We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
354
35
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
35
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews base camp eagle view masai mara the river domestic airport game drives local women great safari amazing experience national park walking safari local community animals grazing outdoor shower animal noises main camp three nights
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 398 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

We had 3 tents at Basecamp, Eagleview & Wilderness. Basecamp staff was wonderful. From the moment we stepped off the plane and began our journey with Lona to our 6 wonder days of game drives with John, the trip was perfect. We enjoyed 2 game drives a day.

Basecamp is beautiful set along a small stream, where you constantly saw animals grazing. The food was outstanding and the waitstaff great. Showers are a great end to a day of traveling with hot water plentiful.

As special treat on cool nights is the hot water bottle placed in your bed. Amazing how it keeps you warm.

Eagleview is a quiet gem, nestled on a hillside overlooking a watering hole. Tents are spaciously placed apart. Again, hot water is plentiful. Food was delicious as you enjoyed the view. The night time sounds of animals sung us to eagleview is in the Conservation and thus more enjoyable with less vehicles and lots of various animals.

Wilderness is a rustic camp which puts you in the heart of Africa. This is a little rougher with more tent camping than glamping like the other two. Hot water for showering is uopn request, but comes easily and actually lasts longer than one would think. Animals are closer and we enjoyed zebras 10 ft from our tent grazing. Food was delicious as expected.

Our driver, John, was outstanding. His knowledge and humor was enjoyable. He made each day special and never disappointed us with our animal viewing.

I highly recommend Basecamp explorer. They are community oriented and use locals to staff.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2018. We had two tents across the small bridge. The tents were spacious, beautifully designed and well equipped with all basic amenities that a modern traveler would expect - all round electricity, hot water, clean and comfortable beds, clean linen, toiletries, laundry service etc. Handing out hot water bags in the evening was a thoughtful gesture. Our tents had massive sit-outs overlooking the river. There were small issues with leakage in wash basin and not enough water pressure in the shower, which were resolved promptly by the staff.

What probably sets them apart is their excellent, warm and friendly staff. Right from our Masai escort to the server in the restaurant to the chef, we felt pampered and welcomed. A special shout out to Benson, the chef, whose culinary skills at vegetarian food amazed us.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anu_p5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

We spent 3 nights in a tent in this basecamp close to the village Talek. It was amazing. We were very well taken care of. We were a couple of grandparent travelling with a 9 year old boy. The tents were not luxerious. Although they have water closet and outdoor showers with warm and cold water, they are kept in a simple style. The restaurant serves very good food and the staff are fantastic. Eating outside in the night we really appreciated the hot water bottles that we found in our beds. The best experience ever.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 85GretheS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

I would recommend Basecamp to anyone considering a visit to Masai Mara. They are a fantastic team - everyone I came across was very friendly, helpful and professional. Ibrahim was fantastic in helping me plan my visit - incredibly helpful and super quick to respond to any of my questions - and Tyson looked after me extremely well whilst I was in Nairobi. Once in Masai Mara, I was looked after by a whole host of fantastic guides and staff. I spent the first couple of days with Steve who is a very knowledgeable guide whilst also having a talent for picking the best spots for breakfast and lunch whilst out on a drive. James and his team and the Wilderness Camp were also great!

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We have just returned from a week with Basecamp Explorer where we booked the Migration Safari staying at Basecamp HQ, Wilderness and the Eagle View Camps. We will not forget this week for a very long time- not just for the animal safari but for the incredible way we were looked after by this class act company. One reason why our trip was so great was our Guide Steve Nkumum. He has an amazing knowledge of animal behaviour, knows exactly where and how to experience the best of the game drives, he was very good company and had fun with our children ( ages 17,14 and 12 yrs) and nothing was too much trouble for him,He organised an amazing side trip to a Masai Village and a surprise Bush Supper under the stars on our last night. He was complemented by the amazing team of staff at all the camps- especially Simon and everyone at Wilderness camp (our favourite) . Everyone was so enthusiastic and friendly and made our stay incredibly special. All 3 camps had their real highlights.We really enjoyed he chance to see the huge herds and numbers of animals at the Reserve . The Naboisho Conservancy offered encounters away from the hoards of other jeeps. The view from our room at Eagle View was truly amazing and the singing around the camp fire at Wilderness, under those incredible African stars, will not be forgotten for a long time . The strong eco ethos of Basecamp Explorer, delicious food, beautiful tents are also other aspects we could so highly praise. We also used Basecamp Explorer to organise and book hotels at Diani Beach and Lamu before and after our safari- both were fabulous! Thank you - we do hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous but Wilderness camp- very special.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carolinehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews