We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good hotel right near the masi mara gate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mara Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good hotel right near the masi mara gate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

me and my friend stayed here for two nights during our 8night safari. loved the look of this hotel, was given a welcom drink and towel on arrival which was needed after the long drive from nairobi.
The rooms are in a round hut, we had a twin room which had two double beds with mosquito net all the way round. The room was clean and comfortable. towels, shower gel, shampoo and soap all provided which i wish i knew before i packed a load. Our room was quite way from the main building block which was fine for us but anyone that does not want to walk far i would suggest stating this when you book.
There is no shortage of food here and lots to offer which was lovely. we were given a table for our duration of stay.
he staff were great and couldnt do more for you. The pool was clean though we did not have a chance to have a dip and the views out to the masi mara from the pool are amazing.
Watch out for the hotel feeding the bush babies in the reception room before the food hall, these are so cute and worth while having a watch. Also the feeding of the hyeenas is brilliant at the look out bar. they wait in the bushes for the men to come with the food this was great to see. Plenty of different birds and creatures about too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    294
    103
    22
    13
See reviews for
153
265
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of Virgin 'Taste of Kenya' Holiday
Basic accommodation in huts with paper thin walls. Furnished adequately, beds awful, no TV or hairdryer. Bathroom was okay but floor floods when you have a shower.
Lodge was very similar to other Sopa lodges and food was buffet style and average. Nice shop at the lodge and no pressure to buy anything.
Pool was clean but very very cold.
Service excellent as usual.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffinsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

my wife and i stayed for 2 nights. good place, good food (bhaturas and puris surely need a better shape and size!), we being pure veg were acceptable, huge dining and bar space, good shop, policy to seat on the same table was not found to be exciting, take the inbetween rooms else it is a long walk (we were alloted #2 which was far away and then on request got somewhere in middle, good valley facing pool, though small; bush baby feeding was an exciting experience, good bar ambience. complimentary eats are provided with drinks, popcorns can be better!

Room Tip: #30 to 40 are the closest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jatinlodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our room was clean & comfortable. We had no hot water first night but as soon as we complained someone was sent to repair it immediately. The staff could not have been friendlier, always willing to help. Food was a good standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is built on the side of a hill inside of the Masai Mara Game Reserve. Location is the best feature of this hotel. The rooms are two to a small round building. Because of how the building is divided one can hear everything from the other half of the building. The rooms and the baths are both good sized. The walk to the rooms can be long from some rooms and there are lots of steps (but no lift) at the hotel. The rooms have no phone and power and hot water are both available only part of the day. The dining room is very large and the food was good. The gift shop was rather poor for the size of the hotel. There is a small pool with a great view of the valley below plus a small pool bar. A good location to tour the Masai Mara from.

Room Tip: Get a room near the main building to avoid long walks to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thevinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were in Masai Mara for the first time and Mara sopa was a fantastic place to be. Nice ambience, good place to stay for family and friends. Advantage: you get to see lot of animals before getting into the core areas.

Food, good Indian food. We were vegetarians and had no complaints

Good place to stay. Surely, will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpradyumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

This lodge was the third of our three lodges of our safari. On the upside it is inside the park which was great however this was about the only good thing I can say about the lodge.

The rooms are fine but ANY noise from neighbours felt as though they were in our room and they felt the same. My husband had a botttle os Canadian Club which he had bought at duty free and on our second evening when we sat to have a drink he found out that the amount of drink had gone down significantly and then when he tasted it, it had also been watered down. I paid for some drinks at the bar and was not given my change (barman was faffing about and it was not until later that I realized). The pool looked inviting but was full of dead flies, which surprised me as I had watched the staff spend quite some time cleaning around the pool.

Meal times were a nightmare. This lodge was really busy and people were pushing and shoving to get to the food, which was pretty poor anyway. The reception never had any 100 ksh, or so they said. The staff didn't make any effort to be pleasant (unlike the Amboseli lodge) and we didn't feel anyone warranted tipping. A sad end to a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marleycat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
10.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.2 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
34.9 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#77 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Property: Mara Sopa Lodge
Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing