East Africa and they don’t have same luxuries as we in North America.
• Laundry Service is available at all Sopa's and it's quick and not expensive - we used this three times!
• The rooms do not have TV's or phones in them. We would have not have used either.
• There was usually always Staff to walk you to your room in the evening, particularly if the Lodge had dark walkways or if your room was further from the main areas. We always took advantage of this and a small tip was appreciated.
• A Tip - bring a small flashlight with you - we always used ours at night and in the mornings because we started very early each day. Also, there were always Staff available on checking out to carry your luggage to Main Area - we always utilized this because sometimes you had steps to walk or your room maybe a little further.
• All Dining Rooms were large. There was always Buffet for Breakfast and either a Buffet for dinner or A la Carte. Tables were always nicely dressed and they kept you at the same table you first sat at for the first meal.
• In general, all Staff was helpful either in the Dining Room or the Porters or the Guys walking you to your room each night and we had lots of 1.00 bills with us for the most appreciated tips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatchtheTradeWinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The lodge is charming being made up of individual little buildings with grass roofs. We found it terrific. The bathroom was beautiful. One must remember that electricity is a precious commodity in the middle of the Mara and so it is used carefully. Leave North American expectations behind and you'll be happier. Electricity goes off for some periods and things like hot water while we had no problem can be in short supply some of the time.
We found the staff lovely and the food wonderful. I still miss the desserts. The Lodge had small events like Masai dancing and was very festive. Masai women were able to sell their wares at the bottom of the garden and we appreciated that very much.
The staff was very friendly and always helpful. Would go back if I were lucky enough to be in Kenya again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourlabradoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
10.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.2 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#80 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Property: Mara Sopa Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing